You are not logged in.

#1 2011-05-17 20:17:54

joafigue

Gnome3 and KDE4.6 freezes the computer and refuses to start

HI everyone:
I'm new to arch but i have been using linux for a couple of years now. I decided to switch to arch due to a suggestion from a friend and decided to install it in my desktop computer which is a fairly old pc (2004 hardware) , so I did a fresh install from scratch without touching the old partition table that I had in my computer and eventually finished the installing with no issues  worth of noting, then I did the system upgrade and installed the video driver for my computer

xf86-video-intel

given from

lspci |grep VGA wrote:

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82915G/GV/910GL Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 04)

Then i proceeded to install gnome3 using pacman, configured the .xinitrc , installed dbus and added the daemon to the /etc/rc.conf by the wiki suggestions and configured the KMS by editing the /boot/grub/menu.lst accordingly , however when i issued the startx command on the tty out of 5 times only 1 gnome actually started and before long it hanged out the computer giving me no option besides a hard reboot (actually every time the system simply had to be restarted the hard way)

At first I guessed that the problem was in dbus so I disabled it, but it gave no good result as gnome didn't start, but it returned to the terminal, so I disabled de intel video driver to allow gnome to start but it fell back to the fallback configuration giving a usable system but with obvious limitations and no access to  any of the tty so it was clearly no  solution at all.

Eventually I grew tired of trying with gnome so i decided to try KDE even though i knew it would require more effort from my hardware but it was basically the same problem.