You are not logged in.

#1576 2013-02-07 18:27:46

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

kuglee wrote:

When did gnome remove keyboard options? I've updated recently, but I don't know which packages to downgrade.

Does it still disappear if you run

unset XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP
gnome-control-center

Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1577 2013-02-07 18:29:29

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Kopkins wrote:

My networking seems to have odd issues. After I boot, the gui for netoworking fails to detect any networks. Then I use wifi-menu from command line and it fails. If I try the gui again it will still not detwect any networks, another failure from the command line results in the gui picking up the networks and connecting the first try. But I don't want to have to do that everytime I turn on my computer. Any suggestions?

Thank you,

Kopkins

I'm not entirely sure that's related to Unity. I currently provide network-manager-applet-ubuntu, which is a modified version of the original that only adds indicator support.

Does the same thing happen in some other session, like gnome-shell?


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1578 2013-02-07 18:30:58

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

http://www.webupd8.org/2013/02/unity-no … stray.html

Looks like were going to need patched packages for just about everything with a systray icon just so it can show up sad


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1579 2013-02-07 19:00:11

Kopkins
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 189

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

I'm not entirely sure that's related to Unity. I currently provide network-manager-applet-ubuntu, which is a modified version of the original that only adds indicator support.

Does the same thing happen in some other session, like gnome-shell?

I'll check gnome-shell when I get home, I used E17 for a little but it used Econnman and seemed work fine after I got all the AUR stuff installed. I'll run gnome-shell tonight.

Offline

#1580 2013-02-07 20:40:38

kuglee
Member
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 61

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Thanks chenxiaolong, but it doesn't work. I've set the options with dconf.

Offline

#1581 2013-02-07 20:51:35

City-busz
Trusted User (TU)
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2010-12-27
Posts: 162
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

http://www.webupd8.org/2013/02/unity-no … stray.html

Looks like were going to need patched packages for just about everything with a systray icon just so it can show up sad

I'll simply patch my Unity package to display all systray icons (not too difficult). Appindicator support would require a lot of rebuilding and patching without major benefit.


My packages | My PGP Key: 0x0901C163

Offline

#1582 2013-02-07 21:05:24

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

City-busz wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

http://www.webupd8.org/2013/02/unity-no … stray.html

Looks like were going to need patched packages for just about everything with a systray icon just so it can show up sad

I'll simply patch my Unity package to display all systray icons (not too difficult). Appindicator support would require a lot of rebuilding and patching without major benefit.

I just reverted revision 3134. It's just a tiny bit of code anyway, so it wouldn't be hard to adapt to future changes in Unity. I completely agree on the Appindicator support.

Btw, do you know of a way to wait for a non-child process to finish in Linux? It seems that there is no way of doing this without ugly race-prone code in Linux.

  proc_t **processes = readproctab(PROC_FILLSTAT | PROC_FILLCOM);

  int i;
  for (i = 0; processes[i] != NULL; i++) {
    if (processes[i]->cmdline != NULL) {
      int length = strlen(processes[i]->cmdline[0]);
      if (length >= 6 &&
          strcmp(processes[i]->cmdline[0] + length - 6, "pacman") == 0) {
        printf("pacman is running. (PID %i) Waiting for it to finish...",
               processes[i]->tid);
        fflush(stdout);
        while (1) {
          if (kill(processes[i]->tid, 0) == -1 && errno == ESRCH) {
            break;
          }
          usleep(10000);
        }
        printf(" Done\n");
        break;
      }
    }
  }

I have this right now, but it's incredibly ugly. I'm patching Unity to wait for pacman to finish before updating the launcher icons because pacman's "-Syu" is equal to "-Rdd oldversion" + "-Sdd newversion".

EDIT: See below

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-02-08 00:21:22)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1583 2013-02-07 21:43:07

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

kuglee wrote:

Thanks chenxiaolong, but it doesn't work. I've set the options with dconf.

Could you check if /usr/lib/control-center-1/panels/libkeyboard.so and /usr/lib/gnome-settings-daemon-3.0/libkeyboard.so ? If they don't exist, I try recompiling gnome-settings-daemon-ubuntu and gnome-control-center-ubuntu.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1584 2013-02-08 00:20:22

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Yep, pacman had to be different from every other package manager.

In pacman-4.0.3/lib/libalpm/add.c in function commit_single_pkg(), there's

        /* see if this is an upgrade. if so, remove the old package first */
        alpm_pkg_t *local = _alpm_db_get_pkgfromcache(db, newpkg->name);

So there we have it, that's why our launchers keep disappearing from the launcher.

Options:

1. Fix pacman

Can't do it. That would require some parts of pacman to be fundamentally changed.

2. Make Unity wait for pacman to finish before refreshing launcher icons.

Can't do it. Unity's launcher update operations don't run in a separate thread. Trying to do anything with the icons while pacman is running will hang Unity.

3.. ???

Any ideas are welcome smile

(There's no such thing as a stupid idea) I hate having to re-add my Firefox and Chromium launcher every few updates sad

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-02-08 00:20:49)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1585 2013-02-08 00:41:41

Kopkins
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 189

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

What about writing a script? Something that could be a cron job. You could have it run once a day in the morning. All it would do is inventory the launchers. I'm not sure how Unity keeps track of what is in the launcher but I bet it wouldn't be very hard to have a script write that to a text file somewhere. The part that makes me uneasy is trying to get the icons back, and this has to be tied in when pacman is run. Perhaps create an alias for pacman in .bashrc.

 alias pacman="sudo pacman; checklauncher"

.

I feel like this could cause issues somehow, but it could work I think. The checklauncher script would simply scan the text file from the cron script that ran earlier, and check for discrepencies with the Unity launcher. If there are discrepencies then it adds back the launchers that it needs.

I'm not sure. What do you think?

Last edited by Kopkins (2013-02-08 00:46:00)

Offline

#1586 2013-02-08 01:18:43

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

well, the only solution I can think of is, like kopkins' idea:

have some application (daemon, cronjob, script, whatever) watch pacman, compare 'before'-launcher with 'after'-launcher and (re-)add missing icons.
It'd also have to check if the application the icon belongs to still exists, since you could have done 'pacman -Rs some-app-with-launcher-icon' ...

but that approach doesn't sound like a nice solution to me...


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1587 2013-02-10 16:45:06

Berseker
Member
From: Near Lecco, Italy
Registered: 2008-04-24
Posts: 252

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hi, I've treid to use your repo and for now, I've seen unity work also on my system (still need to fully switch and do a proper testing anyway)..

I was thinking, do this new tool can be implemented also in unity-arch?

http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2013/02/intr … tweak-tool

Offline

#1588 2013-02-10 17:13:56

Kopkins
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 189

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Berseker wrote:

Hi, I've treid to use your repo and for now, I've seen unity work also on my system (still need to fully switch and do a proper testing anyway)..

I was thinking, do this new tool can be implemented also in unity-arch?

http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2013/02/intr … tweak-tool

Be careful about things like this.

OMG Ubuntu Warning wrote:

Unity Tweak Tool is currently in active development. Install at your own risk.

Using this under ubuntu where unity is most stable is warned against. I would be very hesistant using it under arch where unity is less stable.

Kopkins

Last edited by Kopkins (2013-02-10 17:14:29)

Offline

#1589 2013-02-12 04:01:20

pekmop1024
Member
From: Kiev/Feodosia
Registered: 2010-04-21
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

unity.xe-xe.org repo is updated. smile


ArchLinux x86_64 (desktop): i7 970@4.3GHz - 24GB - GTX680 DirectCU II TOP - Crucial M4 128GB - 3x2TB Seagate - Creative X-Fi Platinum - Zalman ZM1000HP
ArchLinux i686 PAE (passive cooled): i3 540 - 4GB - GT610 Silent - Crucial M4 64GB - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
ArchLinux i686 (HTPC): Core 2 Duo E6400 - 2GB - GT520 Silent - 80GB Seagate

Offline

#1590 2013-02-12 09:44:11

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Does the indicator-bluetooth work for you?
My bluetooth settings stop working long ago.  It's always on. The only way I can turn it off is by

rfkill block bluetooth

EDIT: after a reboot, everything works now.

Last edited by qiuwei (2013-02-12 14:31:06)

Offline

#1591 2013-02-14 16:52:44

killyou
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 15

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hello.

Is it possible to get Ubuntu overlay scrollbar on Arch Linux? I'm using cinnamon as DE and I already installed gtk3-ubuntu package instead of gtk3.

Offline

#1592 2013-02-14 16:54:27

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I'm not sure if you need the gtk3-ubuntu package, but you will need the overlay-scrollbar package...


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1593 2013-02-14 16:54:46

pekmop1024
Member
From: Kiev/Feodosia
Registered: 2010-04-21
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Yes, you need overlay-scrollbar package, it is available in repos


ArchLinux x86_64 (desktop): i7 970@4.3GHz - 24GB - GTX680 DirectCU II TOP - Crucial M4 128GB - 3x2TB Seagate - Creative X-Fi Platinum - Zalman ZM1000HP
ArchLinux i686 PAE (passive cooled): i3 540 - 4GB - GT610 Silent - Crucial M4 64GB - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
ArchLinux i686 (HTPC): Core 2 Duo E6400 - 2GB - GT520 Silent - 80GB Seagate

Offline

#1594 2013-02-14 17:05:16

killyou
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 15

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

The problem is that I can't install it. It wants to install some gtk2 as depencency but it fails to download it.

Info from yaourt:
Validating source files with sha512sums...
    gtk+-2.24.14.tar.xz ... FAILED

Any thoughts?

BTW. I thought that gtk3-ubuntu contains overlay scrollbar. Am I mistaken?

Offline

#1595 2013-02-14 17:16:35

pekmop1024
Member
From: Kiev/Feodosia
Registered: 2010-04-21
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

you need gtk2-ubuntu also.
yes, you are wrong, overlay-scrollbar is not in gtk3-ubuntu, gtk3-ubuntu is just patched to support it.


ArchLinux x86_64 (desktop): i7 970@4.3GHz - 24GB - GTX680 DirectCU II TOP - Crucial M4 128GB - 3x2TB Seagate - Creative X-Fi Platinum - Zalman ZM1000HP
ArchLinux i686 PAE (passive cooled): i3 540 - 4GB - GT610 Silent - Crucial M4 64GB - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
ArchLinux i686 (HTPC): Core 2 Duo E6400 - 2GB - GT520 Silent - 80GB Seagate

Offline

#1596 2013-02-14 17:17:04

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

killyou wrote:

The problem is that I can't install it. It wants to install some gtk2 as depencency but it fails to download it.

Info from yaourt:
Validating source files with sha512sums...
    gtk+-2.24.14.tar.xz ... FAILED

Any thoughts?

BTW. I thought that gtk3-ubuntu contains overlay scrollbar. Am I mistaken?

He means install it from unity.xe-xe.org instead of aur.

Offline

#1597 2013-02-14 19:12:14

killyou
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 15

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Thanks it is working fine now. However I have one question. Does every app should have overlay scrollbar? In my case firefox is using standard scrollbar. Is it possible to change it to overlay?

Offline

#1598 2013-02-14 19:30:33

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

killyou wrote:

Thanks it is working fine now. However I have one question. Does every app should have overlay scrollbar? In my case firefox is using standard scrollbar. Is it possible to change it to overlay?

As far as I know, nope.
Because the user interface of firefox(and also google-chrome) is not written with stand GUI toolkit on linux such as gtk or qt.
But I guess there should be some extensions for the browsers to mimic the overlay scrollbar.

Last edited by qiuwei (2013-02-14 19:30:57)

Offline

#1599 2013-02-14 21:57:25

Kopkins
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 189

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:
killyou wrote:

Thanks it is working fine now. However I have one question. Does every app should have overlay scrollbar? In my case firefox is using standard scrollbar. Is it possible to change it to overlay?

As far as I know, nope.
Because the user interface of firefox(and also google-chrome) is not written with stand GUI toolkit on linux such as gtk or qt.
But I guess there should be some extensions for the browsers to mimic the overlay scrollbar.

Even in Ubuntu, Apps like Firefox don't have the overlay scrollbars. If you want a little different look you can change the theme, or if you like the ambiance theme you can change the scrollbars to color. If you go into the theme folder and edit a file you can color the scrollbars. /usr/share/themes/Ambiance/gtk-2.0/gtkrc has a line that has "colorize scrollbar = FALSE" if you change it to TRUE then your scrollbars will appear in the default theme color. If you look in the gtk-2.0 and gtk-3.0 folders there are some other config files you can change for the theme. If you change the default Ubuntu color to a different one, the scrollbars and highlight color will be different. the default Ubuntu color is #f07746. I haven't found the rest of the config files are somewhere else and I haven't found them yet for the new Unity, so some of the menu's and buttons will still be in the old color. Of course everything is reverted back each time Unity updates anyway.

Best of luck.

Offline

#1600 2013-02-15 12:21:55

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Anyone else noticed
* that empathy on the launcher doesn't have a number of unread messages even though the indicator-messages works as expected?
* The HUD often doesn't correctly search things. Like I can't set busy/away/available or anything else from the indicator-messages package? The bluetooth indicator often doesn't work with HUD either.
* unity-webapps-gmail works (adds to launcher and display unread count of email), but doesn't ever pop up when someone instant messages you. I believe on Ubuntu 12.10 this works.

Fully up to date with below relevant packages installed.
unity-extra/unity-webapps-gmail 2.4.7-102 (unity-extra)
unity-extra/empathy-ubuntu 3.6.3-100.0ubuntu2 (gnome-extra)
unity/indicator-messages 12.10.6daily13.01.25-100 (unity)
unity/libunity-webapps 2.4.3daily13.02.04.1-100 (unity)
extra/telepathy-farstream 0.6.0-1
extra/telepathy-gabble 0.17.2-1 (telepathy)
extra/telepathy-glib 0.20.1-1
extra/telepathy-haze 0.6.0-2 (telepathy)
extra/telepathy-idle 0.1.14-1 (telepathy)
unity-extra/telepathy-indicator 0.3.0.0ubuntu3-100 (unity-extra)
extra/telepathy-logger 0.6.0-1
extra/telepathy-mission-control 5.14.0-1
extra/telepathy-qt 0.9.3-3
extra/telepathy-rakia 0.7.4-1 (telepathy)
extra/telepathy-salut 0.8.1-1 (telepathy)
unity-extra/unity-webapps 1.0-102 (unity-extra)
unity/indicator-bluetooth 0.0.5-100 (unity)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB