You are not logged in.

#1 2005-05-11 14:58:37

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

My RAM sometimes fills up for no apparent reason

From time to time, my system's memory completely fills up, the load shoots up to around 20 and my disk starts trashing. This all lasts for about 3 minutes. After that, XMMS is killed and everything is back to normal.

I've had this happen to me a few times now, usually I'm doing nothing special at all: surfing or chatting and listening to music with XMMS.
This is what I have in my /var/log/messages about it:

May 11 16:49:54 ferro oom-killer: gfp_mask=0x1d2
May 11 16:49:55 ferro DMA per-cpu:
May 11 16:49:55 ferro cpu 0 hot: low 2, high 6, batch 1
May 11 16:49:55 ferro cpu 0 cold: low 0, high 2, batch 1
May 11 16:49:55 ferro Normal per-cpu:
May 11 16:49:55 ferro cpu 0 hot: low 32, high 96, batch 16
May 11 16:49:55 ferro cpu 0 cold: low 0, high 32, batch 16
May 11 16:49:55 ferro HighMem per-cpu: empty
May 11 16:49:55 ferro 
May 11 16:49:55 ferro Free pages:        5996kB (0kB HighMem)
May 11 16:49:55 ferro Active:59068 inactive:60708 dirty:0 writeback:0 unstable:0
 free:1499 slab:3397 mapped:119092 pagetables:675
May 11 16:49:55 ferro DMA free:2068kB min:88kB low:108kB high:132kB active:5396k
B inactive:4708kB present:16384kB pages_scanned:10700 all_unreclaimable? yes
May 11 16:49:55 ferro lowmem_reserve[]: 0 495 495
May 11 16:49:55 ferro Normal free:3928kB min:2804kB low:3504kB high:4204kB activ
e:230876kB inactive:238124kB present:507840kB pages_scanned:163638 all_unreclaim
able? no
May 11 16:49:55 ferro lowmem_reserve[]: 0 0 0
May 11 16:49:55 ferro HighMem free:0kB min:128kB low:160kB high:192kB active:0kB
 inactive:0kB present:0kB pages_scanned:0 all_unreclaimable? no
May 11 16:49:55 ferro lowmem_reserve[]: 0 0 0
May 11 16:49:55 ferro DMA: 1*4kB 0*8kB 3*16kB 1*32kB 1*64kB 1*128kB 1*256kB 1*51
2kB 1*1024kB 0*2048kB 0*4096kB = 2068kB
May 11 16:49:55 ferro Normal: 278*4kB 22*8kB 1*16kB 0*32kB 1*64kB 0*128kB 2*256k
B 0*512kB 0*1024kB 1*2048kB 0*4096kB = 3928kB
May 11 16:49:55 ferro HighMem: empty
May 11 16:49:55 ferro Swap cache: add 180584, delete 180584, find 92425/98198, r
ace 0+0
May 11 16:49:55 ferro Free swap  = 0kB
May 11 16:49:55 ferro Total swap = 489940kB
May 11 16:49:55 ferro oom-killer: gfp_mask=0x1d2
May 11 16:49:55 ferro DMA per-cpu:
May 11 16:49:55 ferro cpu 0 hot: low 2, high 6, batch 1
May 11 16:49:55 ferro cpu 0 cold: low 0, high 2, batch 1
May 11 16:49:55 ferro Normal per-cpu:
May 11 16:49:56 ferro cpu 0 hot: low 32, high 96, batch 16
May 11 16:49:56 ferro cpu 0 cold: low 0, high 32, batch 16
May 11 16:49:56 ferro HighMem per-cpu: empty
May 11 16:49:56 ferro 
May 11 16:49:56 ferro Free pages:        5356kB (0kB HighMem)
May 11 16:49:56 ferro Active:60120 inactive:59905 dirty:0 writeback:0 unstable:0
 free:1339 slab:3397 mapped:119090 pagetables:675
May 11 16:49:56 ferro DMA free:2068kB min:88kB low:108kB high:132kB active:5396k
B inactive:4708kB present:16384kB pages_scanned:10765 all_unreclaimable? yes
May 11 16:49:56 ferro lowmem_reserve[]: 0 495 495
May 11 16:49:56 ferro Normal free:3288kB min:2804kB low:3504kB high:4204kB activ
e:235084kB inactive:234912kB present:507840kB pages_scanned:691597 all_unreclaim
able? no
May 11 16:49:56 ferro lowmem_reserve[]: 0 0 0
May 11 16:49:56 ferro HighMem free:0kB min:128kB low:160kB high:192kB active:0kB
 inactive:0kB present:0kB pages_scanned:0 all_unreclaimable? no
May 11 16:49:56 ferro lowmem_reserve[]: 0 0 0
May 11 16:49:56 ferro DMA: 1*4kB 0*8kB 3*16kB 1*32kB 1*64kB 1*128kB 1*256kB 1*51
2kB 1*1024kB 0*2048kB 0*4096kB = 2068kB
May 11 16:49:56 ferro Normal: 116*4kB 23*8kB 1*16kB 0*32kB 1*64kB 0*128kB 2*256k
B 0*512kB 0*1024kB 1*2048kB 0*4096kB = 3288kB
May 11 16:49:56 ferro HighMem: empty
May 11 16:49:56 ferro Swap cache: add 180584, delete 180584, find 92425/98198, r
ace 0+0
May 11 16:49:56 ferro Free swap  = 0kB
May 11 16:49:56 ferro Total swap = 489940kB

