You are not logged in.

#1 2011-05-01 14:12:23

matse

[REQUEST] Vertigo (game)

Hi,
here http://www.vertigo-game.com/ is a little game which I think should be in the AUR smile
Videos looks great, remembers me of an old DOS-game which name I have forgotten.
Greetings
matse

#2 2011-05-06 13:52:00

JHeaton

Re: [REQUEST] Vertigo (game)

This actually looks quite fun, so I'm tempted to give it a go. Have you attempted building a PKGBUILD for it and if so, do you have any experiences to share? Would be helpful if so.

#3 2011-05-06 22:48:13

matse

Hi,
no I haven't tried to build a PKGBUILD yet and I have no experience in doing that. Last  couple of days I had to do a other things, but I guess I will find some time during the weekend and read some howtos about that topic and give it a try. I will post my results here.
bye
matse

#4 2011-05-07 19:06:14

matse

Hi,
so I tried to compile vertigo from source but had to give up really fast because accoding to the manual
https://github.com/amireh/Vertigo/blob/master/INSTALL
it depends on things like ogre3d which is not yet in the AUR, see
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=7979
and I guess getting all the dependencies is a little bit too hard for a newbie like me wink
But I managed to get "Archive with precompiled dynamic libraries" (from the homepage) running pretty easily, Since I have a x64 architecture I just needed "lib32-libxaw" from the AUR and I could start "sh ./bin/play_vertigo.sh" in the extracted archive and the game runs fine and is pretty cool smile
bye
matse

Last edited by matse (2011-05-07 20:14:37)

#5 2011-05-14 20:26:32

sportscliche

I tried building from source but got hung-up at ParticleUniverse, which is a proprietary extension for Ogre and only available for Windows:

http://www.fxpression.com/