You are not logged in.

#1 2011-05-08 21:56:50

mhertz
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2010-06-19
Posts: 664

Make cloog replace cloog-ppl.

since you've removed cloog-ppl from the repos, then couldn't cloog-ppl be add to "replaces" in the cloog pkgbuild?

I have made a fully unattended bash script which I use whenever reinstalling, so that I don't need to go through the same repetetive tasks again, but now when I today reinstalled, then my script didn't update the "core-installed" system, because cloog-ppl was in conflict with cloog, and as I use --noconfirm! (for the update part I use: "pacman -Syu --noconfirm && pacman-db-upgrade && pacman -Syu --noconfirm", the first -syu to update pacman itself and replace some apps...)

Also, in the mean time, then could you please tell me if it will be ok, and that I don't screw anything up, if I before the update command, then run 'pacman -Rd cloog-ppl --noconfirm', as 'pacman -R cloog-ppl --noconfirm' dosen't work because of the deps conflict... (pretty sure, but just in case I would appreciate a confimation on this, please!).

Thanks in advance---

@mods: Dohh! I had just pressed "submit", when I realized that this was the completelly wrong subsection!

I am really sorry for posting this here and so could you kindly remove it elsewhere, thanks!

(I had just read about cloog-ppl should be removed in a previous entry about gcc4.6 at arch-dev-public, and then stupidly went here and posted this! I don't know where my head was at during the submision, and again, i'm really sorry about that! )

Last edited by mhertz (2011-05-08 22:08:18)

Offline

#2 2011-05-08 23:06:56

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,158

Re: Make cloog replace cloog-ppl.

Moved, per your request


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#3 2011-05-08 23:14:18

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,416
Website

Re: Make cloog replace cloog-ppl.

Umm..  cloog should not conflict with cloog-ppl, unless you had not updated in ages.   They existed next to each other in the repos for months.

Offline

#4 2011-05-09 22:32:38

mhertz
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2010-06-19
Posts: 664

Re: Make cloog replace cloog-ppl.

That's the thing; I haden't updated in ages, since I had just made a reinstall of latest stable core-iso, and then runned pacman -Syu --noconfirm from a script... (I don't use netinstall since my wifi needs extra firmware/driver files and is rather unstable).

I've modified the stable iso to install base, base-devel, kernel-headers and wireless tools, unattended through aif and after reboot run a custom setup bash script, but which then won't update...

Anyway, if you're not going to add cloog-ppl to cloog's [replaces], then could you please just tell me if I in my script can add a 'pacman -Rdd cloog-ppl --noconfirm' before the 'pacman -Syu --noconfirm', without getting in to issues(the "safe" pacman -R cloog-ppl dosen't work), since else the 'pacman -Syu --noconfirm' will not update because of cloog/cloog-ppl conflicts?

Even though I have reinstalled allready, then i'm always maintaing a working reinstall/custom-setup-iso for future use and so I would appreciate to know if bypassing deps for that cloog-ppl removal(to get it to remove!) is an OK solution to add to my script in the iso so as the next line with the update(-Syu) will work...

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by mhertz (2011-05-10 01:28:14)

Offline

#5 2011-05-25 22:57:48

bobodod
Member
Registered: 2011-05-25
Posts: 2

Re: Make cloog replace cloog-ppl.

I'm getting this conflict on a fresh install, too. From 2010-05-core.

Last edited by bobodod (2011-05-25 23:42:21)

Offline

#6 2011-06-11 19:49:11

GhostDevil
Member
Registered: 2008-10-29
Posts: 11

Re: Make cloog replace cloog-ppl.

I also did a fresh install today and getting a conflict:

resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...
:: cloog and cloog-ppl are in conflict (cloog-ppl<0.15.10-2). Remove cloog-ppl? [y/N]
error: unresolvable package conflicts detected
error: failed to prepare transaction (conflicting dependencies)
:: cloog and cloog-ppl are in conflict (cloog-ppl<0.15.10-2)

Offline

#7 2011-06-18 15:23:48

chimeracoder
Member
From: New York
Registered: 2010-10-24
Posts: 73

Re: Make cloog replace cloog-ppl.

Any resolution on this? I too am updating this computer for the first time in way too long, and I'm getting cloog/cloog-ppl conflicts.

Offline

#8 2011-06-18 22:52:22

MoonSwan
Member
From: Great White North
Registered: 2008-01-23
Posts: 873

Re: Make cloog replace cloog-ppl.

Off-topic:  Mhertz, would you mind sharing your script?  I really don't do programming but i've been wanting an unattended installation script for some time now.  You can email it or post it here perhaps?

Thank you smile


I'm torn apart between worlds. Basically, using vim in a highly visual environment with a lot of mouse features feels like soldering a lose wire to a motherboard with a Zippo and a needle, while working with ANY TEXT AT ALL with a "modern GUI" text editor feels like joining the London Philharmonic Orchestra with a Fisher-Price Laugh and Learn Magical Musical Mirror.  --Awebb

Offline

#9 2011-06-19 10:04:22

sykesm
Member
From: Reading, UK
Registered: 2006-09-03
Posts: 70

Re: Make cloog replace cloog-ppl.

was having the same issue i did the following which seems to have worked so far
1) made sure i answered "Y" to all update requests, had to actually type "Y" at least once as the default offered was "y/n"
2) sudo pacman -Syuf

haven't got xorg working yet but seemed to complete the upgrade, this was vm from beginning of 2010,  pre-pacman db upgrade

Offline

#10 2011-07-31 08:03:45

vicluber
Member
Registered: 2011-07-31
Posts: 1

Re: Make cloog replace cloog-ppl.

I have the same problem...

Last edited by vicluber (2011-07-31 17:45:37)

Offline

#11 2011-08-09 07:32:50

shoelace
Member
Registered: 2011-08-09
Posts: 5

Re: Make cloog replace cloog-ppl.

Hi, I just solved the problem with
pacman -R -c cloog-ppl
smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB