You are not logged in.

#1 2011-06-07 12:52:13

thiagoc
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2009-02-14
Posts: 33
Website

LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

Is anyone having this problem? I open some file in LibreOffice and after some minutes oosplash.bin begin eating 100% CPU. Killing the process solve the issue.

Offline

#2 2011-06-07 13:27:31

el mariachi
Member
Registered: 2007-11-30
Posts: 595

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

I do too.
Arch 64 with latest kernel from core

Offline

#3 2011-06-07 15:59:51

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 7,025

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

Noticed the same here. Someone should open a bug report.


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#4 2011-06-07 16:52:03

thiagoc
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2009-02-14
Posts: 33
Website

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

Done, ticket #24617.

Offline

#5 2011-06-07 17:32:16

metre
Member
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 130

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

meanwhile, I disabled the splash screen. It worked for me

Offline

#6 2011-06-16 14:51:40

jwhendy
Member
Registered: 2010-04-01
Posts: 586

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

Same problem here on 64bit. Not positive metre's solution will work (I manually killed the process and it didn't restart), but in the event it works and for those unfamiliar I used THIS to disable the splash screen. Namely, in /usr/lib/libreoffice/program/sofficerc, change:

Logo=1

to

Logo=0

Please feel free to offer an additional/better/preferred way if such a thing exists.

Offline

#7 2011-06-16 15:15:52

jaco
Member
From: Toulouse, France
Registered: 2011-03-17
Posts: 149

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

For my own, i've edited the /etc/libreoffice/sofficerc file... It's a configuration matter, after all...

Offline

#8 2011-06-17 10:44:20

metre
Member
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 130

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

jwhendy wrote:

Same problem here on 64bit. Not positive metre's solution will work (I manually killed the process and it didn't restart), but in the event it works and for those unfamiliar I used THIS to disable the splash screen. Namely, in /usr/lib/libreoffice/program/sofficerc, change:

Logo=1

to

Logo=0

Please feel free to offer an additional/better/preferred way if such a thing exists.

You're right, I did it: this is still working, for me, with the last update of LibreOffice on the official repository, called '3.4.1rc1-1' (http://www.archlinux.org/packages/testi … breoffice/)

Last edited by metre (2011-06-17 13:06:31)

Offline

#9 2011-06-17 12:25:27

longint
Member
Registered: 2011-06-15
Posts: 28

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

Same here (64bit), after setting Logo=0 the CPU is quiet now. But I still have this oosplash.bin and can see the logo when staring up libreoffice. What exactly is this option and this process doing?

Offline

#10 2011-06-17 13:06:33

eduardo.eae
Member
From: Reconquista - Argentina
Registered: 2010-01-24
Posts: 63

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

The right path would be /etc/libreoffice/sofficerc
Because the one in /usr is overwritten with an update

Offline

#11 2011-06-17 14:16:02

jwhendy
Member
Registered: 2010-04-01
Posts: 586

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

@eduardo.eae: oddly, I only changed the version in /usr/lib, but the one in /etc was already set to 0 (or set that way by changing /usr/lib?

Offline

#12 2011-06-17 17:05:02

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

[andyrtr@workstation64 ~]$ ls -lha /usr/lib/libreoffice/program/sofficerc
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 26 15. Jun 19:26 /usr/lib/libreoffice/program/sofficerc -> /etc/libreoffice/sofficerc

So both are under pacman backup control wink

Offline

#13 2011-06-21 16:15:06

mcrae
Member
From: Brunswick, GA
Registered: 2006-06-21
Posts: 88

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

I just noticed this problem - quick search and here is the answer - It's why I always end up back with Arch wink

Offline

#14 2011-06-21 18:52:59

3picide
Member
Registered: 2010-10-06
Posts: 6

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

mcrae wrote:

I just noticed this problem - quick search and here is the answer - It's why I always end up back with Arch wink

Not to get too OT, but I was just thinking the same thing. I recently started having this problem and decided to search around for solutions. It is causing my little netbook some serious trouble, and, since I bought the netbook for schoolwork, I can't just quit using LibreOffice on it.

It is always nice seeing other users with the same problems posting solutions. I love the Arch community just as much as I love Arch Linux, itself.

Back OT: the one in /usr was already set to 0, for me as well. Changing the one in /etc doesn't seem to change anything, though.

I tried running

lowriter --nologo

and I get two processes: 'oosplash.bin --writer --nologo' and 'soffice.bin --writer --nologo'. Sending SIGTERM to oosplash.bin doesn't close Writer. Not sure what the point of '--nologo' really was. Not sure if I still get the same 100% CPU usage, though.

Offline

#15 2011-06-28 21:14:44

derelict
Member
Registered: 2006-07-25
Posts: 81

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

Just found a potential solution for this here: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepor … =454539#10

Or I suppose we could just call /usr/lib/libreoffice/program/soffice.bin instead of /usr/lib/libreoffice/program/soffice. This does not execute the oosplash.bin process, but everything seems to work properly.

Offline

#16 2011-06-30 21:08:18

saedelaere
Member
Registered: 2009-04-24
Posts: 30

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

Thank you for the hint, great help!

Offline

#17 2011-07-12 23:10:24

atomisirsi
Member
Registered: 2011-03-18
Posts: 2

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

I found a second, even easier method, to temporarily avoid this problem:
http://blog.mitemitreski.com/

Just edit /etc/libreoffice/sofficerc and change Logo=1 to Logo=0.

Offline

#18 2011-11-08 23:41:28

slot
Member
Registered: 2008-09-08
Posts: 63

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

Here it is the soffice.bin that stalls libreoffice writer for up to 5 minutes at 100% CPU during loading of some documents the size of 1 - 10 MB. Removal of libreoffice-gnome, libreoffice-kde4 and libreoffice-extension-languagetool fixed that. I suspect it is the languagetool doing the mess. After that removal the memory used is cut to half.

Offline

#19 2012-01-19 19:36:20

gururise
Member
Registered: 2011-11-03
Posts: 24

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

slot wrote:

Here it is the soffice.bin that stalls libreoffice writer for up to 5 minutes at 100% CPU during loading of some documents the size of 1 - 10 MB. Removal of libreoffice-gnome, libreoffice-kde4 and libreoffice-extension-languagetool fixed that. I suspect it is the languagetool doing the mess. After that removal the memory used is cut to half.

Thank You. I've been having the problem of LibreOffice freezing once I start to type.  Checking top, I noticed soffice.bin at 100% cpu.  Been having this problem for weeks.  Finally found this thread, and removed libreoffice-extension-languagetool and now LibreOffice works fine!

Offline

#20 2012-01-25 17:10:16

Raistlfiren
Member
Registered: 2008-08-29
Posts: 8

Re: LibreOffice: oosplash.bin eating 100% CPU

slot wrote:

Here it is the soffice.bin that stalls libreoffice writer for up to 5 minutes at 100% CPU during loading of some documents the size of 1 - 10 MB. Removal of libreoffice-gnome, libreoffice-kde4 and libreoffice-extension-languagetool fixed that. I suspect it is the languagetool doing the mess. After that removal the memory used is cut to half.

Confirmed, this does indeed work! Thanks! smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB