You are not logged in.

#651 2012-06-26 23:06:39

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

mrmylanman wrote:

That did it.  Thanks a million!

Great to hear that. Then gnome-common should be added to makedepends.

Offline

#652 2012-06-26 23:14:59

mrmylanman
Member
From: Altamonte Springs, FL, USA
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 178

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I guess if anyone is going to find breakage in the PKGBUILDs it'd be me at this point since I did not come from Gnome, just a minimal XFCE environment.


Arch user since 2011-03-13

Thinkpad X220 Intel Core i7-2640M CPU, 16GB DDR3-1333 RAM, 160GB Intel SATA II SSD & 60GB OCZ mSATA SSD, 12.5" IPS 1366x768 Display, 6-cell Battery
(Installation date:  2012-03-19)

Offline

#653 2012-06-28 16:28:21

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

the unity PKGBUILD is missing the libxfixes-ubuntu dependency... I forgot to install it and unity failed to build...
after installing, unity compiled fine...

//EDIT: also, indicator-datetime is missing libido dependency...
//EDIT2: And compizconfig-backend-gconf or the kde backend are needed by compiz, but not in its dependencies...

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-06-28 20:25:20)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#654 2012-06-29 16:12:10

big_bum
Member
From: Bucharest,Romania,Europe,World
Registered: 2011-08-29
Posts: 47

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

exapplegeek wrote:

I downloaded the repo through browser, and installed it manually.
Here are some bugs that I found:
http://i47.tinypic.com/2wgxhnb.png

1. The volume is not muted, but it shows like it is muted.
2. There is no global menu.

I have almost the same problem. Time is not showing, no globalmenu, sound works, but "stuck" (changing the sound volume doesn't change the sound icon)
Unity installed today from repo, x86_64 version.

Screenshot%20from%202012-06-29%2018%3A48%3A409.png

Last edited by big_bum (2012-06-29 16:14:45)

Offline

#655 2012-06-29 16:17:25

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

big_bum wrote:
exapplegeek wrote:

I downloaded the repo through browser, and installed it manually.
Here are some bugs that I found:
http://i47.tinypic.com/2wgxhnb.png

1. The volume is not muted, but it shows like it is muted.
2. There is no global menu.

I have almost the same problem. Time is not showing, no globalmenu, sound works, but "stuck" (changing the sound volume doesn't change the sound icon)
Unity installed today from repo, x86_64 version.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/24870763/Scree … %3A409.png

I doubt that it can be solved soon since ubuntu 12.04 is still using dbus 1.4.18.
A possible workaround is ignoring all updates related to dbus.

Offline

#656 2012-06-29 17:04:16

big_bum
Member
From: Bucharest,Romania,Europe,World
Registered: 2011-08-29
Posts: 47

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Well, I've downgraded dbus and dbus-core to 1.4.20 and solved the problem with menu and sound. The time still works by just showing "Time" and now Guake doesn't start anymore, but it must be another problem, not unity and dbus related.
It's nice to know that it's "Time" tough.

LE: Fixed probmlem with guake by downgrading guake dbus-glib python2-dbus and python-dbus-common

Oh and as a info: unity-lens-video just updated 2 hours ago on Launchpad.

Last edited by big_bum (2012-06-29 19:00:42)

Offline

#657 2012-07-06 22:34:59

santodelaespada
Member
Registered: 2009-04-15
Posts: 50

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Since it requires gtk and qt versions patched from ubuntu, Can they and unity be compiled as a static package?
My idea is making a fully independent unity2d package, so y can still use archlinux official qt package for everthing else.
Is anybody wiling to do it?. I must say I can't do it my self for lack of knowledge

Offline

#658 2012-07-06 22:58:05

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Sorry for replying so late, everyone. The Arch forums stopped sending me notifications sad

I've been wanting to do an update of all the packages for a while, but haven't had a chance to. Unfortunately, it might be pushed back even more. I waiting to get the motherboard for my Lenovo W520 fixed for the 4th time.

Again, sorry for the delays. I'll try to push new updates as soon as I can smile

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2012-07-06 22:58:57)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#659 2012-07-11 15:35:30

exapplegeek
Member
From: Macedonia
Registered: 2012-06-24
Posts: 36

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

How can I remove unity and restore the original packages? Can anyone make a list of what packages should I install and which to remove?


Soli Deo Gloria!
I Stand Up For Christ! Do you?
________________________
Always have your stuff when you need it with Dropbox. Sign up for free (under my referral link)! http://db.tt/3rOCPK4r

Offline

#660 2012-07-12 01:31:59

forbidden404
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2012-06-23
Posts: 4

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

exapplegeek wrote:

How can I remove unity and restore the original packages? Can anyone make a list of what packages should I install and which to remove?

There's a list of dependencies in README, if you want to get rid of Unity, you must take off unity/unity-2d and reinstall all *-ubuntu, but now the oficial one

Last edited by forbidden404 (2012-07-12 01:42:27)

Offline

#661 2012-07-12 16:53:28

OakRaider4Life
Member
Registered: 2012-02-08
Posts: 98

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

exapplegeek wrote:

How can I remove unity and restore the original packages? Can anyone make a list of what packages should I install and which to remove?

Removing the Unity packages flat out will break the hell out of your system, so I'd imagine the best way to go is to reinstall base and base-devel to take care of the conflicting packages, and from there run the same command run for the install operation, but just for a removal instead.

pacman -Rs $(pacman -Sql unity)

Offline

#662 2012-07-13 13:03:35

kuglee
Member
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 61

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I've done a fresh install, and now I can't compile nux.
http://pastebin.com/Exa5gmHT

Offline

#663 2012-07-13 14:17:04

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
ElderSnake wrote:

As for the indicator thing, thats okay, guess its one of those little "teething" things we have to make do with big_smile it was annoying at first because Pidgin has no where to dock (as it doesnt seem to intergrate with the messenging menu, although the Status changer does work). But Pidgin runs fine if i just minimize it to the dash.

Actually, I just remembered that there was a post on WebUpd8 that gave a command which allows any program to use the tray. The command is:

gsettings set com.canonical.Unity.Panel systray-whitelist "['all']"

The original article is here: http://www.webupd8.org/2011/04/how-to-r … -area.html

I just found out that pidgin-libnotify-notify-osd doesn't work properly. New messages never show up in notify area.

Offline

#664 2012-07-13 16:57:17

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

kuglee wrote:

I've done a fresh install, and now I can't compile nux.
http://pastebin.com/Exa5gmHT

I'll need to recompile the bundled gcc46. I'll push an update in a little bit smile

Btw, Unity is affected by this problem too.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#665 2012-07-13 18:57:41

kuglee
Member
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 61

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
kuglee wrote:

I've done a fresh install, and now I can't compile nux.
http://pastebin.com/Exa5gmHT

I'll need to recompile the bundled gcc46. I'll push an update in a little bit smile

Btw, Unity is affected by this problem too.

Thanks!

Offline

#666 2012-07-14 06:04:00

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

kuglee wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:
kuglee wrote:

I've done a fresh install, and now I can't compile nux.
http://pastebin.com/Exa5gmHT

I'll need to recompile the bundled gcc46. I'll push an update in a little bit smile

Btw, Unity is affected by this problem too.

Thanks!

You're welcome!

I've just pushed the updates, so nux and Unity should build now. If it warns you about some sha512sum error, just remove the old 'gcc46-4.6.3-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz' or 'gcc46-4.6.3-1-i686.pkg.tar.xz' file smile

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2012-07-14 06:04:21)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#667 2012-07-15 15:59:18

pekmop1024
Member
From: Kiev/Feodosia
Registered: 2010-04-21
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong, there is something wrong with utouch-* PKGBUILDs.
May be changed a structure of project on launchpad, when it tries to download sources, I have only 404 error.


ArchLinux x86_64 (desktop): i7 970@4.3GHz - 24GB - GTX680 DirectCU II TOP - Crucial M4 128GB - 3x2TB Seagate - Creative X-Fi Platinum - Zalman ZM1000HP
ArchLinux i686 PAE (passive cooled): i3 540 - 4GB - GT610 Silent - Crucial M4 64GB - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
ArchLinux i686 (HTPC): Core 2 Duo E6400 - 2GB - GT520 Silent - 80GB Seagate

Offline

#668 2012-07-15 17:02:56

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

pekmop1024 wrote:

chenxiaolong, there is something wrong with utouch-* PKGBUILDs.
May be changed a structure of project on launchpad, when it tries to download sources, I have only 404 error.

This seems to only occur with utouch-evemu. I'm not sure if someone accidentally deleted the https://launchpad.net/utouch-evemu page. I'll modify the PKGBUILD to download the sources from Ubuntu's repository.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#669 2012-07-15 22:55:14

Stonebone
Member
From: Göteborg, Sweden
Registered: 2005-07-03
Posts: 11
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

This seems to only occur with utouch-evemu. I'm not sure if someone accidentally deleted the https://launchpad.net/utouch-evemu page. I'll modify the PKGBUILD to download the sources from Ubuntu's repository.

Has it been renamed to simply evemu? https://launchpad.net/evemu

Offline

#670 2012-07-16 10:41:24

pekmop1024
Member
From: Kiev/Feodosia
Registered: 2010-04-21
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

This seems to only occur with utouch-evemu. I'm not sure if someone accidentally deleted the https://launchpad.net/utouch-evemu page. I'll modify the PKGBUILD to download the sources from Ubuntu's repository.

thanks, all ok now.
there is also mistype in xorg PKGBUILD with patch file name


ArchLinux x86_64 (desktop): i7 970@4.3GHz - 24GB - GTX680 DirectCU II TOP - Crucial M4 128GB - 3x2TB Seagate - Creative X-Fi Platinum - Zalman ZM1000HP
ArchLinux i686 PAE (passive cooled): i3 540 - 4GB - GT610 Silent - Crucial M4 64GB - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
ArchLinux i686 (HTPC): Core 2 Duo E6400 - 2GB - GT520 Silent - 80GB Seagate

Offline

#671 2012-07-16 16:31:50

kuglee
Member
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 61

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

For some reason the global-menu only displays the window titles and the buttons, but not the menubar. Also some indicators are not starting. I've recompiled, reinstalled the packages, I've also deleted all the settings as suggested in the Readme.

Offline

#672 2012-07-16 16:34:28

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

kuglee wrote:

For some reason the global-menu only displays the window titles and the buttons, but not the menubar. Also some indicators are not starting. I've recompiled, reinstalled the packages, I've also deleted all the settings as suggested in the Readme.

Please downgrade all of the packages related to dbus, namely dbus, dbus-core, dbus-glib, python-dbus-common, python2-dbus.

Offline

#673 2012-07-16 19:05:47

pekmop1024
Member
From: Kiev/Feodosia
Registered: 2010-04-21
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Today http://unity.xe-xe.org repo was rebuilt with an actual Arch package versions.


ArchLinux x86_64 (desktop): i7 970@4.3GHz - 24GB - GTX680 DirectCU II TOP - Crucial M4 128GB - 3x2TB Seagate - Creative X-Fi Platinum - Zalman ZM1000HP
ArchLinux i686 PAE (passive cooled): i3 540 - 4GB - GT610 Silent - Crucial M4 64GB - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
ArchLinux i686 (HTPC): Core 2 Duo E6400 - 2GB - GT520 Silent - 80GB Seagate

Offline

#674 2012-07-16 20:21:59

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Stonebone wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

This seems to only occur with utouch-evemu. I'm not sure if someone accidentally deleted the https://launchpad.net/utouch-evemu page. I'll modify the PKGBUILD to download the sources from Ubuntu's repository.

Has it been renamed to simply evemu? https://launchpad.net/evemu

You're right smile I'll rename the packages once Ubuntu and/or other distros do to prevent packages from breaking.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#675 2012-07-16 20:22:39

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

pekmop1024 wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

This seems to only occur with utouch-evemu. I'm not sure if someone accidentally deleted the https://launchpad.net/utouch-evemu page. I'll modify the PKGBUILD to download the sources from Ubuntu's repository.

thanks, all ok now.
there is also mistype in xorg PKGBUILD with patch file name

I've fixed the typo in the xorg-server-ubuntu PKGBUILD smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB