You are not logged in.

#1 2011-04-09 14:23:17

Harey
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2007-03-24
Posts: 292

KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

Since KDE 4.6 trying to resize a konsole window by dragging the window edges results in a complete freeze of the machine. Only hard reset is possible to get out. Using Nvidia 270.30-4 and xorg-server 1.10.0.901-1

Xorg.0.log says:

[   240.070] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to allocate 2D engine
[   240.070] (EE) NVIDIA(0):  *** Aborting ***
[   240.070] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to allocate 2D objects
[   240.070] (EE) NVIDIA(0):  *** Aborting ***
[   240.070] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Error recovery failed.
[   240.070] (EE) NVIDIA(0):  *** Aborting ***


Does anyone experience the same problem?

Harvey


Linux is like a wigwam: No Gates, no Windows and an Apache inside

Offline

#2 2011-04-09 17:45:36

Lupo
Member
From: Berlin / Europe
Registered: 2011-04-09
Posts: 6

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

Yes,

Iḿ facing the same problem. Seems to be a known bug: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/23381
But you can still ssh into your box. So no hard reset needed.

lupo

Offline

#3 2011-04-11 07:13:39

Harey
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2007-03-24
Posts: 292

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

O.K., so I'll have to wait for someone fixing this bug, either here ore there.

Lupo wrote:

you can still ssh into your box. So no hard reset needed.
lupo

If you have another box by the hand sad

Thanks for your answer
Harvey


Linux is like a wigwam: No Gates, no Windows and an Apache inside

Offline

#4 2011-04-11 07:21:11

toad
Member
From: if only I knew
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,775
Website

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

Cannot reproduce. Does it persist if you disable effects? Which graphics card/video driver?


never trust a toad...
::Grateful ArchDonor::
::Grateful Wikipedia Donor::

Offline

#5 2011-04-11 07:31:58

JokerBoy
Member
From: România
Registered: 2009-09-24
Posts: 641
Website

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

Harey wrote:

Using Nvidia 270.30-4 and xorg-server 1.10.0.901-1

toad, he's using [testing]

Lupo wrote:

But you can still ssh into your box. So no hard reset needed.

I use acpid from this kind of things. tongue this will poweroff the machine normally. I tested it while using nvidia 270.30, but with xorg-server 1.9.5.
/etc/acpi/handler.sh

...
        case "$2" in
            PWRF)   logger "PowerButton pressed: $2"
                    /sbin/poweroff
            ;;
            *)      logger "ACPI action undefined: $2" ;;
        esac
...

Last edited by JokerBoy (2011-04-11 07:32:31)

Offline

#6 2011-04-11 08:18:29

Harey
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2007-03-24
Posts: 292

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

JokerBoy wrote:
Harey wrote:

Using Nvidia 270.30-4 and xorg-server 1.10.0.901-1

toad, he's using [testing]

Indeed, I do smile


I use acpid from this kind of things.

Another daemon, pffff. I saw no need for acpid before but it seems to be useful in this special situation. Until now I was quite happy with the KDE powerdevil.

Thanks for your input
Harvey


Linux is like a wigwam: No Gates, no Windows and an Apache inside

Offline

#7 2011-04-11 08:21:40

toad
Member
From: if only I knew
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,775
Website

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

JokerBoy wrote:
Harey wrote:

Using Nvidia 270.30-4 and xorg-server 1.10.0.901-1

toad, he's using [testing]

Doh, remind me to stay away from the computer on Monday mornings...


never trust a toad...
::Grateful ArchDonor::
::Grateful Wikipedia Donor::

Offline

#8 2011-04-11 19:39:56

Vamp898
Member
From: ドイツではまだ住んでいる
Registered: 2009-01-03
Posts: 866
Website

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

I reproduced that this is only happening with the nvidia driver from [testing]. Works fine with [extra] driver, also works fine with ATI Cards

Offline

#9 2011-04-12 01:14:50

AurosGamma
Member
From: San Cristobal,Venezuela
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 132

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

Now this is happening too with the updated nvidia driver on [extra], i think we can just wait for an update from nvidia

Offline

#10 2011-04-12 02:54:00

bicchi
Member
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 1

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

I actually use Ubuntu but got hit by this bug on Natty with my nvidia video card. I had to disable Desktop Effects to get konsole not to crash upon resizing it. I tried disabling all the effects but konsole still crashes, the solution was to "Disable Desktop Effect" under the System Settings menu.

Not the "prettiest" solution but at least got konsole working. hope this helps until a fix comes along.

Last edited by bicchi (2011-04-12 02:56:05)

Offline

#11 2011-04-12 03:09:11

JokerBoy
Member
From: România
Registered: 2009-09-24
Posts: 641
Website

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

AurosGamma wrote:

Now this is happening too with the updated nvidia driver on [extra], i think we can just wait for an update from nvidia

same here. and like bicchi said, with composition disabled works ok. well, until a fix is out I think I can live without effects..

Offline

#12 2011-04-12 18:35:38

SilverSurfer972
Member
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 12

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

Same here! Fù$ck nvidia !

Offline

#13 2011-04-13 18:54:19

Wilco
Member
Registered: 2008-11-09
Posts: 431

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

Same problem, not using testing only stable repositories. System up-to-date and using Nvidia

Disabling composition (desktop effects in KDE) solves the situation.

Offline

#14 2011-04-13 19:05:45

SilverSurfer972
Member
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 12

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

I've been more than 24hours without Desktop Effects. This is not funny anymore smile

Offline

#15 2011-04-13 19:59:20

AurosGamma
Member
From: San Cristobal,Venezuela
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 132

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

SilverSurfer972 wrote:

I've been more than 24hours without Desktop Effects. This is not funny anymore smile

Right now im using Gnome 3 from testing trying to help with bugs findings, so i can't try Konsole resizing, a while ago an update for nvidia driver came up(270.41.03-1) try to update and test the results big_smile
P.S. Post your results here

Last edited by AurosGamma (2011-04-13 20:00:20)

Offline

#16 2011-04-14 03:29:54

dabbill
Member
Registered: 2011-04-14
Posts: 4

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

No desktop effects is really no fun.
Hope this gets fixed soon.

Offline

#17 2011-04-14 04:18:47

sand_man
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-06-10
Posts: 2,164

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

I don't think Konsole is a factor. I had the same problem with latest KDE with [testing] enabled and resizing urxvt with compositing on also crashed.


neutral

Offline

#18 2011-04-14 04:42:09

AurosGamma
Member
From: San Cristobal,Venezuela
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 132

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

sand_man wrote:

I don't think Konsole is a factor. I had the same problem with latest KDE with [testing] enabled and resizing urxvt with compositing on also crashed.

The problem is the Nvidia Binary driver (270.41.03 for me), i tried with xf86-video-nouveau and nouveau-dri without problems, the bad side is that nouveau performance on KDE isn't very good, so we have to wait for and Nvidia Propietary release  : /

Offline

#19 2011-04-14 06:49:36

avoulk
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2007-08-28
Posts: 132
Website

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

Same problem here!
The problem is not only with konsole, but also with windows having transparent areas! So, when i switched (for testing purposes) to Oxygen-transparent theme, I could not perform a single window resize!!!

Offline

#20 2011-04-14 07:34:43

SanskritFritz
Member
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2009-01-08
Posts: 1,615
Website

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

Harey wrote:

Only hard reset is possible to get out.

Magic Sysreq dont work either? It one can ssh, they should be able to REISUB as well.

I also have bad experience with the new 270.* nvidia driver, not the same phenomena, but I think this might be related, as disabling composite solves the problem:
http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=197908


zʇıɹɟʇıɹʞsuɐs AUR || Cycling in Budapest with a helmet camera || Revised log levels proposal: "FYI" "WTF" and "OMG" (John Barnette)

Offline

#21 2011-04-14 10:20:32

panosk
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2008-10-29
Posts: 241

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

On top of that, exposing the cube (Ctrl+F11) and then selecting a desktop also causes a crash....

Offline

#22 2011-04-14 18:05:59

AurosGamma
Member
From: San Cristobal,Venezuela
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 132

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

panosk wrote:

On top of that, exposing the cube (Ctrl+F11) and then selecting a desktop also causes a crash....

That desktop cube crash has been present on earlier driver releases...i think might be related, i hope nvidia fix this issues soon...

Last edited by AurosGamma (2011-04-14 18:07:32)

Offline

#23 2011-04-14 18:53:58

SilverSurfer972
Member
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 12

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

Even with no effects resizing Konsole triggers the bug also. Very annoying. I just installed gnome 3.....

Offline

#24 2011-04-14 20:38:25

AurosGamma
Member
From: San Cristobal,Venezuela
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 132

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

SilverSurfer972 wrote:

Even with no effects resizing Konsole triggers the bug also. Very annoying. I just installed gnome 3.....

This issue isn't really a good reason for a DE change, anyway i have my Desktop Effects activated, I only have to be careful to DO NOT RESIZE konsole until Nvidia fix this...

Offline

#25 2011-04-15 05:43:26

eDio
Member
From: Ukraine, Kyiv
Registered: 2008-12-02
Posts: 405

Re: KDE 4.6.2 - resize konsole freezes complete machine

btw, yakuake works as usual. I can maximize, change it's size... Yakuake bypasses kwin, so maybe bug is not in nvidia driver, but in kwin?
Moreover, I hadn't experienced that bug when used kde 4.6.1.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB