You are not logged in.

#1 2011-08-01 05:52:08

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 996

[SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

I installed kde minimal by installing kdebase and phonon-gstreamer backend.
but now it seems i am getting stuck just after i login into kdm
Video here
http://www.youtube.com/user/venky80#p/a/u/0/4omyjHD9Zfs


DELL XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon  HD 3670. Arch Linux KDE Minimal Install

Offline

#2 2011-08-01 07:49:26

skunkos
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2011-06-20
Posts: 38
Website

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

Are logs saying anything about that?

Try to log to terminal (ctrl+alt+f1) before logging via KDM and check logs.

Last edited by skunkos (2011-08-01 07:50:38)

Offline

#3 2011-08-01 10:32:55

mkkot
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-12-20
Posts: 196
Website

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

Offline

#4 2011-08-02 22:10:28

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 996

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

I tied the solution listed in the wiki and it did not work. Also i have a HD 3670 mobility radeon which is r600 card and not an nvidia.
Do you have any other suggestions?


DELL XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon  HD 3670. Arch Linux KDE Minimal Install

Offline

#5 2011-08-03 22:19:32

mkkot
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-12-20
Posts: 196
Website

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

Please show ~/.xsession-errors

Offline

#6 2011-08-29 17:49:55

praveenthivari
Member
Registered: 2011-08-29
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

I too have the exact problem with kdebase installation. The above said solution doesn't work. Is there other way to start kde? Xfce doesn't seem to be having any problem.

Offline

#7 2011-08-29 23:17:14

George
Member
Registered: 2011-05-11
Posts: 165

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

AFAICT from various threads I've seen around here, there's some un-documented dependency between the kde packages, if you've got the space/bandwidth try installing all of kde to see if that works.

Offline

#8 2011-08-30 15:13:56

praveenthivari
Member
Registered: 2011-08-29
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

Exactly, I did kde-meta installation and it works fine and now I am trying to uninstall all those xtra files. Any way I dont know which file is missing from kdebase which prevents loading the desktop.

Offline

#9 2011-08-30 15:14:59

praveenthivari
Member
Registered: 2011-08-29
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

Almost I have uninstalled everything and only thing which remains is qt, avahi, akonadi.

Offline

#10 2011-08-30 16:39:30

gerald82
Member
From: The known universe
Registered: 2011-03-25
Posts: 60

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

praveenthivari wrote:

Almost I have uninstalled everything and only thing which remains is qt, avahi, akonadi.

I have the same error on a newly installed Arch VirtualBox image. kdebase is installed, as well as akonadi. Tried installing avahi, but to no avail.
Qt comes as a dependency for KDE anyway ;-)

Offline

#11 2011-08-30 17:02:42

gerald82
Member
From: The known universe
Registered: 2011-03-25
Posts: 60

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

OK, I have cleared the .xsession-errors in that VM for user 'test', and tried logging on.
This is how the .xsession-errors looks like now:

startkde: Starting up...
Connecting to deprecated signal QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QString,QString,QString)
kbuildsycoca4 running...
kded(794) LayoutMemoryPersister::restoreFromFile: Failed to open layout memory xml file for reading "/home/test/.kde4/share/apps/kded/session/keyboard/layout_memory.xml" error: 5 
kded(794)/kdecore (KConfigSkeleton) KCoreConfigSkeleton::writeConfig:
No outputs have backlight property
QDBusConnection: name 'org.kde.kglobalaccel' had owner '' but we thought it was ':1.5'
kded(794) PowerDevilUPowerBackend::brightness: org.kde.powerdevil.backlighthelper.brightness failed 
Object::connect: No such signal QDBusAbstractInterface::Changed()
Invalid D-BUS member name 'idle-hint' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
Invalid D-BUS member name 'is-local' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
Invalid D-BUS member name 'x11-display-device' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
Invalid D-BUS member name 'x11-display' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
Invalid D-BUS member name 'display-device' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
Invalid D-BUS member name 'remote-host-name' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
Invalid D-BUS member name 'session-type' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
Invalid D-BUS member name 'unix-user' found in interface 'org.freedesktop.ConsoleKit.Session' while parsing introspection
QDBusObjectPath: invalid path ""
QDBusObjectPath: invalid path ""
X Error: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation) 2
  Major opcode: 53 (X_CreatePixmap)
  Resource id:  0x0
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Major opcode: 14 (X_GetGeometry)
  Resource id:  0x1e00142
X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
  Major opcode: 3 (X_GetWindowAttributes)
  Resource id:  0x1011d40
QPainter::begin: Cannot paint on a null pixmap
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Extension:    149 (RENDER)
  Minor opcode: 4 (RenderCreatePicture)
  Resource id:  0x1e00142
X Error: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation) 2
  Major opcode: 53 (X_CreatePixmap)
  Resource id:  0x0
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Major opcode: 14 (X_GetGeometry)
  Resource id:  0x1e00144
X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
  Major opcode: 3 (X_GetWindowAttributes)
  Resource id:  0x1011d40
QPainter::begin: Cannot paint on a null pixmap
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Extension:    149 (RENDER)
  Minor opcode: 4 (RenderCreatePicture)
  Resource id:  0x1e00144
X Error: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation) 2
  Major opcode: 53 (X_CreatePixmap)
  Resource id:  0x0
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Major opcode: 14 (X_GetGeometry)
  Resource id:  0x1e00146
X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
  Major opcode: 3 (X_GetWindowAttributes)
  Resource id:  0x1011d40
QPainter::begin: Cannot paint on a null pixmap
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Extension:    149 (RENDER)
  Minor opcode: 4 (RenderCreatePicture)
  Resource id:  0x1e00146
X Error: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation) 2
  Major opcode: 53 (X_CreatePixmap)
  Resource id:  0x0
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Major opcode: 14 (X_GetGeometry)
  Resource id:  0x1e00148
X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
  Major opcode: 3 (X_GetWindowAttributes)
  Resource id:  0x1011d40
QPainter::begin: Cannot paint on a null pixmap
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Extension:    149 (RENDER)
  Minor opcode: 4 (RenderCreatePicture)
  Resource id:  0x1e00148
X Error: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation) 2
  Major opcode: 53 (X_CreatePixmap)
  Resource id:  0x0
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Major opcode: 14 (X_GetGeometry)
  Resource id:  0x1e0014a
X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
  Major opcode: 3 (X_GetWindowAttributes)
  Resource id:  0x1011d40
QPainter::begin: Cannot paint on a null pixmap
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Extension:    149 (RENDER)
  Minor opcode: 4 (RenderCreatePicture)
  Resource id:  0x1e0014a
X Error: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation) 2
  Major opcode: 53 (X_CreatePixmap)
  Resource id:  0x0
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Major opcode: 14 (X_GetGeometry)
  Resource id:  0x1e0014c
X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
  Major opcode: 3 (X_GetWindowAttributes)
  Resource id:  0x1011d40
QPainter::begin: Cannot paint on a null pixmap
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Extension:    149 (RENDER)
  Minor opcode: 4 (RenderCreatePicture)
  Resource id:  0x1e0014c
X Error: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation) 2
  Major opcode: 53 (X_CreatePixmap)
  Resource id:  0x0
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Major opcode: 14 (X_GetGeometry)
  Resource id:  0x1e0014e
X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
  Major opcode: 3 (X_GetWindowAttributes)
  Resource id:  0x1011d40
QPainter::begin: Cannot paint on a null pixmap
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Extension:    149 (RENDER)
  Minor opcode: 4 (RenderCreatePicture)
  Resource id:  0x1e0014e
X Error: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation) 2
  Major opcode: 53 (X_CreatePixmap)
  Resource id:  0x0
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Major opcode: 14 (X_GetGeometry)
  Resource id:  0x1e00150
X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
  Major opcode: 3 (X_GetWindowAttributes)
  Resource id:  0x1011d40
QPainter::begin: Cannot paint on a null pixmap
X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) 9
  Extension:    149 (RENDER)
  Minor opcode: 4 (RenderCreatePicture)
  Resource id:  0x1e00150
Object::connect: No such signal QDBusAbstractInterface::Changed()
Object::connect: No such signal KWindowSystem::windowChanged(WId,unsigned long*)

This is from a single try, i.e. as clean as possible, but as complete as necessary (I hope).

Offline

#12 2011-08-31 13:18:53

praveenthivari
Member
Registered: 2011-08-29
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

Unfortunately I cannot understand the coding language. :-)

If someone who can make out wat the error is and point it out would be really helpful. Thankyou

Offline

#13 2011-08-31 14:17:57

George
Member
Registered: 2011-05-11
Posts: 165

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

gerald82; Can you check kdebase-workspace is installed and if not re-install and retest.
EDIT:Whoops just checked the dependencies more carefully, it its not there then theres a major pacman bug which I don't think would have been missed upto now.

Could you try copying a home folder from a known working kde install to a new user on a system with a minimal kde install, I'm wondering if there's something odd happening during the first time kde is loaded.

Last edited by George (2011-08-31 14:23:56)

Offline

#14 2011-08-31 15:00:52

gerald82
Member
From: The known universe
Registered: 2011-03-25
Posts: 60

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

I just just installed the kde package (i.e. all of KDE). As reported by others, the login then worked.
Then I uninstalled the kde package after which I reinstalled the kdebase package.
The login still works.

@George:
OK, I read your post only after having the issue solved locally for my VM. However, I made a snapshot beforehand. I will revert to the snapshot and see.
Edit: Before doing so - I just created a new user and tried KDE login. Also worked successfully, even when this user never had a login with a complete KDE installation.

Last edited by gerald82 (2011-08-31 15:08:46)

Offline

#15 2011-08-31 15:19:16

gerald82
Member
From: The known universe
Registered: 2011-03-25
Posts: 60

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

George wrote:

gerald82; Can you check kdebase-workspace is installed and if not re-install and retest.
EDIT:Whoops just checked the dependencies more carefully, it its not there then theres a major pacman bug which I don't think would have been missed upto now.

OK, I reverted the VM to the snapshot before installing a complete KDE, i.e. only kdebase installed. The kdebase-workspace package is installed in that state. I reinstalled it but this didn't help.

Offline

#16 2011-08-31 23:01:09

George
Member
Registered: 2011-05-11
Posts: 165

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

gerald82;
Thanks, I'll try some experiments with my own VM at some point to try and establish whats going on, if you try anything else please keep us posted, I'll do the same so that we don't duplicate effort, since it appears that this is going to take a lot to track down.

Offline

#17 2011-09-01 20:58:44

gerald82
Member
From: The known universe
Registered: 2011-03-25
Posts: 60

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

Will do, George.
Once this is solved I think I'm also gonna provide the VM for download.
After all, I wish I got a basic Arch-KDE installation as a ready-to-use Appliance in the first place.

Anyone knows a suitable file hoster for this? I know only filedropper.com, but never tested that.

Offline

#18 2011-09-01 21:38:36

davidgurvich
Member
Registered: 2010-02-11
Posts: 118

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

Have you enabled dbus in DAEMONS?  That's an easy one to forget.

Offline

#19 2011-09-01 22:05:42

gerald82
Member
From: The known universe
Registered: 2011-03-25
Posts: 60

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

davidgurvich wrote:

Have you enabled dbus in DAEMONS?  That's an easy one to forget.

Indeed, davidgurvich. Yes, dbus gets loaded at boot. Even tried to add the user to the dbus group temporarily.
This really seems to be a wrong dependency in kdebase.
Help appreciated, thank you, davidgurvich

Offline

#20 2011-09-01 22:07:31

George
Member
Registered: 2011-05-11
Posts: 165

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

I've been doing some testing today, and it appears to be something to do with setting up the user's settings on first login. If I do a minimal install of kde (pacman -S kdebase) it behaves as described above, if however I copy the home dir contents from another user which has logged in once to a full kde install on another vm (same username, UID and groups) I can log in sucessfully.

One observation I'd like someone who still has this problem to confirm is that if I look at top when the new user is (unsucessfully) trying to login then X is taking up ~99% of the CPU.

davidgurvich;
dbus doesn't seem to affect this one, thats one thing I tested and not enabling dbus made no difference to whether the login was sucessfull.

Offline

#21 2011-09-01 22:12:40

gerald82
Member
From: The known universe
Registered: 2011-03-25
Posts: 60

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

George wrote:

I've been doing some testing today, and it appears to be something to do with setting up the user's settings on first login. If I do a minimal install of kde (pacman -S kdebase) it behaves as described above, if however I copy the home dir contents from another user which has logged in once to a full kde install on another vm (same username, UID and groups) I can log in sucessfully.

One observation I'd like someone who still has this problem to confirm is that if I look at top when the new user is (unsucessfully) trying to login then X is taking up ~99% of the CPU.

That is contrary to post #14. I've tested a new user account on that and it worked.
I'm gonna retry and see the CPU load this time.

Offline

#22 2011-09-01 22:27:23

George
Member
Registered: 2011-05-11
Posts: 165

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

gerald82 wrote:
George wrote:

I've been doing some testing today, and it appears to be something to do with setting up the user's settings on first login. If I do a minimal install of kde (pacman -S kdebase) it behaves as described above, if however I copy the home dir contents from another user which has logged in once to a full kde install on another vm (same username, UID and groups) I can log in sucessfully.

One observation I'd like someone who still has this problem to confirm is that if I look at top when the new user is (unsucessfully) trying to login then X is taking up ~99% of the CPU.

That is contrary to post #14. I've tested a new user account on that and it worked.
I'm gonna retry and see the CPU load this time.

Could you backup a home dir which has had a successful kde login and see if a new user with that restored is able to login when others without a previous login are getting the splash screen hang?

Just to be sure, are you certain that you removed all the packages that had been installed as dependancies of the kde group when you trimmed the system back before post #14.

Offline

#23 2011-09-06 17:36:44

remeh
Member
Registered: 2011-08-11
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

Hi,

Same problem here with the kdebase-workspace minimal installation. Nothing happened at the end of the login (at the K blue icon) and a plasma-desktop process is using 100% of the CPU.

Installing all the packages (pacman -S kde) seems to fix it. (fresh Arch setup on a Toshiba R830)

Offline

#24 2011-09-14 15:16:16

HirnBrot
Member
Registered: 2010-09-22
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

Hi,

I seemed to have the same problem but I think I have it cornered:
I think the missing package was "ttf-dejavu" (or maybe just a ttf-font package).
(Maybe it was even the font database regenerating that ttf-packages usually do (in the post_install function in the .install file)
Could someone else try that please?

Offline

#25 2011-09-14 18:17:46

jayesh.badwaik90
Member
Registered: 2011-09-10
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] KDE hangs after KDM login

BINGO....
just tested... on a clean install without any hack...
without ttf-dejavu... system hangs...
with ttf-dejavu it doesn't hang...

Inference:
it is (absence of ) ttf-dejavu package which hangs up the system.

BTW: I use Nvidia card and nouveau drivers so i don't know for ATI ....

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB