You are not logged in.

#1 2011-05-30 19:37:20

7rozen_7ear_

Critical temperature reached

Hey everybody,

I'm 7rozen_7ear_ and I'm new to the Arch Linux distro and community, but I love both!

First of all, I'm rather experienced with installing Arch, not only by playing around with Virtual Box.
I kind of managed to run the whole installation proces (with exception of the GRUB), but everytime Linux tells me it has to shut down due to the critical temperature (100°C).
(I tried to lay ice packs under my laptop, that's why I got that far ;') )
Well, I measured my temp in Windows 7 x64 with SpeedFan. I'm kind of sure that my system never gets 100°C

Other linux distros I ran: Ubuntu and Linux Mint (8-9-10)

Why I don't give up on Arch?

Community, AUR, Rolling Release, Freedom.

Cpu temperatures:

Idle: 80-83°C
Stress: 93-94°C

(Speedfan says fan 1, fan 2 and fan 3 don't run. Still I feel a fan blowing, maybe that's the CPU fan. -> This behavior can be the cause of the high temperatures.)

I use a laptop cooler to keep it 'cool'.

General Stuff:

I know those temperatures are high, but I use a Packerd Bell Easynote ML-61 (PBs, HPs and Acers have a bad cooling, haven't they?).

The manufacturer had to replace it's mobo, so I have an AMD Turion X2 Dual-Core Mobile RM-74 instead of the standard AMD Athlon X2.

Any other info you need to help me solve this problem? Just ask ;')

I'm sorry if this topic doesn't belong here, I thought it's the most suitable subforum here.

Thanks for helping.

#2 2011-05-30 20:15:39

ewaller
Administrator

Re: Critical temperature reached

There exists the possibility that this is an instrumentation problem.  If the CPU is at 100C, the case temperature should be unreasonable as should the airflow temperature.

If the file exists, what does the output of

cat /sys/class/thermal/thermal_zone0/temp 

say?? Is it always 100 000 or does in increase over time?  In particular, what is the temperature right after a cold boot?