You are not logged in.

#1426 2012-11-28 19:24:47

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

@pekmop: wrong, I did mix both and haven't run into any issues yet.

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-11-28 19:25:26)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1427 2012-11-28 19:27:09

pekmop1024
Member
From: Kiev/Feodosia
Registered: 2010-04-21
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

If not bugs, than lack of some functions of unity that don't exist in vanilla libs, remember that unity compiled aganst them and just knows nothing about features added by patches. It's a very bad idea, IMHO.


ArchLinux x86_64 (desktop): i7 970@4.3GHz - 24GB - GTX680 DirectCU II TOP - Crucial M4 128GB - 3x2TB Seagate - Creative X-Fi Platinum - Zalman ZM1000HP
ArchLinux i686 PAE (passive cooled): i3 540 - 4GB - GT610 Silent - Crucial M4 64GB - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
ArchLinux i686 (HTPC): Core 2 Duo E6400 - 2GB - GT520 Silent - 80GB Seagate

Offline

#1428 2012-11-28 19:30:19

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hardly any (maybe none) of these patched libs chen deleted from his git repo added new features,
all other packages are still present in chen's repo.

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-11-28 19:31:25)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1429 2012-11-28 19:35:08

pekmop1024
Member
From: Kiev/Feodosia
Registered: 2010-04-21
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

So, nobody wants to hear me... I'll stay and watch from now.
I don't believe that combining unity from two sources that compiled against different libs with different patchsets and versions is a good idea.

Fortunately, we still have KDE and XFCE at arch repos smile


ArchLinux x86_64 (desktop): i7 970@4.3GHz - 24GB - GTX680 DirectCU II TOP - Crucial M4 128GB - 3x2TB Seagate - Creative X-Fi Platinum - Zalman ZM1000HP
ArchLinux i686 PAE (passive cooled): i3 540 - 4GB - GT610 Silent - Crucial M4 64GB - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
ArchLinux i686 (HTPC): Core 2 Duo E6400 - 2GB - GT520 Silent - 80GB Seagate

Offline

#1430 2012-11-28 19:56:30

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Maybe it's not a good idea, but as long it's working I'm not opposed to it.


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1431 2012-11-28 20:13:35

teekay
Member
Registered: 2011-10-26
Posts: 270

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I find it more annoying that the -ubuntu packages in AUR aren't in sync with chenxiaolong's on github.
a) one can't use any AUR helpers, and
b) for example compiling gnome-control-center-ubuntu from github doesn't work with gtk3-ubuntu from AUR, as the patches are different.
That's a real mess here.

Other than that it works fine combining "vanilla-as-possible" Unity from ayatana and some extra stuff from chenxiaolong (mainly global appmenu stuff & gnome-control-center for now here)

Offline

#1432 2012-11-28 20:32:26

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

pekmop1024 wrote:

chenxiaolong, looks like you have to do same as before, because unity combined from patched and non-patched packages will be very buggy and unpredictable.

I totally agree with you. I don't see any advantages of combining two sources of packages. How can it be more stable? I think it will make it even harder to figure out bugs like (0,0) window placement.

Offline

#1433 2012-11-28 20:36:07

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

teekay wrote:

I find it more annoying that the -ubuntu packages in AUR aren't in sync with chenxiaolong's on github.
a) one can't use any AUR helpers, and
b) for example compiling gnome-control-center-ubuntu from github doesn't work with gtk3-ubuntu from AUR, as the patches are different.
That's a real mess here.

Other than that it works fine combining "vanilla-as-possible" Unity from ayatana and some extra stuff from chenxiaolong (mainly global appmenu stuff & gnome-control-center for now here)

Check the wiki. It's said there you are not supposed to mix those packages.

Offline

#1434 2012-11-28 20:38:24

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

Maybe it's not a good idea, but as long it's working I'm not opposed to it.

I'm against it. Because maybe currently it works, but after bugs occur, it will be much harder to track back.

Offline

#1435 2012-11-28 20:41:38

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

xgdgsc wrote:
City-busz wrote:

[*]gtk2-ubuntu, gtk3-ubuntu: these are required for appmenu-gtk and overlay-scrollbar. I'm not interested in maintaining these packages in my repo.[/*]


What's next?

I'll send some patches and report a lot of issues to the upstream developers, which needs to be solved before I'm able to move the whole stuff into the [community] repository.

I really hope unity goes to [community], but I believe many people use unity because of the global menu and indicators. I cannot imagine a unity without these features. So I really hope you reconsider this decision not to package gtk-ubuntu and some indicators. Although it' s quite dirty to have them in the official repo.

Totally for it. Global-menus and indicators are important features which make unity *unity*.

Offline

#1436 2012-11-28 22:10:55

City-busz
Trusted User (TU)
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2010-12-27
Posts: 162
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:
xgdgsc wrote:
City-busz wrote:

[*]gtk2-ubuntu, gtk3-ubuntu: these are required for appmenu-gtk and overlay-scrollbar. I'm not interested in maintaining these packages in my repo.[/*]


What's next?

I'll send some patches and report a lot of issues to the upstream developers, which needs to be solved before I'm able to move the whole stuff into the [community] repository.

I really hope unity goes to [community], but I believe many people use unity because of the global menu and indicators. I cannot imagine a unity without these features. So I really hope you reconsider this decision not to package gtk-ubuntu and some indicators. Although it' s quite dirty to have them in the official repo.

Totally for it. Global-menus and indicators are important features which make unity *unity*.

Then either ask Unity developers to implement appmenu-gtk in a way that does not require a patch for GTK+, or ask GTK+ developers to implement the patch.

Anyway, if you install gtk2-ubuntu, gtk3-ubuntu and appmenu-gtk from AUR, it will works with my packages and you will see the globalmenu integration.

About indicators, all system indicators are available in my repo, and I enabled all systray icons to avoid patching network-manager-applet and some other packages. Application indicators are supported also. There is no real feature loss.


My packages | My PGP Key: 0x0901C163

Offline

#1437 2012-11-29 01:50:38

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Wow, I didn't realize there would be so much hate towards this change. I honestly thought this would be a good idea. I try my best to keep the Unity-for-Arch at the best quality I can, but you've all seen how many times my packages have broken because of some updates. Having unpatched packages would be less prone to breakage in that sense.

I'd also like to point out that we'll need to use unpatched packages when Ubuntu 13.04 is released in 5 months. They will only be updating GTK to version 3.8. I  think that this is the right time to start working out what to do. City-busz just happened to post unpatched packages, which, to me, is a good solution to the problem.

I will wait one week to see how this all goes. After that, if people still want my packages back, I will put them back for sure.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1438 2012-11-29 06:15:28

Jristz
Member
From: America/Santiago
Registered: 2011-06-11
Posts: 913

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Not sure but as Far I read gnome3.8 going to deprecated thinks used by unity
and so as far I read the new Unity now is based on the prevoiusly one (3.6)

this going to affect the project??


Well, I suppose that this is somekind of signature, no?

Offline

#1439 2012-11-29 06:47:22

City-busz
Trusted User (TU)
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2010-12-27
Posts: 162
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Jristz wrote:

Not sure but as Far I read gnome3.8 going to deprecated thinks used by unity
and so as far I read the new Unity now is based on the prevoiusly one (3.6)

this going to affect the project??

They remove some components only. My plan is to package the dropped components (gnome-fallback-mount-helper, gnome-settings-daemon-background and indicator-bluetooth) from GNOME 3.6, and they will hopefully work together with GNOME 3.8.


My packages | My PGP Key: 0x0901C163

Offline

#1440 2012-11-29 16:43:52

Kopfweh
Member
Registered: 2011-08-06
Posts: 72

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hey guys,

first of all I have to state that I'm impressed by how ood and smoothly it works. But I think the application Launcher or however the sidebar on the leeft is called is supposed to hide if a window is fullscreen. But my app launcher dock doesn't hise? How do I solve this problem or isn't it working correct with Arch?

Offline

#1441 2012-11-29 16:45:52

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Is it? I don't know, but you can take a look at unity's settings in ccsm, maybe you'll find something...


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1442 2012-11-29 17:36:34

Kopfweh
Member
Registered: 2011-08-06
Posts: 72

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Thanks, oi_wtf! That partly solves my problem...I switched the Hide Launcher int the Ubuntu Unity Plugin from Never to autohide. But now it doesn't appear anymore. I've Left Edge set for "Reveal Trigger" but it simply doesn't appear anymore. What shall I do now?

Offline

#1443 2012-11-29 17:38:51

illusionmist
Member
Registered: 2012-05-14
Posts: 32

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Kopfweh wrote:

Hey guys,

first of all I have to state that I'm impressed by how ood and smoothly it works. But I think the application Launcher or however the sidebar on the leeft is called is supposed to hide if a window is fullscreen. But my app launcher dock doesn't hise? How do I solve this problem or isn't it working correct with Arch?

There's an Autohide mode in System Setting > Appearance > Behavior, or in CCSM.
I'd love Intellihide but they removed it a while ago... makes no sense IMO.

EDIT: So I was too slow.
About your question, the new behavior requires user to "push" into the screen edge to bring out the launcher.
You can also change the Launcher Reveal Pressure in CCSM down to 1 to eliminate this behavior.

Last edited by illusionmist (2012-11-29 17:42:13)

Offline

#1444 2012-11-29 18:09:44

City-busz
Trusted User (TU)
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2010-12-27
Posts: 162
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Kopfweh wrote:

Thanks, oi_wtf! That partly solves my problem...I switched the Hide Launcher int the Ubuntu Unity Plugin from Never to autohide. But now it doesn't appear anymore. I've Left Edge set for "Reveal Trigger" but it simply doesn't appear anymore. What shall I do now?

The autohide functionality does not work with my unity package from the [ayatana] repo (the launcher never reveal), because it would requires patched xorg-server, libxfixes and fixesproto packages.


My packages | My PGP Key: 0x0901C163

Offline

#1445 2012-11-29 23:44:46

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

First issue I found: locking doesn't work with vanilla gnome-screensaver...
If I try Ctrl-Alt-L nothing happens and it doesn't lock the session either, when the screensaver gets activated...
or did I miss a setting somewhere?
I did look at gnome-tweak-tool and dconf-editor at /org/gnome/desktop/screensaver and /org/gnome/desktop/lockdown ...

The patched package works fine though... (with gsettings-schemas-ubuntu installed, too, of course)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1446 2012-11-29 23:59:04

City-busz
Trusted User (TU)
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2010-12-27
Posts: 162
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

First issue I found: locking doesn't work with vanilla gnome-screensaver...
If I try Ctrl-Alt-L nothing happens and it doesn't lock the session either, when the screensaver gets activated...
or did I miss a setting somewhere?
I did look at gnome-tweak-tool and dconf-editor at /org/gnome/desktop/screensaver and /org/gnome/desktop/lockdown ...

The patched package works fine though... (with gsettings-schemas-ubuntu installed, too, of course)

Locking with Ctrl-Alt-L works fine if you use my unity package as I added an autostart file for the gnome-screenshot.


My packages | My PGP Key: 0x0901C163

Offline

#1447 2012-11-30 00:17:41

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oops^^
so when still using unity built from chen's repo I'll need either a patched screensaver or that autostart file...
should have read your previous posts more carefully -.-

thanks anyway.

EDIT: *removed* nevermind

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-11-30 00:59:24)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1448 2012-11-30 04:03:49

illusionmist
Member
Registered: 2012-05-14
Posts: 32

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

So... for Unity to work "normally" we still need some essential packages patched?

EDIT: I just did a clean install using the new ayatana repo, and my indicator-datetime doesn't show time, but instead just "Time" as in text. Anyone else?
Also there's a "Ubuntu Help" in the session menu...

Last edited by illusionmist (2012-11-30 04:38:38)

Offline

#1449 2012-11-30 11:04:03

teekay
Member
Registered: 2011-10-26
Posts: 270

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

illusionmist wrote:

EDIT: I just did a clean install using the new ayatana repo, and my indicator-datetime doesn't show time, but instead just "Time" as in text. Anyone else?

That's because /etc/timezone doesn't exist. I created it with "Europe/Berlin" as content, matching the TIMEZONE in rc.conf

Offline

#1450 2012-11-30 11:09:41

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

teekay wrote:
illusionmist wrote:

EDIT: I just did a clean install using the new ayatana repo, and my indicator-datetime doesn't show time, but instead just "Time" as in text. Anyone else?

That's because /etc/timezone doesn't exist. I created it with "Europe/Berlin" as content, matching the TIMEZONE in rc.conf

This file should be deprecated for systems which have been migrated to timezone(And you are supposed to do so). I think chenxiaolong's package has been patched to work with systemd.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB