You are not logged in.

#1 2003-09-13 06:49:40

MNKyDeth

cd-rom can't read music cd's?

Well, let me just say I am new to linux in general and even more new to Arch linux. I did mange my way through the install of Arch Linux with the help of someone. I learned alot from that experience, but since I am still new there are still a few things I bump into here and there that give me problems.

My problem is my cd-rom does not read music cd's of any kind. Wether they are burned or original discs. It does read game discs and data discs just fine though. I installed my setup from a base-cd install and added the packages I wanted. I went with KDE as my gui and have minimal other packages installed. I have kdebase, kdeadmin, kdeutils, kdemultimedia and kdenetwork. I also have xmms installed because I thought that the kde cd-player just wasn't working right.

Well, this is the error I get...

[anvildemon@speedphreak anvildemon]$ mount /dev/cdroms/cdrom0
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/cdroms/cdrom0,
       or too many mounted file systems
[anvildemon@speedphreak anvildemon]$

Like I said, this only happens with music cd's. All my game cd's and data cd's are read without a problem. Any ideas are greatly appreciated.

#2 2003-09-13 07:43:17

sarah31
Website

Re: cd-rom can't read music cd's?

well music cds don't have a filesystem that is why they cannot be mounted in the "traditional" way. basically you just put them in launch the cdplayer you are using and thats it.

now to set xmms up to play cds:

launch xmms

right click on the title bar and this should give you a pop-up menu

go to options then choose preferences

the "Audio I/O Plugins" tab should be at the front of the selections click on "CD Audio Player 1.2.8 [libcdaudio.so]"

then click on configure

device should be: /dev/cdroms/cdrom0
directory should be : /mnt/cd

for playmode i have analog and for volume control i have OSS Mixer selected.

the rest is self explanatory i think.