You are not logged in.

#1 2011-05-13 17:40:34

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

Well, I hesitate to even post this after my first two failed attempts but maybe the third time is a charm. I went back to terminus and modified the size 14. I shortened the entire font slightly and added a lot of status icons. I had to modify some the charachters slightly. It seems just about the right size and space to me now for my netbook. I renamed it terminusmod. I think it turned out pretty nice. If you notice anything wrong or suggestions, let me know and I'll change it. I'll try to clean it up and fix a few small things over the next couple days and probably add a few more icons.

edit: I made it into an AUR package.  https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=49117

edit: It's only the bold 12 and versions with status icons now. I discontinued the 14.

Last edited by stlarch (2011-12-08 07:23:42)

Offline

#2 2011-05-13 23:33:40

synorgy
Member
From: $HOME
Registered: 2005-07-11
Posts: 272
Website

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

Considering I just switched to Terminus for my terminal, I'd like to switch to Terminus for my WMFS bar too (I use / released Tamsyn2 with a similar idea). I like this font, but I'm not a fan of some of the glyphs. Maybe I'll go on a hackin spree and use yours as a base. All in all - Good work! Thanks for releasing!


"Unix is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity." (Dennis Ritchie)

Offline

#3 2011-05-14 04:03:36

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

Thanks. I was kind of originally inspired by your post about Tamsyn2 to try to do this in the first place. So thanks to you also. I'm not exactly an artist so I apologize for some of the glyphs. A couple of them are pretty crappy. I guess there's only so much you can do with the space provided. I'll try to work more on them when I have some time and see what I can come up with.

Offline

#4 2011-05-14 06:45:37

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

I went ahead and fixed a couple small details that I noticed and fixed some of the ugly glyphs. They look marginally better now I think. It's getting closer.

Offline

#5 2011-05-15 19:33:06

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

I made several more small refinements and I completed the bold also. Yea!

Offline

#6 2011-05-15 22:24:08

metre
Member
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 130

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

It deserves AUR, good job!

Offline

#7 2011-05-17 07:05:41

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

metre wrote:

It deserves AUR, good job!

Done! My first one.

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=49117

Offline

#8 2011-05-31 02:22:10

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

The size 14 that I modified is perfect for my netbook, but I just got a 19" widescreen monitor and it looks too big. Once again, I couldn't seem to find the right font so I made another one. I like MonteCarlo but it's still a little small for me. I ended up choosing, oddly enough, Terminus size 12. It doesn't have a bold, so I made one (it does now!). I changed a couple other small things and added some icons also. I think the bold turned out pretty good but the icons are harder to do. It still need some work, but overall, it's not bad. I added it to the newest terminusmod AUR package, https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=49117. Now I have the perfect font for my netbook and my big screen!

here's a screenshot using the 12. tOHZqMQ

Last edited by stlarch (2011-06-01 04:09:38)

Offline

#9 2011-05-31 05:16:25

tacticalbread
Member
From: Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2011-04-09
Posts: 127
Website

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

Hmm, I can't seem to get this font to work in urxvt. It doesn't show up at all in xfontsel. :<

Last edited by tacticalbread (2011-05-31 05:16:51)


don't save us from the flames

Offline

#10 2011-05-31 05:32:12

JokerBoy
Member
From: România
Registered: 2009-09-24
Posts: 641
Website

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

this helps?

xset +fp '/usr/share/fonts/local'
xset fp rehash

Last edited by JokerBoy (2011-05-31 05:41:42)

Offline

#11 2011-05-31 11:57:57

synorgy
Member
From: $HOME
Registered: 2005-07-11
Posts: 272
Website

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

If I'm not mistaken, you'll also need to run

mkfontdir /usr/share/fonts/local

"Unix is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity." (Dennis Ritchie)

Offline

#12 2011-05-31 17:59:45

tacticalbread
Member
From: Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2011-04-09
Posts: 127
Website

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

Well I got it to work for urxvt (thanks guys!) but when trying to use it for awesome, it ends up looking like this. It looks the same in gtk2fontsel as well.


don't save us from the flames

Offline

#13 2011-05-31 19:56:29

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

I,m hardly an expert on fonts. Actually, you could probably say I'm a complete idiot when it comes to fonts. I really just wanted a few icons in my statusbar but it turned into a little more than that. Anyway, it's just a bitmap font, and it probably wont scale correctly. It will look distorted. It's mostly just a terminal font. It looks like you have it as a different size, try changing it to 12. It's just 12 or 14. Someone correct me if I'm wrong please before I make any more a fool of myself.

Offline

#14 2011-05-31 20:09:56

tacticalbread
Member
From: Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2011-04-09
Posts: 127
Website

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

Well in gtk2fontsel it doesn't even look like the same font, no matter what size I choose. In fact, it looks identical to Sans Bold. ._.


don't save us from the flames

Offline

#15 2011-06-01 04:07:43

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

I think it's defaulting to that. I think you have to enable bitmaps to use them in gtk apps. I'm not sure exactly how you do it. I use a different font for gtk. Perhaps someone else knows more about it.

Offline

#16 2011-06-03 07:33:51

tacticalbread
Member
From: Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2011-04-09
Posts: 127
Website

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

but Awesome's panel isn't a GTK app...  .__.

