You are not logged in.

#1 2011-06-02 10:12:38

giddie
Member
From: Birmingham, UK
Registered: 2009-03-25
Posts: 93

Dcron replaced with Cronie

[edit]: Sorry, this was supposed to go in "Announcements, Package & Security Advisories".  I'm not sure how I got the wrong one :s

So crond has been replaced with cronie in [core].  I'm *really* disappointed that this was done without so much as a peep on the forums or on the website RSS feed.  As a result, I completely missed it.  I've joined arch-general now, as I really don't want to miss another important discussion like that.

The arch-general thread can be found here: http://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail/ … 19282.html

It's true that dcron had some maintenance issues, as the developer was not able to work on it to fix bugs for quite some time.  When that became apparent, several people (including me) stepped up with patches.  As far as I'm aware, there are no outstanding bugs in dcron, and it makes me really sad that it was replaced because of past flaws that have now been fixed.

Looking at cronie, I'm not fond of anacron: it seems like a hacky solution.  I don't know a lot about fcron, which was also suggested; maybe it's good.  For now, though, I'm going to stick to dcron.  It's small, light, does everything I need, and I've spent some time in the source.

See also this post from the dcron developer: http://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail/ … 19804.html

[edit]: Fixed URL to Jim Pryor's post.

Last edited by giddie (2011-06-06 12:26:49)

Offline

#2 2011-06-02 10:42:54

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: Dcron replaced with Cronie

giddie wrote:

[edit]: Sorry, this was supposed to go in "Announcements, Package & Security Advisories".  I'm not sure how I got the wrong one :s

Can you post there? I can't.

Offline

#3 2011-06-02 10:46:34

giddie
Member
From: Birmingham, UK
Registered: 2009-03-25
Posts: 93

Re: Dcron replaced with Cronie

karol wrote:

Can you post there? I can't.

Oh yeah; you're right big_smile

Last edited by giddie (2011-06-02 10:46:48)

Offline

#4 2011-06-02 11:28:50

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,956
Website

Re: Dcron replaced with Cronie

cronie does not replace dcron. You can still use dcron which was just moved from core to extra. No big deal.

Offline

#5 2011-06-02 11:38:39

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: Dcron replaced with Cronie

Pierre wrote:

cronie does not replace dcron. You can still use dcron which was just moved from core to extra. No big deal.

Some folks may be shocked  when the new iso gets released as - if I get this right - it won't include dcron ;-)

BTW, giddie, the package name is dcron, you may want to change the title etc.

Offline

#6 2011-06-02 11:57:12

giddie
Member
From: Birmingham, UK
Registered: 2009-03-25
Posts: 93

Re: Dcron replaced with Cronie

Ooops; thanks Pierre smile

Yeah, dcron is still available in [extra] for now.  However, it's an important package, and I'm disappointed that the devs didn't think it was worth posting about on the website, to see if anyone had any strong opinions.  I understand the motivation for the change, although I think the decision was ill-informed.  I'm not fond of mailing lists, but I guess the intention is that interested parties should follow arch-general if they want to keep an eye on planned changes.

Offline

#7 2011-06-06 12:06:22

Svenstaro
Developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-11-19
Posts: 375

Re: Dcron replaced with Cronie

Also please check your links. I'm not the dcron developer.

Offline

#8 2011-06-06 12:27:46

giddie
Member
From: Birmingham, UK
Registered: 2009-03-25
Posts: 93

Re: Dcron replaced with Cronie

Whoops; sorry Svenstaro.  I'll blame the clipboard smile  I fixed the original post.

Last edited by giddie (2011-06-06 12:28:22)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB