You are not logged in.

#1 2011-03-20 17:17:37

ise
Developer
From: Karlsruhe / Germany
Registered: 2005-10-06
Posts: 402
Website

wicd split in 'wicd' and 'wicd-gtk'

Like requested as a feature request (FS#22550) and as a solution to one bug (FS#22423), I have split the wicd package into two seperated packages. From now on there is

wicd:         All stuff you need to run the wicd daemon and the wicd-cli and wicd-curses interfaces
wicd-gtk:   All  stuff you need to run the GTK interface of wicd and the autostart file for the client to appear in the systray.

So if you want the GTK interface back you have to install wicd-gtk manually after you have updated the wicd package.

- Daniel

Last edited by ise (2011-03-20 18:43:55)

Offline

#2 2011-03-20 18:11:44

SS4
Member
From: !Rochford, Essex
Registered: 2010-12-05
Posts: 699

Re: wicd split in 'wicd' and 'wicd-gtk'

Does that mean the new wicd is essentially wicd-nogtk from the AUR?


Rauchen verboten

Offline

#3 2011-03-20 18:12:58

ise
Developer
From: Karlsruhe / Germany
Registered: 2005-10-06
Posts: 402
Website

Re: wicd split in 'wicd' and 'wicd-gtk'

SS4 wrote:

Does that mean the new wicd is essentially wicd-nogtk from the AUR?

Yes.

Offline

#4 2011-03-20 19:17:50

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 19,077
Website

Re: wicd split in 'wicd' and 'wicd-gtk'

Wicked! Thanks ise.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#5 2011-03-20 19:20:14

SS4
Member
From: !Rochford, Essex
Registered: 2010-12-05
Posts: 699

Re: wicd split in 'wicd' and 'wicd-gtk'

jasonwryan wrote:

Wicked! Thanks ise.

Seconded.

Now I can use wicd-kde with wicd rather than wicd-nogtk which is better since I prefer to use official packages rather than AUR


Rauchen verboten

Offline

#6 2011-03-20 20:34:19

agapito
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2008-11-13
Posts: 495

Re: wicd split in 'wicd' and 'wicd-gtk'

Nice.


Excuse my poor English.

Offline

#7 2011-03-21 03:14:27

AurosGamma
Member
From: San Cristobal,Venezuela
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 132

Re: wicd split in 'wicd' and 'wicd-gtk'

I edited the wicd wiki to show this changes, you can take a look at it and modify anything that you can consider wrong
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wicd

Offline

#8 2011-03-21 06:37:05

ise
Developer
From: Karlsruhe / Germany
Registered: 2005-10-06
Posts: 402
Website

Re: wicd split in 'wicd' and 'wicd-gtk'

AurosGamma wrote:

I edited the wicd wiki to show this changes, you can take a look at it and modify anything that you can consider wrong
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wicd

Thanks for editing it. I have made some small changes to it, nothing big.

Offline

#9 2011-03-24 21:20:03

Srigi
Member
Registered: 2007-08-04
Posts: 11

Re: wicd split in 'wicd' and 'wicd-gtk'

This is just wrong. Not with the package, but with Archlinux PR. Few days ago, I got wicd updated, which leads to silent removal of gtk client. Still no problems, cos everything remained properly configured.

But today, I visited new area with WIFI connection and was unable to connect. Can anyone tell why this important information was'n published on official Twitter channel? Is this normal, that someone silently broke networking system, without informing about incoming changes atleast on mainpage?

No disrespect to maintainer of the package, but Archlinux communication to the community is total failure past two years (via official channels, that's not the forum).

Last edited by Srigi (2011-03-24 21:22:50)

Offline

#10 2011-03-24 21:37:16

barzam
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2009-01-27
Posts: 277

Re: wicd split in 'wicd' and 'wicd-gtk'

How can you say removing a graphical frontend breakes networking?

Also, I didn't even know there was an official twitter channel, and that'd be the last place I'd look for this kind of stuff.

Offline

#11 2011-03-24 21:42:06

ise
Developer
From: Karlsruhe / Germany
Registered: 2005-10-06
Posts: 402
Website

Re: wicd split in 'wicd' and 'wicd-gtk'

Let me think about it. I have post it into our official forum into this subforum which has the title: "News, announcements and advisories from the development team, forum admins and Trusted Users". I have post it on the official mailing list: http://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail/ … 19022.html
It was posted on our official planet website: http://planet.archlinux.org

And you are complaining that I didn't post on twitter?? We have no official twitter channel and I don't use twitter. The only thing you can complain is that I didn't post it on the front page. Even in the install message it was listed as optional dependency if you want the GTK+ client then install wicd-gtk.

Sorry, but I can't post it everywhere on the internet. I think the places I have posted it are enough.

Offline

#12 2011-03-25 04:45:13

ChemBro
Member
Registered: 2008-10-22
Posts: 679

Re: wicd split in 'wicd' and 'wicd-gtk'

@Srigi: At least pacman should have told you, that there is a wicd-gtk package (optional). That's how I found that out.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB