You are not logged in.

#1 2011-03-02 23:30:42

todingman

Netbooks are warmer in Arch. Fan spinning nonstop at FULL speed

Hi all,

I'm very new to Arch and so far I love it!  After practicing with VMware for a few days, I jumped and installed it on both my netbooks about 3 days ago.  Having said that, it makes me a total noob and I ask your guidance/patience on this problem that I'm having.

I've finshed installing Arch on both my netbooks including applications.  It went smooth and almost everything is working.  However, I noticed that the netbook warmer than usual which I never felt when it had Ubuntu/Win on it.  I also noticed that the fan is spinning constantly at FULL speed.  I have successfully installed CPU scaling and confirmed that it is working.  I've set it to "ondemand" (800Mz, 1.2Ghz, 1.6Ghz).

So I went to the wiki and checked the Fan Control.  I installed lm_sensors and ran sensors-detect.  Then I ran, sensors:

Dell Mini 10 (ATOM N455)

acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:       +58.0°C  (crit = +103.0°C)                 

coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 0:      +55.0°C  (crit = +100.0°C)

Lenovo S10e (ATOM N270)

acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:       +47.0°C  (crit = +86.0°C)                 

coretemp-isa-000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 0:      +43.0°C  (crit = +90.0°C)

Part of the instructions is to add "it87" in rc.conf (modules).

However, when I modprobe it87, it gives me this:

FATAL: Error inserting it87 (/lib/modules/2.6.37-ARCH/kernel/drivers/hwmon/it87.ko.gz): No such device

This happens in both netbooks.

What is "it87"?  Is it some kind of a chipset?  Could be me having ATOM netbooks be the reason for this error?

I can't continue on the Fan Control configuration wiki because sensors does not give me any voltage, rpm, etc outputs.