You are not logged in.

#1 2011-04-06 18:33:27

colbert

RAID5 and setting up server questions

I am going to set up a server primarily for media storage, but also for backing up business data as well.

I currently have and will be using this mobo: http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=LCK1LS8DWojB38IJ  It has 6 SATA ports and 2 eSATA ports.

I plan to begin with 4x2TB in RAID5, however, depending on the following, I may start with 6 or 8x2TB:

1. I have been reading quite a bit about RAID and it seems to me that for my needs RAID5 makes the most sense. I am far from an expert so I ask if anyone can inform me of a more suitable option and if so why it would be more appropriate than RAID5? (Hate to set it all up and then find out I should've done it differently hehe).

2. I am thinking of getting this controller card: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.as … 6816115029  Is this a good solution? Or is it more advantageous to use my onboard RAID?

#2 is kind of dependent also on whether or not I can use more than one of these controller cards. The issue I'm facing is that I would be limited to 4 drives in RAID if I use the controller card, and 6 at most if I use my onboard RAID (assuming I connect my OS drive to an eSATA port to keep the 6 SATA ports free for the RAID drives). I have emailed HighPoint web support asking if I can use more than one of the above linked controller cards simultaneously which would allow me to use 8 drives in my array, awaiting their response.

Thanks a lot for any help folks, hope I was somewhat clear in my questions but if not please ask for any info needed as I greatly appreciate the wisdom!

#2 2011-04-06 19:57:21

mcsilva

Re: RAID5 and setting up server questions

I have several servers with RAID-1 and RAID-5.
Some of them with Linux software RAID and others with Hardware RAID.
Of course the best one is Hardware RAID:
Pros:
      1 - It is reliable and fast
      2 - Easy to administer.
      3 - No need to install drivers