You are not logged in.

#1 2011-05-25 15:29:54

user_none

[Solved] Intentionally breaking apps?

I am a developer for the calibre (http://calibre-ebook.com) application. I am also one of the primary people who deals with PDF upport in calibre. One of the components used for PDF support is PyPdf. Included as part of calibre is a modified version of PyPdf. It has calibre specific changes that are not part of the upstream PyPdf project.

The Arch pacage for calibre is broken because our PyPdf is removed from calibre and the Arch packaged PyPdf is used instead. Using the system PyPdf breaks many parts of calibre's PDF processing. For example the command line tool pdfmanipulate will often raise an exception (it's a Python app) instead of running.

I opened a bug against the Arch package (#24010) about this issue. The bug was closed as not a bug. So, how is the Arch package intentionally breaking the application not a bug?

How am I supposed to take that kind of response? "We know were shipping calibre in a broken state. We broke it on purpose! Have fun with the bugs people open with you and the blame you get due this."

Is there an Arch policy that bundled libraries can never be included in a package even when they diverge from upstream. I got no other response so is there a conflict caused by calibre including its own version?

All I want to do is try to engage downstream distributors of calibre and help them improve their packages. As well as engage them so that as an upstream we can be more distro friendly. This is specifically in regard to Arch (There is a popular distro I've given up all hope with) as I'm a long time user (primarily on my server). I've started this thread primarily to get help with this issue and so I can learn more about interacting with the community (it's been a long time since I've been a part of this forum).

Last edited by user_none (2011-05-27 01:14:22)

#2 2011-05-25 17:32:53

falconindy
Developer
Website