I'm using a custom 2.6.11 kernel patched with Con Kolivas' ck3-patchset.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#2 2005-05-11 15:28:03

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: My RAM sometimes fills up for no apparent reason

hmmm, I know people have had resource issues with xmms
are you using the OSS output? try it with alsa output only...

Offline

#3 2005-05-11 17:44:12

kth5
Member
Registered: 2004-04-29
Posts: 655
Website

Re: My RAM sometimes fills up for no apparent reason

FUBAR wrote:

I'm using a custom 2.6.11 kernel patched with Con Kolivas' ck3-patchset.

if i were you i would have already tried to run one of the stock kernels or a completely unpatched kernel instead. most of the time that solves these kind of "problems". ;p


I recognize that while theory and practice are, in theory, the same, they are, in practice, different. -Mark Mitchell

Offline

#4 2005-05-12 00:24:32

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: My RAM sometimes fills up for no apparent reason

ck wouldnt be doing this, but either way, update to ck7

if it still remains report it on the mailing list, its on the CK website.

iphitus

Offline

#5 2005-05-12 09:45:20

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: My RAM sometimes fills up for no apparent reason

I'm using XMMS v1.2.10 with the ALSA output. I've been using the ck-patchset for a while and I've never had similar issues with it. I'll update my kernel as I think this problem was introduced when I started using the 2.6.11-kernel.

So the memory filling up is caused by XMMS?


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#6 2005-05-12 10:28:27

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: My RAM sometimes fills up for no apparent reason

Looked at the ps and top outputs to see where it appears to be going?

Offline

#7 2005-05-14 09:22:17

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: My RAM sometimes fills up for no apparent reason

I haven't, because it was impossible: when this happens the load shoots up to around 20 and there's nothing I can do for a few minutes. If I hit CTRL ALT F2, the computer switches to console after 30 seconds of lag, before I'm logged in everything is sorted out again.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#8 2005-05-14 10:13:01

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,017

Re: My RAM sometimes fills up for no apparent reason

You could set up htop or top on vc 11/12 in inittab. If it actually gets you to the login screen while it's still trashing, maybe you'll get some readable output out of (h)top on other vc ;-)

Offline

#9 2005-05-16 13:20:07

vipernicus
Member
From: IT Dept
Registered: 2005-05-10
Posts: 54
Website

Re: My RAM sometimes fills up for no apparent reason

FUBAR wrote:

I haven't, because it was impossible: when this happens the load shoots up to around 20 and there's nothing I can do for a few minutes. If I hit CTRL ALT F2, the computer switches to console after 30 seconds of lag, before I'm logged in everything is sorted out again.

Wow, that's messed up.  Try the newer 2.6.12-rc4-ck patch, it is really good.  You can also try fallow's low latency patch using newer versions of IngoSched:  http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-337682.html

Offline

#10 2005-05-16 13:39:17

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: My RAM sometimes fills up for no apparent reason

I have to admit it only happens a few times a month, so it's not really that big of a deal. But when it happens, it's really fscking annyoing for the 3 minutes it lasts. wink

I'll update my kernel to 2.6.12 as soon as it comes out. (Man I hate the new 2.x.y.z naming scheme!)


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB