You are not logged in.

#1 2011-04-13 20:20:14

NeuroFuzzy

How to double check you have gfx card support? + any good *nix books?

I have this in my X11/xorg.conf file:

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

and i have the drivers installed. Still, I noticed some video games (minecraft specifically) run very slowly. I just switched over from winXP, so I know that minecraft on this setup is running significantly slower than on windows XP. Is that 100% expected?

Also... I'm new to a lot of the commands on unix-like, cli stuff. I'm OK with regular expressions, and I know the basic "pipe output to textfile" (>/>>) stuff, but there are still a lot of things that are confusing, that aren't really explained anywhere. Some commands with brackets and lines abound... I have no idea where to start interpreting them. I can understand the classic forkbomb command: ":(){:|:& };:" when it's explained to me, but I don't know many conventions. For example: why does the ":()" function have to be declared on the same line as it is called? Basically, is there a book or thorough resource on things like this?

PS. first post. w00t. Just for some context of where I'm coming from: I've used windows most of my life, but that doesn't really mean anything, because I've never messed with the system files, or used the windows API much. I'm pretty competent at C++/Basic/Java, so I can grasp most algorithmic stuff pretty well. I'm attempting to better use lwjgl and SDL, in conjunction with OpenGL, and (the goal is) eventually OpenCL, so I can make more CPU intensive stuff like this (hosted on my website :3).

Last edited by NeuroFuzzy (2011-04-13 20:22:11)

#2 2011-04-13 23:05:57

stqn
Website

Re: How to double check you have gfx card support? + any good *nix books?