I don't want to use it for GTK apps, just my awesome panel.


don't save us from the flames

Offline

#17 2011-06-05 17:50:03

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

Yes I know it's not a gtk app but it uses pango to render fonts. Unfortunately I can't seem to figure it out for some reason. I've tried a couple things without success. Sorry I couln't be of more help.

Offline

#18 2011-06-05 20:09:50

tacticalbread
Member
From: Bay Area, CA
Registered: 2011-04-09
Posts: 127
Website

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

Ah well. If it helps any, when I open up Gnome's unicode charmap, and select 'Show only Glyphs from this font' nothing shows up for terminusmod, and the console output says (charmap:10081): Pango-WARNING **: failed to choose a font, expect ugly output. engine-type='PangoRenderFc', script='bopomofo', although the original terminus works fine.


don't save us from the flames

Offline

#19 2011-10-31 20:40:09

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

Well, basically what was happening was that I drew the glyphs in bdfedit (because I can't figure out to draw them in gbdfed) and when I saved them, some of the original properties were lost. I still drew them in bdfedit and then cut and pasted them with gbdfed and got it to work that way. I noticed some problems with alignment and other things with the 12 (I haven't used it in a while). It was kind of a mess. I went through the whole thing and fixed everything. The 12 is much better now. I haven't updated the aur PKGBUILD yet. I still need to redo the 14. I should have it in a week or so. Until then I put the .pcf and .bdf files in my configs if you want to try it. (the 12 in my configs should work for Awesome, etc)  Let me know if it seems alright or if you notice anything wrong. I also just added some status icons to Tamsyn font and renamed it tamsynmod. It's only the 8x15 right now but I'll try to add some more sizes after I get terminusmod straightened out. It's in the aur too https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=53507.

EDIT: I still didn't have the alignment right on a few things with the 12 bold. I made a couple more small changes too. I think I finally have it right now...(famous last words). I updated my configs.

Last edited by stlarch (2011-11-01 09:21:26)

Offline

#20 2011-11-03 08:59:16

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

Nope. But I'm damn near positive I have it real close now. Seriously this time tongue I fixed everything except for a couple small details. The 12 bold is much better now. And I redid the 14 too. I updated the aur. Try it now. I'll try to make a full set of 12 and 14 with the original symbols instead of the icons too in the next week or so. Cheers

Offline

#21 2011-11-06 09:15:02

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

I made the full sets without the icons. I decided to rename the sets with icons terminusmod.icons (for example -*-terminusmod.icons-medium-r-normal-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*). The sets without icons will be terminusmod now.

The 14 is complete and near perfect as far as I can tell. It turned out really nice. It's great on my netbook. I like it better than anything else in the terminal. But for some reason tamsynmod 15 looks better in my statusbar. I use both on my current setup. I fixed the last couple issues with the 12, like the Y's and %. The 12 medium is complete. The 12 bold is almost complete except for a few of the additional characters. A few of them are going to be difficult to do (I figured they would be), but I'll see what I can do with those and try to finalize that next time around. I updated the aur again.

Offline

#22 2011-11-10 11:01:25

voidzero
Member
Registered: 2007-06-21
Posts: 108

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

I just want to say <3 smile

Offline

#23 2011-11-22 06:24:15

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

^^^thanks

Like I said, Tamsynmod seemed to look better in my status bar after comparing them. It's because Tamsyn's capital letters and numbers are slightly shorter in relation to the lower case. (I guess other fonts do that too) That means that some of the lower case, the d, b, f, h, k, l, and t would extend one pixel above the top of the capitals. It seems kind of funky but it actually works very well and looks really nice. Tamsyn has a little more vertical spacing but I've come to like that better too.

So anyway, I decided to redo the 14 more like Tamsyn and I think it turned out awesome. I worked out a couple more things too like the i's, l, and the 1 is from Tamsyn. I borrowed more from Tamsyn this time so it's sort of morphed into the bastard child of Terminus and Tamsyn now, which is a good thing! I think it looks much better now. Really nice. I used Tamsyn as a template so the new one will be 8x15 instead of 8x14. You'll need to update your configs accordingly. It's basically the same size as the previous 14 but the caps and numbers are slightly shorter. It's pretty slick now. You should give it a try if you use this size or if you tried it before but didn't quite like it. (It's absolutely perfect on my netbook now) If you're already using it, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised by the difference. Here's a screenshot of the 8x15:

tYmU3Mg

The .pcf for the version with icons is in my configs if you want to try it. I still need to finish the one without icons and the bold. I should have it done within the next few days and I'll update the aur then. I'll be replacing the current 14 with this 8x15. The 12 will stay the same. I'll try to finish up the last few bits of the bold too. Let me know what you think.

Last edited by stlarch (2011-11-22 20:58:32)

Offline

#24 2011-11-22 17:44:00

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

I'd like to use terminusmod, but I have one problem with it:
In my conky bar I display the temperature of my cpu, so I put

°C

into the .conkyrc. Terminus-font from the repos does show this just fine, terminusmod doesn't.

Offline

#25 2011-11-22 18:43:36

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: Terminusmod Font and Status Icons

Army wrote:

I'd like to use terminusmod, but I have one problem with it:
In my conky bar I display the temperature of my cpu, so I put

°C

into the .conkyrc. Terminus-font from the repos does show this just fine, terminusmod doesn't.

It works fine for me in my status bar  tYmVrOQ

Are you using the one from the aur (if so, what size) or the new one from my configs? All of them should work though.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB