You are not logged in.

#1 2011-07-11 07:56:39

I am Gianluca
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2011-05-22
Posts: 195

[SOLVED] Cannot load the acerhdf module

Hi all,
I'm trying to load the acerhdf module that should control the fan-speed for my Acer 1810TZ. I'm following the README.txt and the ArchWiki but after have compiled and installed the module I'm not able to load it.

[gianluca@gianluca-laptop downloads]$ cd acerhdf_kmod && make
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.39-ARCH/build  SUBDIRS=/home/gianluca/downloads/acerhdf_kmod modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.39-ARCH'
  Building modules, stage 2.
  MODPOST 1 modules
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.39-ARCH'
[gianluca@gianluca-laptop acerhdf_kmod]$ sudo make install
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.39-ARCH/build  SUBDIRS=/home/gianluca/downloads/acerhdf_kmod modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.39-ARCH'
  Building modules, stage 2.
  MODPOST 1 modules
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.39-ARCH'
[ -d /lib/modules/2.6.39-ARCH/updates ] || mkdir /lib/modules/2.6.39-ARCH/updates
cp acerhdf.ko /lib/modules/2.6.39-ARCH/updates/
depmod -a
[gianluca@gianluca-laptop acerhdf_kmod]$ modprobe acerhdf
FATAL: Error inserting acerhdf (/lib/modules/2.6.39-ARCH/kernel/drivers/platform/x86/acerhdf.ko.gz): Operation not permitted
[gianluca@gianluca-laptop acerhdf_kmod]$ sudo modprobe acerhdf
FATAL: Error inserting acerhdf (/lib/modules/2.6.39-ARCH/kernel/drivers/platform/x86/acerhdf.ko.gz): Invalid argument

Besides, in the configuration file (the acerhdf.c file that you can find in the sources package) my BIOS (official Acer v1.3314 for the 1810TZ) is supported.
What am I doing wrong?
Thank you for your help,

Gianluca

Last edited by I am Gianluca (2011-07-13 20:17:43)


Laptop: Acer Aspire S3 | Linux Mint Cinnamon 64-bit

Offline

#2 2011-07-12 19:18:39

gadget3000
Member
Registered: 2010-05-11
Posts: 18

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot load the acerhdf module

Try using this package instead of building it yourself: http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=23686
When installing the package let it overwrite any existing files as these will all be files that you have created by building it yourself.

Offline

#3 2011-07-13 20:17:16

I am Gianluca
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2011-05-22
Posts: 195

Re: [SOLVED] Cannot load the acerhdf module

Thank you gadget3000 smile
It seems work perfecly now!


Laptop: Acer Aspire S3 | Linux Mint Cinnamon 64-bit

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB