You are not logged in.

#1 2005-04-28 18:46:30

fdrebin
Member
Registered: 2005-04-25
Posts: 152

why no kde on arch iso

why isn't there a version of kde included in the arch 0.7 iso and you have to download it by yourself...? don't get it.

Offline

#2 2005-04-28 18:51:25

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: why no kde on arch iso

because the ISO is a base install... and not everyone uses KDE - I wouldn't want KDE taking up 200MB of my CD...

Offline

#3 2005-04-28 19:15:50

fdrebin
Member
Registered: 2005-04-25
Posts: 152

Re: why no kde on arch iso

but almost everyone uses kde or gnome i think
and there are still people that don't got a dsl-flatrate...

Offline

#4 2005-04-28 19:29:34

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: why no kde on arch iso

A lot of people don't use Gnome or KDE (search for the "favourite WM" thread), and it are big things to stuff on a limited CD. Forcing almost everyone to download the added size so you can just get the CD isn't the best way to save the total bandwidth usage (especially not when people immediately upgrade all the software after the install).

If you have limited internet then try finding someone with a good connection who can put all the stuff you need on a cd for you.

Offline

#5 2005-04-28 19:31:56

Dr.U
Member
From: Ettlingen, Germany
Registered: 2005-03-03
Posts: 68

Re: why no kde on arch iso

KDE doesn't interest me either. I guess if I had a faster cpu I might try it more often, but I enjoy blackbox and fluxbox. I can do everthing I want and they are nice, fast, easy to customize with your own ideas and don't require DSL to get the next version.  8)

Regards,
  -- Dr.U

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
I had plenty of pimples as a kid. One day
I fell asleep  in the library. When I woke up,
a blind man was reading my face. -- Rodney Dangerfield

Offline

#6 2005-04-28 19:59:30

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: why no kde on arch iso

fdrebin wrote:

but almost everyone uses kde or gnome i think
and there are still people that don't got a dsl-flatrate...

what about people who don't even use X - I use the console for maybe 40% of my day... the other 60 is spent in WMII, not KDE or Gnome...

Offline

#7 2005-04-28 20:17:33

polarrr
Member
Registered: 2004-09-12
Posts: 91

Re: why no kde on arch iso

No KDE or Gnome either. I don't think almost everyone uses KDE or Gnome. Seems like Arch users prefer XFCE4 and *box line of WMs for the most part.

Offline

#8 2005-04-29 00:14:44

ozar
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 1,681

Re: why no kde on arch iso

I wouldn't want KDE or Gnome on the CD, either.  Just give me a base install, then let me pick the window manager I want, if any.

A separate downloadable CD with KDE/Gnome on it wouldn't bother me, as long as I don't have to download it.   wink


oz

Offline

#9 2005-04-29 02:16:44

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Re: why no kde on arch iso

I have a fast computer, but I dislike KDE and Gnome... I'm glad I didn't have to download another 200Mb just to have one of them.


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

#10 2005-04-29 02:49:48

miqorz
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 475

Re: why no kde on arch iso

shadowhand wrote:

I have a fast computer, but I dislike KDE and Gnome... I'm glad I didn't have to download another 200Mb just to have one of them.

Exactly. I've tried both gnome and kde for about a month each and I find both increasingly annoying with each release.

Openbox3 is magical. wink


http://wiki2.archlinux.org/

Read it. Love it. Live it. Or die.

Offline

#11 2005-04-29 10:31:12

neri
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, Canada
Registered: 2003-05-04
Posts: 552

Re: why no kde on arch iso

Hi,

Let me clearify that a bit.
If you have a look at older ISOs, there have been Gnome and KDE available
from it. Over the time these packages and group of packages for either KDE
and KDE grew a lot and eat up space of the CD. So first KDE was banned
from current, then Gnome to even up the weights and be fair. Finally, much
to my sadness also XFCE4 had been transfered to extra, but it's just fair.
Archlinux does not provide any desktop on the iso, since we can't provide
all of them and choose just one or two for the users always fail to satisfy the
people. So the iso ships some windowmanager and that's it.

-neri

Offline

#12 2005-04-29 10:32:38

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,442

Re: why no kde on arch iso

fdrebin wrote:

why isn't there a version of kde included in the arch 0.7 iso and you have to download it by yourself...? don't get it.

'cause no one likes kde.


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#13 2005-04-29 12:19:49

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: why no kde on arch iso

You might like to know that sometime in the future there will be a KDE version of the Archie Linux Live CD, which will sport a full KDE desktop and will be capable of being installed to the harddrive.

This is still on the cards and probably wont be happenin in the near future.

Offline

#14 2005-04-29 15:54:15

sud_crow
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2003-06-30
Posts: 545

Re: why no kde on arch iso

And here is the link to what iphitus is talking about:
http://user-contributions.org/archie.html


Leonardo Andrés Gallego
www.archlinux-es.org || Comunidad Hispana de Arch Linux

Offline

#15 2005-04-29 19:28:21

darkcoder
Member
From: A bar near you
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 310

Re: why no kde on arch iso

fdrebin wrote:

why isn't there a version of kde included in the arch 0.7 iso and you have to download it by yourself...? don't get it.

Probably because of space.  If developers provide KDE, Gnome, XFCE, X, firefox, email applications, office suite,  a second CD will be required.

Offline

#16 2005-04-29 20:24:28

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: why no kde on arch iso

Pink Chick wrote:
fdrebin wrote:

why isn't there a version of kde included in the arch 0.7 iso and you have to download it by yourself...? don't get it.

'cause no one likes kde.

Hey I use KDE! I see nothing wrong with it, it might not be as fast as some other popular DE's around here, but I prefer intergration and some of their apps over speed. Hell, I still run an athlon-xp 2000(hopefully that will change soon, I'm looking into a Barton).
Back to the topic, I don't see a need to incorporate such a large suite of packages into the install cd. It requires too much space to fit onto a single cd and as pointed out, KDE is not everyone's favorite.

Offline

#17 2005-04-29 21:28:29

darkcoder
Member
From: A bar near you
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 310

Re: why no kde on arch iso

Also, one of Arch's strong points and probably the strongest one is that Arch do not relies on releases.  The CD releases only bring new features or fixes to the installation process, and the current base packages at the moment of release.  Since Arch is a install once, update forever distribution which relies on a fast Internet Connection it do not make much sence in providing a non Internet installation method.

And if you can't use pacman, then why you want Arch on the first place.  A multi disk or DVD distribution will work better for your needs (no network, everything on disk).

Offline

#18 2005-04-29 22:17:45

polarrr
Member
Registered: 2004-09-12
Posts: 91

Re: why no kde on arch iso

I think if anything, it make more sense to include light weight WM(s) if someone wants WM included. At least that'll provide users a graphical environment to take care of little this and that, so simply install a web browser and surf the net while downloading larger DE(s).

Bloating is user's responsibility, not Arch's.

And if you can't use pacman, then why you want Arch on the first place.

True that.

Offline

#19 2005-04-29 22:29:51

deft
Member
Registered: 2005-03-14
Posts: 79

Re: why no kde on arch iso

fdrebin wrote:

why isn't there a version of kde included in the arch 0.7 iso and you have to download it by yourself...? don't get it.

Just as a more general point, it's worth noting also, that Arch's "minimalism" is one of the factors which attracts some people to it - often individuals are tired of "bloated" 3 or 4 cd distros, even taking into account that you can usually do custom installs with these - the nice thing about Arch is the you can start with a very minimal system and then have the ease and flexibility to add your own packages as you choose via pacman.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB