You are not logged in.

#1 2011-03-08 18:47:18

jcw122

GDM won't start, Gnome has no menubars

Hi,

I'm a fresh beginner to Linux and Archlinux. I'm setting up my laptop to dual boot Arch and Windows 7. I've almost finished the Beginner's Guide/Gnome Wiki but I'm hung up badly on getting Gnome and GDM to work.

I got as far as having Gnome startup on boot, by using the inittab approach. But when I boot up, no login screens are displayed, it just goes directly to Gnome. I can see the leaf background and a few icons but that's all. How do I get GDM to start up on boot, and why can't I see anything else on my desktop?

I also don't understand how to configure GDM, apparently it used to be very easy and now it's very difficult? I tried the commands listed in the Gnome Wiki but they didn't seem to do anything that made sense.

Please let me know what future information you need, as I wasn't sure what to provide. Thanks.

-Jon

P.S. I'm going to slap whoever made the question at the end of the registration...it's a PITA booting to and from Windows and Linux.

Last edited by jcw122 (2011-03-08 18:50:32)

#2 2011-03-08 19:07:01

dan542

Re: GDM won't start, Gnome has no menubars

Try going to console (Ctrl+Alt+F1), login as root and do /etc/rc.d/gdm restart, if this doesn't help try running /etc/rc.d/gdm stop and then /etc/rc.d/gdm start. If it's gonna work, you should add gdm in your MODULES array in /etc/rc.conf.

Last edited by dan542 (2011-03-08 19:08:01)

Sorry for my english.

#3 2011-03-08 19:17:17

jcw122

OK, I tried that, and it goes:
"Warning-Failed to aquire org.gnome.displaymanager"
"Warning-Could not aquire name; bailing out"

Just sends me back to the desktop with no changes.

#4 2011-03-08 19:36:31

mandog

gdm goes in Daemons in etc/rc.conf. also there is nothing to set up in gdm it runs in default no need to touch any thing on less you get error message on bootup.