You are not logged in.

#1 2011-08-21 14:59:02

ibrunton

[solved, apparently] gcc linking: multiple definitions of symbols

I'm new to make and I'm trying to figure out how to write makefiles. I've got a simple "Hello, World" program in a file called hello.c, which contains nothing but this:

#include <stdio.h>

int main (int argc, char *argv[])
{
  printf ("Hello, world\n");
  return 0;
}

I have a makefile which contains only this:

all: bkf

bkf: hello.o
	gcc hello.o -o bkf

hello.o: hello.c
	gcc -Wall hello.c -o hello.o

clean:
	rm -rf *.o

Running "make hello.o" works, running "make clean" works, but just "make" returns this:

hello.o: In function `_start':
(.text+0x0): multiple definition of `_start'
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/4.6.1/../../../../lib/crt1.o:(.text+0x0): first defined here
hello.o: In function `_fini':
(.fini+0x0): multiple definition of `_fini'
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/4.6.1/../../../../lib/crti.o:initfini.c:(.fini+0x0): first defined here
hello.o:(.rodata+0x0): multiple definition of `_IO_stdin_used'
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/4.6.1/../../../../lib/crt1.o:(.rodata.cst4+0x0): first defined here
hello.o: In function `__data_start':
(.data+0x0): multiple definition of `__data_start'
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/4.6.1/../../../../lib/crt1.o:(.data+0x0): first defined here
hello.o: In function `__data_start':
(.data+0x8): multiple definition of `__dso_handle'
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/4.6.1/crtbegin.o:(.data+0x0): first defined here
hello.o: In function `_init':
(.init+0x0): multiple definition of `_init'
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/4.6.1/../../../../lib/crti.o:initfini.c:(.init+0x0): first defined here
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu/4.6.1/crtend.o:(.dtors+0x0): multiple definition of `__DTOR_END__'
hello.o:(.dtors+0x8): first defined here
/usr/bin/ld: warning: Cannot create .eh_frame_hdr section, --eh-frame-hdr ignored.