You are not logged in.

#1 2005-05-05 15:47:31

Spider.007
Member
Registered: 2004-06-20
Posts: 1,175

update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

update_archISO.sh

update_archISO.png

I have completed work on a bash script that will update an existing archlinux_base iso file to current. It will download the base_packages list from the archlinux website; use pacman to download them and copy them to cd. It wil also update the kernels on cd, plus the kernels used to boot the CD itself. It wil also download the kernelsources of the provided kernels; and extract kconfig files lol Then it creates a new iso file.

Requirements:
* bash
* pacman
* wget
* root permissions
* mkisofs
* abs

Please post any bugs / feature requests in this topic. The script has NOT been extensively tested yet! But it bootes so might work too tongue

Offline

#2 2005-05-05 15:57:20

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

great job - just a *possible* feature request... what about adding packages to the CD repo - i.e.

update_archISO.sh --add kde,xfce

I wouldn't worry about size checking... just output "hey, this may be too big to fit on a CD - you installed to much crap!"

And another *possible* feature:

update_archISO.sh --mirror-current-install

to copy to the ISO all packages installed on the running system

these two features, plus the original script, would solve almost every problem people have with the arch install (why doesn't it have KDE on it? :cry:)

Offline

#3 2005-05-05 16:03:48

Spider.007
Member
Registered: 2004-06-20
Posts: 1,175

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Both features are relatively easy to implement. I will look at them and post any updates

Offline

#4 2005-05-05 20:56:58

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Would it be possible to have custom kernel version with this? Say for instance I patched the default Arch kernel to support reiser4 and want to have that used as the default kernel26 during installation, would that be possible? Maybe I'm asking too much as I'm not very good with script programming and don't know much about how your script works.

Great job! This script is a nice resource to have for anyone who does lots of installs and wants to minimize the amount of time spent downloading packages.

Offline

#5 2005-05-06 21:23:54

Spider.007
Member
Registered: 2004-06-20
Posts: 1,175

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Ok, an update. I have discovered some minor problems in this script which will prevent it from working. For example; I forgot to update current.db.tar.gz. I will however continue development as I see this script as useful. An updated (tested) script will appear soon; after that I will rewrite the entire script since it is getting too big

Ok, it is working now. I have a running system using my homemade iso 8) Check the updated script (link remains the same)

Offline

#6 2005-05-13 16:17:32

Beavis
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2005-01-01
Posts: 71

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

This script is brilliant, thanks very much.

I have one suggestion though, right at the end of the script when it downloads the kernel sources it always goes to the internet to retrieve it. Is there any possibility of having the script look in the users local Pacman cache (/var/cache/pacman/src) for the sources instead of going to the internet every time?

I'm always modding/updating my kernel and therefore have a variety of kernel sources in my Pacman cache. It would be great if it could just grab the sources there.

Offline

#7 2005-05-19 15:02:41

seba
Member
From: Villa Alemana, Chile
Registered: 2003-08-14
Posts: 23
Website

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Spider.007 wrote:

Both features are relatively easy to implement. I will look at them and post any updates

is ready the option to add a specific repo? to add kde an xorg to the iso?


Danielita I Love You So Much My Life
[code][segfault@biotec ~]$ cat /etc/arch-release
Arch Linux 0.7.2 (Gimmick)[/code]
Blog:http://segfault.kde.cl/blog

Offline

#8 2005-05-21 00:48:35

mattux
Member
Registered: 2004-04-22
Posts: 81

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

a great script but some things are wrong

first you should create a new folder (e.g. NEWISO/ ) and change into this
becouse if you run the script @ $HOME all things in $HOME are on the image

secoundly the script should use base and not the latest package in /var/chance/pacman/pkg/ (gcc 4.0.0-1 will be used instead of gcc 3.4.3-2) / i have  tried it but installed gcc 3.4.3 after some testing , the iso-image contain gcc 4.0.0-1...



mattux (bad english i know)

Offline

#9 2005-05-22 11:30:36

Spider.007
Member
Registered: 2004-06-20
Posts: 1,175

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

mattux wrote:

a great script but some things are wrong

first you should create a new folder (e.g. NEWISO/ ) and change into this
becouse if you run the script @ $HOME all things in $HOME are on the image

Well; you run the script in $HOME; if you run it in a dedicated folder all will go well smile

secoundly the script should use base and not the latest package in /var/chance/pacman/pkg/ (gcc 4.0.0-1 will be used instead of gcc 3.4.3-2) / i have  tried it but installed gcc 3.4.3 after some testing , the iso-image contain gcc 4.0.0-1...

When you delete the gcc-4 file from /var/cache/pacman this problem shouldn't occur. This will be fixed in the new version where you can override the full path smile

Offline

#10 2005-05-23 15:20:26

Pointer
Member
From: Hannover, Germany
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 39

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Thanks, this is a really useful script smile


[14:52] [sven@linux ~]$ dmesg
Jabber-ID: sven-schaefer@jabber.ccc.de

Offline

#11 2005-10-13 13:13:24

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,487

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Great.


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#12 2005-10-13 15:09:58

postlogic
Member
Registered: 2005-02-24
Posts: 410
Website

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

I second the question on how to use your own kernel.

Offline

#13 2005-10-16 17:13:47

postlogic
Member
Registered: 2005-02-24
Posts: 410
Website

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Will there be some option to have the update script use srcpac as well? As in, optionally.

ACK, double post :-|

Offline

#14 2005-10-28 15:47:39

Shofs
Member
From: Central Illinois
Registered: 2004-12-15
Posts: 184

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Is this really nesecary if you do an FTP install? I don't think it is, but an wondering. I guess if people cant install with any media besdies the CD this is good. Why hasn't 7.1 been released? I just thought it was because doing an FTP install would get you updated immediatly?

Offline

#15 2005-10-28 17:43:54

uberGeek
Member
From: Near Chicago
Registered: 2004-01-07
Posts: 65

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Nice work!

Thank you for your effort in developing this.


carb $ now; uname -a; uptime
Sun 03Jul11 14:54:25 CDT -0500
Linux carb 2.6.17-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Jul 7 09:15:53 CEST 2006 i686 Pentium III (Coppermine) GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
14:54:25 up 1463 days,  9:24,  1 user,  load average: 1.00, 1.00, 1.00

Offline

#16 2005-11-20 14:23:58

Spider.007
Member
Registered: 2004-06-20
Posts: 1,175

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

I am occasionally still working on this script, so I'll post an update now or then.

* rewritten everything
* fixed the 'problem' mattux experienced
* added funky colors and nice progress stuff
* starting working on simple custom packages. You can now specify custom packages for installation; but it is not yet working for kernels on bootup (it does for kernels used to install)

update_archISO-03.png
You need 2 files now:
http://archlinux.spider007.net/update_a … hISO-03.sh
http://archlinux.spider007.net/update_a … -03.config

Specify a local file as follows: group/path; so for example:
kernels/root/kernel26custom or base/home/username/bash

The custom kernel should have the same name as a normal package for the script to find it; '/root/kernel26custom-2.6.13.4-3.pkg.tar.gz' for example.

Comments welcome

Offline

#17 2005-11-21 04:50:01

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

woo!

Offline

#18 2005-11-21 09:07:28

Spider.007
Member
Registered: 2004-06-20
Posts: 1,175

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

phrakture wrote:

woo!

Thanks, I guess wink

All I need to do now is customize the kernellisting used for booting. However; I need some people to let me know if they will actually use this script, and what features you would like to be added smile

Offline

#19 2005-11-21 16:44:08

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Spider.007 wrote:
phrakture wrote:

woo!

Thanks, I guess wink

All I need to do now is customize the kernellisting used for booting. However; I need some people to let me know if they will actually use this script, and what features you would like to be added smile

yeah, sorry for my awesomely --no-verbose posting - I like this script alot and have used it a few times.  For a while I thought you had stopped messing with it - so I got excited when I saw the new post.

I try to point people here when they ask about updated ISOs, and will continue to do so - so thanks.

Offline

#20 2005-11-21 17:26:25

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

yeah, this script should actually be more prominently linked somewhere, seeing as those silly devs sometimes fall behind on their release schedule.

Dusty

Offline

#21 2005-12-14 06:11:21

nbcjr
Member
From: BRAZIL!
Registered: 2004-12-04
Posts: 79

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

the script's server is offline, any other place to get it?

Offline

#22 2005-12-14 07:28:21

nbcjr
Member
From: BRAZIL!
Registered: 2004-12-04
Posts: 79

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

server is back! i'm getting this:

[root@universo arch]# ./update_archISO-03.sh arch-0.7-base.iso update_archISO-03.config 
k:: Copy files from ISO                                                  [BUSY] mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop0,
       missing codepage or other error
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so

Offline

#23 2005-12-15 16:36:34

nbcjr
Member
From: BRAZIL!
Registered: 2004-12-04
Posts: 79

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

any help?

Offline

#24 2005-12-15 17:06:50

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

nbcjr wrote:
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so

What does that say when it happens?

Offline

#25 2005-12-15 17:47:28

nbcjr
Member
From: BRAZIL!
Registered: 2004-12-04
Posts: 79

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

phrakture wrote:
nbcjr wrote:
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so

What does that say when it happens?

[nbcjr@universo arch]$ sudo ./update_archISO-03.sh ./arch-0.7-base.iso update_archISO-03.config 
:: Copy files from ISO                                                   [BUSY] mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop0,
       missing codepage or other error
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so

                                                                         [FAIL] 
error in the mounting, copying and unmounting process
[nbcjr@universo arch]$ dmesg | tail       
usb 1-1: SN9C10[12] PC Camera Controller detected (vid/pid 0x0C45/0x6005)
usb 1-1: TAS5110C1B image sensor detected
usb 1-1: Initialization succeeded
usb 1-1: V4L2 device registered as /dev/video0
usb 1-1: Optional device control through 'sysfs' interface ready
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
eth0: no IPv6 routers present
attempt to access beyond end of device
loop0: rw=0, want=66, limit=3
isofs_fill_super: bread failed, dev=loop0, iso_blknum=16, block=32
[nbcjr@universo arch]$ 

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB