You are not logged in.

#1 2005-04-14 04:13:09

Carbono
Member
From: Quebec City, Canada
Registered: 2005-04-13
Posts: 54

How can I find packages using pacman?

Hi--

I browsed through pacman HOWTOs and doc and I still don't know how I can find available packages on all the ftp sites in my pacman.conf file.

For example, I want to install Gnome. When I do :

pacman -Sy gnome,

it doesn't work. Is it because I should do something like :

pacman -Sy Gnome, or

pacman -Sy Gn..

Do you see what I mean? HOW DO I FIND THE RIGHT SYNTHAX FOR A PACKAGE, OR THE EXISTING PACKAGES?

Is there some kind of a search tool for the ftp repositories? For example,

pacman <-search option>  Gno* (for all packages beginning with Gno)

Thanks

Offline

#2 2005-04-14 04:30:39

Shofs
Member
From: Central Illinois
Registered: 2004-12-15
Posts: 184

Re: How can I find packages using pacman?

You can do a search with -Ss like pacman -Ss gnome

Offline

#3 2005-04-14 04:48:14

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: How can I find packages using pacman?

Carbono wrote:

pacman -Sy gnome,
it doesn't work. Is it because I should do something like :

In general you need to know name of the package(s). In the case of Gnome, Xfce4 and KDE, simply call the name of group. What you did suppose to work.

[root@localhost ~]# pacman -Sy gnome
:: Synchronizing package databases...
:: current is up to date
:: extra is up to date
:: unstable is up to date
:: staging is up to date
:: group gnome:
    control-center gnome-applets gnome-backgrounds gnome-common
    gnome-desktop gnome-icon-theme gnome-media gnome-mime-data
    gnome-panel gnome-session gnome-themes gnome2-user-docs metacity
    nautilus rep-gtk vte yelp
    Install whole content? [Y/n]

Offline

#4 2005-04-14 04:51:34

Carbono
Member
From: Quebec City, Canada
Registered: 2005-04-13
Posts: 54

Re: How can I find packages using pacman?

Thanks for your quick reply.

Why do I only get:

root@localhost ~]# pacman -Sy gnome
:: Synchronizing package databases...
:: current is up to date
:: extra is up to date

and not the following 

:: unstable
:: ...


Does it matter?

Offline

#5 2005-04-14 05:01:30

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: How can I find packages using pacman?

Arch has several repos and I have four of them in /etc/pacman.conf and added one file (same name as in pacman.conf) for each of them in /etc/pacman.d/
Arch repos: ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/

/etc/pacman.conf

[current]
# Add your preferred servers here, they will be used first
Include = /etc/pacman.d/current

[extra]
# Add your preferred servers here, they will be used first
Include = /etc/pacman.d/extra

[unstable]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/unstable

[staging]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/staging

Offline

#6 2005-04-14 14:32:09

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: How can I find packages using pacman?

In general, when stuck with pacman, append a 'h' and hit enter:

$ pacman -Sh

Offline

#7 2005-04-15 03:28:19

jaawood
Member
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 31
Website

Re: How can I find packages using pacman?

rasat wrote:

Arch has several repos and I have four of them in /etc/pacman.conf and added one file (same name as in pacman.conf) for each of them in /etc/pacman.d/
Arch repos: ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/

/etc/pacman.conf

[current]
# Add your preferred servers here, they will be used first
Include = /etc/pacman.d/current

[extra]
# Add your preferred servers here, they will be used first
Include = /etc/pacman.d/extra

[unstable]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/unstable

[staging]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/staging

Would you mind posting your /etc/pacman.d/staging file?

Thanks


<html>
<a href="http://www.jrspc.net">My Website</a>

Offline

#8 2005-04-15 06:17:14

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: How can I find packages using pacman?

jaawood wrote:
rasat wrote:

[staging]
Include = /etc/pacman.d/staging

Would you mind posting your /etc/pacman.d/staging file?

/etc/pacman.d/staging

[staging]
Server = ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/tur/staging

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB