You are not logged in.

#1 2011-05-02 07:10:53

amadar
Banned
Registered: 2011-04-15
Posts: 147

acpi says "battery rate information unavailable"

acpi reports the battery percentage, but it can't estimate the time. Is there a way to tell if this is acpi's fault or my hardware's fault?

Last edited by amadar (2011-05-02 07:13:50)

Offline

#2 2013-05-24 11:58:54

hickop
Member
Registered: 2009-09-07
Posts: 36

Re: acpi says "battery rate information unavailable"

Same problem for me, is there other tools that could calculate discharge rate maybe ?

Offline

#3 2013-05-24 15:58:21

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 18,890

Re: acpi says "battery rate information unavailable"

hickop,  Careful of the age of the thread (2 years and a few days).  We discourage responding to old threads because things in Linux change so fast and we do not want to create confusion between old problems and their solutions and the new.  In this case, it is of no matter, there was no real meat in the thread to begin with.  Carry on...

You might tell us about your system and its processor.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#4 2013-05-26 21:13:04

shadeless
Member
Registered: 2013-05-26
Posts: 83

Re: acpi says "battery rate information unavailable"

Hi,
I'm also having the same problem.

Regarding system and prcoessor info,
uname -a gives
Linux localhost 3.9.3-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun May 19 22:50:29 CEST 2013 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Processor is Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3740QM CPU @ 2.70GHz.

Offline

#5 2013-05-28 10:50:07

valr
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2012-01-08
Posts: 62

Re: acpi says "battery rate information unavailable"

It's true that on some machines the (dis)charge rate is not provided.
No idea if it's a hardware or software problem (can't help on that).

cbatticon has a workaround to estimate the remaining battery time based on the current rate at 2 different point in time.

Offline

#6 2013-05-28 20:01:09

Lekensteyn
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2012-06-19
Posts: 192
Website

Re: acpi says "battery rate information unavailable"

Have you tried upower?

# use `upower -e` to find out the path for the following command
upower -i /org/freedesktop/UPower/devices/battery_BAT0

Offline

#7 2013-05-28 20:45:56

Jodell
Member
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 285

Re: acpi says "battery rate information unavailable"

There's ibam in the repos. It gives a good amount of battery information.

Last edited by Jodell (2013-05-28 20:46:32)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB