You are not logged in.

#1 2011-08-04 19:20:07

nicholma

I can find a mpd client I really like...

You can skip this paragraph. As this is my first post I feel the need to introduce myself: Engineernig stuent who has taken a late calling in life to be a computer nerd. I have been using linux for maybe 6 months, last two months I have been using Arch. I consider myslef a Newb but I think I am learning quickly enough (I have a good firend who helps me) resently desided that Computer Engineering could be fun. I have finished first year of a common entry course, for the first years we cover some civil, mechanical, electrical and computer engineer. So have 12 weeks of C++ lectures.

Okay, my introduction is done. I haven't found an graphical mpd client which I love. I currently use ncmpcpp. But I miss browsing music by album art work like iTunes or Windows mediaplayer or banshee. I am not aloud to use banshee (jk a friends hate it because it is written in C#, but I like the idea of mpd) I know gmpd has a plugin which I tried  but it isn't perfect. I have tried a handful of clients: gmpc, ario, sonata, quimup, qtmpc and gmpdclient.

I have come to the conclusion that I should write my own client. I know there are libraries for controling mpd so it is not like I have to start from scratch. I am think of using Qt and C++. I hope to get something that look similar to itunes or banshee, with a grid of album cover. I love the look of google music

So, Any advice?
What mpd clients do you use? Any with album cover?
Any advice to someone who is getting started with Qt?
Can it be done? (I believe it can be but may just take more work than I anticipate)
When I start work properly I will come back to this post and look for help, so subscribe if your interested/ can offer help in the future.