You are not logged in.

#1 2005-04-07 20:39:12

rjs
Member
Registered: 2004-04-20
Posts: 23

Arch i586 - Can't run abs

Using the iso from Disc-Devil and maci, and cannot get abs to work,

get the following error:

Name lookup failure for "cvs.archlinux.org": Host name lookup failed

I have tried on the i586 box, and it failed, but at the same time tried it on my i686 arch-current and it worked???

Any Ideas?

Could this be caused by using glibc without linux threads???

Offline

#2 2005-04-07 21:33:20

maci
Member
From: 中国,福建市,福州身
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 43
Website

Re: Arch i586 - Can't run abs

yeah this would  be a possibility .. i have this problem too .. i guess it was since i ecompiled glibc without linuxthreads

but these steps works

http://www.archlinux.org/cvs.php

Offline

#3 2005-04-07 22:41:54

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Arch i586 - Can't run abs

Disk-devil downgraded to the older version of glibc, and it worked again. I am trying to make up a pkgbuild for cvsup  from source (damn is it ugly..why do I get all these wonky packages..lol).
I will report back on my progress


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#4 2005-04-08 00:17:44

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Arch i586 - Can't run abs

*cough*
HERE is my ugly pkgbuild.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#5 2005-04-08 00:46:25

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: Arch i586 - Can't run abs

That *is* pretty ugly. wink


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#6 2005-04-08 01:14:59

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Arch i586 - Can't run abs

No kidding..with info like this from the devs
http://www.cvsup.org/faq.html#notc

and then from the steps to install Ezm3

It is not possible to separate the build from the installation, and the installed files will not work if you move them to a different location. That is why you have to do this as root.

and some curious requirement to have a make program executable actually named "gmake".

But..at least the pkgbuild works.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#7 2005-04-08 02:00:09

rjs
Member
Registered: 2004-04-20
Posts: 23

Re: Arch i586 - Can't run abs

cactus, just successfully build cvsup and now it works wih glibc-2.3.4 without linuxthreads.

Thanks for the great work, now the i586 port will be easier to build.

Offline

#8 2005-04-08 02:22:27

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Arch i586 - Can't run abs

cactus wrote:

and some curious requirement to have a make program executable actually named "gmake".

gmake refers to the GNU make program.  On Linux, it is usually called make.  However, Unix systems (like SGI) have their own version of make. If the GNU make is installed, it is called gmake to differentiate.  Probably, cvsup needs a functionnality only available with GNU make.

Offline

#9 2005-04-08 02:22:37

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Arch i586 - Can't run abs

hooray!
big_smile


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#10 2005-05-11 00:31:26

bosewicht
Member
From: Honolulu, HI
Registered: 2004-05-29
Posts: 67

Re: Arch i586 - Can't run abs

That cactus thinks he's so damn smart...lol...


<b>There are 10 kinds of people in the world - those who understand binary
and those who don't.</b>

<b>I'm Steve and I'm a Super Villian</b>
http://www.rofl.name/flash/switchlinux4

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB