You are not logged in.

#1 2005-04-15 10:45:08

hdo781
Member
Registered: 2005-04-14
Posts: 12

Is there a run dialog package?

I recently switched from Gnome to icewm.  In Gnome, Alt+F2 opened a run dialog, which I could use to open programs.  Is there a run dialog program so that I can keybind it to Alt+F2 in icewm to open programs?  Right now, I'm using the terminal to open everything, which I don't want to do.

-hdo781

Offline

#2 2005-04-15 13:26:52

Kern
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2005-02-09
Posts: 460

Re: Is there a run dialog package?

This maybe worth a look -

http://icesoundmanager.sourceforge.net/

(its not just a sound manager, but Control centre now)

Down the page ...

Launching Random Programs
You may launch a random program on your system by clicking File -> Run.. . on the menu, or press Ctrl+R on your keyboard .

hth

Offline

#3 2005-04-15 15:09:31

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Is there a run dialog package?

there's something called gmrun which is kinda cool - I wanted to hack together a cool "run" dialog which behaved like the vim wildmenu (or wmi/wmii exec menu)

Offline

#4 2005-04-15 15:27:13

hdo781
Member
Registered: 2005-04-14
Posts: 12

Re: Is there a run dialog package?

phrakture,

Where can I download gmrun as an Arch Linux package?  It doesn't seem to be in the current nor the extra repository.

-hdo781

Offline

#5 2005-04-19 05:54:12

Sader
Member
Registered: 2005-03-31
Posts: 42

Re: Is there a run dialog package?

why not to put programs to IceWM menu ?

there is also a set of Python utils for IceWM which is a sort of "control center" like in legasy OS with a LOT of features.

Offline

#6 2005-04-19 07:41:44

mudshark
Member
From: Melbourne
Registered: 2005-04-18
Posts: 3

Re: Is there a run dialog package?

If you have fluxbox installed, try fbrun.

Otherwise try this PKGBUILD for gmrun:

pkgname=gmrun
pkgver=0.9.2
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="A simple program which provides a run program window"
url="http://sf.net/projects/gmrun"
license="GPL"
depends=('x-server' 'gtk2')
makedepends=()
conflicts=()
replaces=()
backup=()
install=
source=(http://dl.sf.net/$pkgname/$pkgname-$pkgver.tar.gz)
md5sums=('6cef37a968006d9496fc56a7099c603c')

build() {
  cd $startdir/src/$pkgname-$pkgver
  ./configure --prefix=/usr
  make || return 1
  make DESTDIR=$startdir/pkg install
}

(I've been using arch for one week so far - hope this works, YMMV)

copy /usr/share/gmrun/gmrunrc to ~/.gmrunrc and edit

Offline

#7 2005-04-19 08:08:55

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Re: Is there a run dialog package?

Funny, I was just thinking of Gmrun today. I used to use it with Fedora... awesome.


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

#8 2005-04-19 10:15:14

hdo781
Member
Registered: 2005-04-14
Posts: 12

Re: Is there a run dialog package?

I found gmrun on one of the TURs and it's working perfectly in icewm.  Thank you all for the suggestions.

-hdo781

Offline

#9 2005-04-19 12:18:03

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: Is there a run dialog package?

Is there some sort of "run" program that can be used as a borderless terminal? So you can integrate it in your wallpaper and have it stay there, no matter how many times you run a program. The biggest downside of the run-programs so far is that I always have to start it before I can use it. I might aswell create a shortcut then.

Something like the run-plugin for XFce.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#10 2005-04-19 17:08:32

hdo781
Member
Registered: 2005-04-14
Posts: 12

Re: Is there a run dialog package?

FUBAR wrote:

Is there some sort of "run" program that can be used as a borderless terminal? So you can integrate it in your wallpaper and have it stay there.

I'm not sure about a terminal in the wallpaper, but I've used something like that in the taskbar in Gnome.  If you prefer using XFCE, the Gnome taskbar can replace the XFCE taskbar and you will have that functionality.

-hdo781

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB