You are not logged in.

#1 2011-05-17 14:44:00

Draygera
Member
Registered: 2011-04-28
Posts: 6

Weird Gnome 3 problem

After playing a game, my entire desktop gets really messed up; my background's gone and all of Application's icons are sprawled across the Desktop. What the?

Can anyone myabe tell me what's up with this? I was going naked for a while without a desktop and doing everything from the command line. Please and Thank you.

Offline

#2 2011-05-17 14:46:47

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: Weird Gnome 3 problem

from what you are describing i have to guess that you have nvidia card and that you are experiencing a bug in the driver.


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#3 2011-05-17 14:54:51

Draygera
Member
Registered: 2011-04-28
Posts: 6

Re: Weird Gnome 3 problem

Yup; I have an Nvidia. Without a desktop, I was having no problems whatsoever. I was just using Fluxbox with a couple of extra features. I ended up messing up several configuration files and decided to do a clean install since I was still pretty new to Arch.

Have any suggestions on fixing this issue?

Offline

#4 2011-05-17 14:56:16

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: Weird Gnome 3 problem

wait for new nvidia driver. they know about this issue and i'm confident they will fix it


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#5 2011-05-17 14:58:56

Draygera
Member
Registered: 2011-04-28
Posts: 6

Re: Weird Gnome 3 problem

OK. Thank you. Gnome3's not that bad. I'm just not a desktop person. hmm

I know Nvidia is pretty good about their drivers, so I'll wait around a little while.

Offline

#6 2011-05-18 21:55:50

PhreshPhil
Member
Registered: 2011-05-18
Posts: 2

Re: Weird Gnome 3 problem

Have you tried Alt+F2 to open a command prompt then entering r ?  I think I get the same thing you get when I come out of suspend and r at the command prompt resets the Gnome Shell and fixes the problem.  I'm also using the closed source Nvidia driver.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB