You are not logged in.

#1126 2012-10-04 10:04:40

b9anders
Member
Registered: 2007-11-07
Posts: 681

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I can report that neither photo nor music lens work for me either. They worked in the past. Some upgrade somewhere must have broken it.

and +1 on how to get more lenses.

Offline

#1127 2012-10-05 06:30:57

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

Here is a list of things that are working in Fedora 18 Alpha with GNOME 3.6 (and also Arch when GNOME 3.6 lands):

* LightDM guest session (fiddling with SELinux on Fedora right now, should work find in Arch)
* Ubuntu online accounts is fully working when empathy-ubuntu 3.6.0 is installed
* LightDM remote session is mostly working
* /etc/timezone is no longer required. I ported indicator-datetime to use systemd's timedated. Can someone tell me if GNOME 3.6 will require systemd in Arch? If not, I'll write a fallback mechanism so /etc/timezone can still be used.
* Window decorations are fully working. No hacks, no crashes, no metacity-ubuntu smile
* GNOME Control Center 3.6 (Ubuntu has 3.4). I've ported the appearance panel to 3.6: http://i.imgur.com/yvf1d.png
* Network Manager runs properly in LightDM (for Remote Desktop). Arch needs to fix their PAM configuration files to include pam_systemd.so for this to work in Arch.
* Indicator Power no longer crashes and can be updated to version 12.10.*.
* Nautilus 3.6 with indicator for file operations (thanks to GNOME 3 PPA maintainers)

There are probably still things I forgot to mention. Let's just say that lots of stuff is now working big_smile

Oh, and of course: http://i.imgur.com/Kqcyp.jpg Is this Ubuntu or something else? big_smile

Wow, chenxiaolong, you are the hero!

big_smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1128 2012-10-05 06:31:52

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Unia wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

Can someone tell me if GNOME 3.6 will require systemd in Arch? If not, I'll write a fallback mechanism so /etc/timezone can still be used.

Yes, it will. Finally, I contributed my itchy little bit to this project too big_smile (I don't use it, but I follow every move.. wink)

Awesome smile Thanks for the info!


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1129 2012-10-05 06:34:42

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Reded wrote:

Quick question, how do I get the music lens working, and (if possible) the photo one? big_smile

And is there any way to add other lenses? I know there's many available for Ubuntu.

Rhythmbox is needed for the music lens and Shotwell is needed for the photos len smile I'm not sure if the music/picture directories need to be added to the respective programs though.

As for other lenses, we'll have them when they are packaged smile Do you have a list of ones you want? I can package them when I have time.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1130 2012-10-05 06:37:23

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Oh..no..this can't be true..

http://packages.ubuntu.com/search?keywo … ection=all

Each one of those has a separate source tarball. Why, Ubuntu, why?

Well, 32 (Arch) + 32 (Fedora) + 32 (openSUSE) more packages to add to my list of stuff to package smile

EDIT: I'm going to write a script to generates the PKGBUILDs.

EDIT2: Or maybe combine them all into one PKGBUILD?

EDIT3: I'm going to combine them all into one PKGBUILD. This will make it easier for people maintaining a repo for Unity-for-Arch.

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2012-10-05 06:41:48)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1131 2012-10-05 06:43:41

pekmop1024
Member
From: Kiev/Feodosia
Registered: 2010-04-21
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hmm.. separate packages is good for end-users smile
Personally for me - it's best solution, because I did not using any social networks.


ArchLinux x86_64 (desktop): i7 970@4.3GHz - 24GB - GTX680 DirectCU II TOP - Crucial M4 128GB - 3x2TB Seagate - Creative X-Fi Platinum - Zalman ZM1000HP
ArchLinux i686 PAE (passive cooled): i3 540 - 4GB - GT610 Silent - Crucial M4 64GB - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
ArchLinux i686 (HTPC): Core 2 Duo E6400 - 2GB - GT520 Silent - 80GB Seagate

Offline

#1132 2012-10-05 07:54:38

shiznix
Member
Registered: 2012-10-04
Posts: 24

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hi guys, just wanted to raise some more thanks for all your efforts up to date getting Unity installed and working on Arch.
Particular credit to you chenxiaolong for your dedication and persistence as I've been tracking the github repo for some months now since May of this year.

I started the same journey but for Gentoo in creating and maintaining the unity-gentoo overlay at https://github.com/shiznix/unity-gentoo
Gentoo and Arch being almost cousin distros, your unity-for-arch repo PKGBUILDs made the effort bearable while porting to Gentoo ebuilds and getting the dependencies and configuration files right.

So as I've been reading this thread with interest it often mirrors the same grief I come up against in getting it to work.

One major problem that I haven't been able to progress is the annoying window placement bug where some application windows at launch are always placed on the desktop at (0,0) x/y coordinates.
Applications like gedit and ccsm do this.
A Ubuntu user had the same problem here http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2042613 and fixed it with some foo to do with the compiz place plugin but I haven't been able to report the same success sad
Are any of you guys able to shed some light on the problem ?
I get this issue with both Unity5 (compiz-0.9.7.8) and Unity6 (compiz-0.9.8.2).

I have a few things in the unity-gentoo repo that you may like also so if there's anything I can do at my end to assist, let me know.

Cheers! big_smile

Offline

#1133 2012-10-05 08:54:32

Unia
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,472
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

pekmop1024 wrote:

Hmm.. separate packages is good for end-users smile
Personally for me - it's best solution, because I did not using any social networks.

One can make separate packages with one PKGBUILD. I don't know if that would work here, though.


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#1134 2012-10-05 13:41:44

woomia
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 106

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Rather than reading through 46 pages, can someone point me to the PKGBUILD for this? I'd like to try it.

Offline

#1135 2012-10-05 14:04:11

franzor
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 46

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

woomia wrote:

Rather than reading through 46 pages, can someone point me to the PKGBUILD for this? I'd like to try it.

http://unity.xe-xe.org


Desktop PC: AMD Phenom XII 965-Black 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GTX-560ti Corsair Force GT/Crucial M4 Arch-Linux/Windows 7
Gaming Laptop: Intel-I7 2630QM 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GT-540m Ubuntu 12.04
Work Laptop: Intel-I3 2350 8GB-Ram Intel HD-Graphics Arch-Linux

Offline

#1136 2012-10-05 14:19:33

woomia
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 106

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

franzor wrote:
woomia wrote:

Rather than reading through 46 pages, can someone point me to the PKGBUILD for this? I'd like to try it.

http://unity.xe-xe.org

Ah, thanks

Offline

#1137 2012-10-05 21:50:29

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

woomia wrote:

Rather than reading through 46 pages, can someone point me to the PKGBUILD for this? I'd like to try it.

The repo is at: http://unity.xe-xe.org/
The PKGBUILDs are at: https://github.com/chenxiaolong/Unity-for-Arch

big_smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1138 2012-10-05 21:55:55

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Does anyone know how to generate a function during runtime in bash? I need something to turn:

webapps_package -n webappname -v webappver -u webappurl -N webappfullname

into

package_unity-webapps-webappname() {
  pkgver=${webappver}
  pkgdesc="Unity WebApp for ${webappfullname}"
  url="${webappurl}"
  ...
}

That would make the package much cleaner, like in the Fedora: http://i.imgur.com/o2uS9.png big_smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1139 2012-10-05 22:03:08

Unia
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,472
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

Does anyone know how to generate a function during runtime in bash? I need something to turn:

webapps_package -n webappname -v webappver -u webappurl -N webappfullname

into

package_unity-webapps-webappname() {
  pkgver=${webappver}
  pkgdesc="Unity WebApp for ${webappfullname}"
  url="${webappurl}"
  ...
}

That would make the package much cleaner, like in the Fedora: http://i.imgur.com/o2uS9.png big_smile

Best ask that here: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewforum.php?id=4


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#1140 2012-10-06 03:51:41

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

it's simple using zsh, but I also don't know how to do it in bash

% cat test.sh
package-$1(){
	echo $0
}
package-$1

% zsh test.sh test
package-test

% bash test.sh test
test.sh: line 4: `package-$1': not a valid identifier
test.sh: line 6: package-test: command not found
[127]

EDIT: Found something: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/7145 … m-variable
but remember to escape vars, that should be substituted at runtime of the generated function or else they will substituted on generation time

% cat test-bash.sh
eval "package-$1(){
	echo $1
}"
package-$1 virst-value

% bash test-bash.sh test
test

% cat test-bash.sh
eval "package-$1(){
	echo \$1
}"
package-$1 virst-value

% bash test-bash.sh test
virst-value

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-10-06 04:01:33)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1141 2012-10-06 14:49:55

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

it's simple using zsh, but I also don't know how to do it in bash

% cat test.sh
package-$1(){
	echo $0
}
package-$1

% zsh test.sh test
package-test

% bash test.sh test
test.sh: line 4: `package-$1': not a valid identifier
test.sh: line 6: package-test: command not found
[127]

EDIT: Found something: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/7145 … m-variable
but remember to escape vars, that should be substituted at runtime of the generated function or else they will substituted on generation time

% cat test-bash.sh
eval "package-$1(){
	echo $1
}"
package-$1 virst-value

% bash test-bash.sh test
test

% cat test-bash.sh
eval "package-$1(){
	echo \$1
}"
package-$1 virst-value

% bash test-bash.sh test
virst-value

Thanks a lot for this! It's very helpful. I'll start writing the PKGBUILD now smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1142 2012-10-06 18:51:10

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Unity WebApps is packaged!

PS: Don't tell me that the PKGBUILD is not ugly big_smile https://github.com/chenxiaolong/Unity-f … s/PKGBUILD


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1143 2012-10-06 18:59:49

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

in webapps-applications you've got the line

mv $RPM_BUILD_ROOT%{_datadir}/locale/{zn,zh}_CN/

I think it should be something like

mv ${pkgdir}/usr/share/locale/{zn,zh}_CN/

Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1144 2012-10-06 19:06:30

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

in webapps-applications you've got the line

mv $RPM_BUILD_ROOT%{_datadir}/locale/{zn,zh}_CN/

I think it should be something like

mv ${pkgdir}/usr/share/locale/{zn,zh}_CN/

Crap, I should have checked it more carefully when I copied the lines from the fedora packaging smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1145 2012-10-06 19:23:23

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

No problem^^


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1146 2012-10-07 08:07:05

kuglee
Member
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 61

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Could somebody tell me how to enable webapps? I've installed everything, but firefox doesn't notify me about webapps integration.

Offline

#1147 2012-10-07 14:27:10

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Check if these three addons are enabled in firefox: http://imageshack.us/a/img528/5237/181auswahl.png
For example in GMail, there's a bar like this: http://imageshack.us/a/img811/9135/179auswahl.png (sry, it's not english)
In GMail you have to click the link in that bar, on omgubuntu.co.uk I got asked automatically,
in any case a... uh... popup like this http://imageshack.us/a/img528/1691/180auswahl.png pops up and asks if you want to integrate the webapp into your desktop...

@chen is it possible to change the ubuntu-icon in the third image?


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1148 2012-10-07 16:28:06

kuglee
Member
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 61

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Only omgubuntu works for me, the other sites don't.

Offline

#1149 2012-10-08 00:03:21

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

@chen is it possible to change the ubuntu-icon in the third image?

Done smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1150 2012-10-08 02:11:02

Reded
Member
From: Manchester, England
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 233

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
Reded wrote:

Quick question, how do I get the music lens working, and (if possible) the photo one? big_smile

And is there any way to add other lenses? I know there's many available for Ubuntu.

Rhythmbox is needed for the music lens and Shotwell is needed for the photos len smile I'm not sure if the music/picture directories need to be added to the respective programs though.

As for other lenses, we'll have them when they are packaged smile Do you have a list of ones you want? I can package them when I have time.

I had none in mind in particular, I was just wondering how much effort the process of getting others installed would be! tongue


"Some humans would do anything to see if it was possible to do it. If you put a large switch in some cave somewhere, with a sign on it saying "End-of-the-World Switch. PLEASE DO NOT TOUCH", the paint wouldn't even have time to dry."

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB