You are not logged in.

#2351 2013-10-14 23:16:04

mieLouk
Member
Registered: 2012-12-16
Posts: 36

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Chen, do your magic and port everything, cleanly. We can wait.

I updated to hasty, as usual. I also downgraded gnome-desktop and I can live with it, till the fixes are made.

We are very, very thankful for your work!!

Offline

#2352 2013-10-15 23:37:35

isolet
Member
Registered: 2013-10-15
Posts: 4

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

gianluca.pettinello wrote:
sollidsnake wrote:
gianluca.pettinello wrote:

Nope! I found that the problem comes from CMakeLists.txt in unity-shared. the exact error is
CMake Error:
  Error evaluating generator expression:

    $<LINK_ONLY:-Wl,--export-dynamic>

  $<LINK_ONLY> expression requires exactly one parameter.


Any idea?
Do I have something messed up?

I'm not very experienced with C compiling, but it seems you're missing some lib. Did you install using the build-and-install script? My guess is that it may have failed at some point or you left some package behind if you did it manually. But why don't you try installing the binary from the repository?

EDIT: GNOME 3.10 is now in arch official repositories and Unity is not compatible yet with it. I'm not sure if it would keep you from compiling, but it's also a possibility.

Tried to remove src and pkg without success. Could be linked to CMake version 2.8.12 Anyway I'll try to recompile all the packages. I'll keep you informed. Chen mentioned that it is possible to compile even though the indicators are broken

EDIT: I downgraded cmake from 2.8.12-1 to 2.8.11-2 or something like that and the compilation of unity is flying....
Lucky not to touch /var/cache/pacman/pkg smile

EDIT2: unity compiled. Now working but:
- files lens not working. Solved by copying zeitgeist-fts in usr/lib/zeitgeist and copying org.gnome.zeitgeist.fts.service in /usr/share/dbus-1/services after modifying to point to zeitgeist-fts. Log out and log in and now it works. Ah... the files were taken from ubuntu archive.ubuntu.com/pool/main/z/zeitgeist.

- not able to change backllight anymore ?!?!?!?

- lens application not working but now I'm trying to fix

EDIT3: It seems that unity-lens-applications error is

(unity-scope-loader:22822): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_path_get_basename: assertion 'file_name != NULL' failed
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

Any idea??
Ciao
Gianluca

rm -rf src pkg

I've downgraded cmake, it works!

Last edited by isolet (2013-10-16 02:47:07)

Offline

#2353 2013-10-15 23:45:43

HalosGhost
Member
From: Twin Cities, MN
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 1,486
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

isolet, welcome to the BBS. Please read the Forum Etiquette.

All the best,

-HG


"All errors are ᴘᴇʙᴋᴀᴄ errors—It's just a matter of narrowing down which keyboard and chair." -Trilby
\ldots

Offline

#2354 2013-10-18 16:14:24

litiales
Member
Registered: 2013-10-08
Posts: 4

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Is Unity for Arch working?

Offline

#2355 2013-10-19 00:23:59

syngres
Member
Registered: 2013-10-19
Posts: 1

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hi there!

I have followed the instruction on https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/unity in order to get Unity installed on my laptop.  I wrote "exec unity" into my .xinitrc, started "startx" and got only a blank screen. During my investigations I have found out that:

gnome-session: error while loading shared libraries: libgnome-desktop-3.so.7: cannot open shared object file: No such file or director

Is there anything I could do about that?

Thanks in advance.

Offline

#2356 2013-10-19 06:51:34

gianluca.pettinello
Member
Registered: 2013-04-16
Posts: 56

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

syngres wrote:

Hi there!

I have followed the instruction on https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/unity in order to get Unity installed on my laptop.  I wrote "exec unity" into my .xinitrc, started "startx" and got only a blank screen. During my investigations I have found out that:

gnome-session: error while loading shared libraries: libgnome-desktop-3.so.7: cannot open shared object file: No such file or director

Is there anything I could do about that?

Thanks in advance.

At best you have to compile the packages thanks to gnome 3.10

Offline

#2357 2013-10-19 06:53:45

horsemanoffaith
Member
Registered: 2013-05-10
Posts: 134

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Just did a full update (including the Gnome 3.10 stuff), then downgraded gnome-desktop. I now have nothing but a blank desktop. I tried using ccsm, but there is no checkbox next to the Unity plugin, and when I click on the Unity Plug In button, then click Enable Unity Plugin, it tells me about some conflicts. I have tried every possible combination, but every time the plugin gets de-selected. I have also tried unity --replace in the command line. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Last edited by horsemanoffaith (2013-10-19 07:51:36)

Offline

#2358 2013-10-19 12:48:32

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Ensure you have no gnome 3.10 packages installed.
Secondly recent updates have broken my downgraded 3.8 install. I therefore I had to downgrade these packages as well.

libtracker-sparql 0.16.2-2
icu 51.2-1
boost-libs 1.54.0-3
boost 1.54.0-3
python2-pillow 2.2.1-1
harfbuzz 0.9.19-1
harfbuzz-icu 0.9.19-1
lib32-fontconfig 2.10.95-1.1
lib32-gtk2 2.24.21-1
lib32-libdrm 2.4.46-1
perl-soap-lite 1.03-1
raptor 2.0.10-2
webkitgtk 2.2.0-1
webkitgtk2 1.10.2-7
xapian-core 1.2.15-1

Offline

#2359 2013-10-20 07:19:49

horsemanoffaith
Member
Registered: 2013-05-10
Posts: 134

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

divansantana wrote:

Ensure you have no gnome 3.10 packages installed.
Secondly recent updates have broken my downgraded 3.8 install. I therefore I had to downgrade these packages as well.

libtracker-sparql 0.16.2-2
icu 51.2-1
boost-libs 1.54.0-3
boost 1.54.0-3
python2-pillow 2.2.1-1
harfbuzz 0.9.19-1
harfbuzz-icu 0.9.19-1
lib32-fontconfig 2.10.95-1.1
lib32-gtk2 2.24.21-1
lib32-libdrm 2.4.46-1
perl-soap-lite 1.03-1
raptor 2.0.10-2
webkitgtk 2.2.0-1
webkitgtk2 1.10.2-7
xapian-core 1.2.15-1

Because I like pain (arrrgh!!!) I decided to track down what's going on with my system based on the files that you listed here. Here's what I came up with:

     1. It's only necessary to downgrade gnome-desktop from 3.10 to 3.8 to AT LEAST be able to log in to Unity. That only the first step, though.     
     2. icu 52.1.1 (what was installed on my system) breaks the Unity plugin in CCSM. Once I downgraded icu to 51.2-1, I was able to get the Unity desktop back.
     3. libtracker-sparql breaks Nautilus- thus the reason for the totally blank screen on log-in.
     4. harfbuzz-icu breaks Chromium. The current version of Chromium (30.0.1599.101-1) will not run, even with harfbuzz-icu downgraded. I was forced to downgrade Chromium to 30.0.1599.66-1.

With all of these changes, Unity is back up and running for me, albiet not fully functional (indicators). Still, it's better than a kick in the pants!!! Hope this helps someone!

Offline

#2360 2013-10-20 11:04:34

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

horsemanoffaith wrote:

Because I like pain (arrrgh!!!) I decided to track down what's going on with my system based on the files that you listed here. Here's what I came up with:

     1. It's only necessary to downgrade gnome-desktop from 3.10 to 3.8 to AT LEAST be able to log in to Unity. That only the first step, though.     
     2. icu 52.1.1 (what was installed on my system) breaks the Unity plugin in CCSM. Once I downgraded icu to 51.2-1, I was able to get the Unity desktop back.
     3. libtracker-sparql breaks Nautilus- thus the reason for the totally blank screen on log-in.
     4. harfbuzz-icu breaks Chromium. The current version of Chromium (30.0.1599.101-1) will not run, even with harfbuzz-icu downgraded. I was forced to downgrade Chromium to 30.0.1599.66-1.

With all of these changes, Unity is back up and running for me, albiet not fully functional (indicators). Still, it's better than a kick in the pants!!! Hope this helps someone!

Thanks for the info!
Yeah and I think we need to downgrade libreoffice too as that requires the newer icu package.

Hopefully soon we will get newer unity packages which will help save the day...

Offline

#2361 2013-10-20 19:29:41

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

divansantana wrote:

Thanks for the info!
Yeah and I think we need to downgrade libreoffice too as that requires the newer icu package.

Hopefully soon we will get newer unity packages which will help save the day...

I doubt that would happen soon. Unity is still officially with Gnome 3.6. And chenxiaolong did a great job to port it to Gnome 3.8.
As far as I know, Canonical will definitely not use gnome 3.10 as the back end for 14.04.

Offline

#2362 2013-10-21 05:31:36

horsemanoffaith
Member
Registered: 2013-05-10
Posts: 134

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Yeah and I think we need to downgrade libreoffice too as that requires the newer icu package.

Oops! Yeah, I didn't mention that one. I DID have to downgrade libreoffice-common to be able to downgrade icu. Sorry I didn't put that in my info... wasn't sure if you were using LibreOffice.

Hopefully soon we will get newer unity packages which will help save the day...

Yeah, I know how you feel... I haven't upgraded my desktop for a while because of all the snafus with Gnome 3.10 and Unity. I don't mind waiting on the updates, though. The biggest gripe I have with my desktop is browsing the network using Nautilus... for some reason it is NOT working well, and I have no idea why. Once the Gnome 3.10 packages go through, I will probably do a reinstall on my desktop. It's very difficult to fix a intermittent problem, and that's what I'm facing.

Offline

#2363 2013-10-21 05:47:39

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:

I doubt that would happen soon. Unity is still officially with Gnome 3.6. And chenxiaolong did a great job to port it to Gnome 3.8.
As far as I know, Canonical will definitely not use gnome 3.10 as the back end for 14.04.

Maybe it would be better to package Gnome 3.6 packages in a repo so we get an extra stable Unity desktop.

Offline

#2364 2013-10-25 04:44:38

horsemanoffaith
Member
Registered: 2013-05-10
Posts: 134

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

divansantana wrote:

Maybe it would be better to package Gnome 3.6 packages in a repo so we get an extra stable Unity desktop.

That would be an awesome idea... do you know how that's done? I do have a SpiderOak account and a Ubuntu One account... perhaps if someone were to point me in the right direction and help me get all the needed packages together, I could host the repo.

Offline

#2365 2013-10-27 03:39:02

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 100

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

horsemanoffaith wrote:
divansantana wrote:

Maybe it would be better to package Gnome 3.6 packages in a repo so we get an extra stable Unity desktop.

That would be an awesome idea... do you know how that's done? I do have a SpiderOak account and a Ubuntu One account... perhaps if someone were to point me in the right direction and help me get all the needed packages together, I could host the repo.

That would be great smile
We could get the packages at launchpad. They store all the packages of currenctly active releases. 13.04 uses gnome 3.6 I guess.


"For with the passing of this hour
Even gods will be devoured"

Offline

#2366 2013-10-27 05:00:11

horsemanoffaith
Member
Registered: 2013-05-10
Posts: 134

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Here's my question, though.... with Arch rolling right along and bringing out updated packages, will the new packages that get rolled out break Gnome 3.6/3.8? Also, I'm already having problems with some of my programs not working because they need newer versions of packages.... packages I have to roll back to make sure Unity works for me. I can't upgrade to the newest version of icu because it breaks Unity, and harfbuzz-icu I have to downgrade because it breaks Chromium. Problem is, I now have two games that don't work because they need the newest icu!

Offline

#2367 2013-10-27 18:00:42

gianluca.pettinello
Member
Registered: 2013-04-16
Posts: 56

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

horsemanoffaith wrote:

Here's my question, though.... with Arch rolling righft along and bringing out updated packages, will the new packages that get rolled out break Gnome 3.6/3.8? Also, I'm already having problems with some of my programs not working because they need newer versions of packages.... packages I have to roll back to make sure Unity works for me. I can't upgrade to the newest version of icu because it breaks Unity, and harfbuzz-icu I have to downgrade because it breaks Chromium. Problem is, I now have two games that don't work because they need the newest icu!

I fully agree. Running gnome 3.6 is a very temporary solution. Better to go or gnome 3.10 losing some functionality. By the way I lost lens application (unity-scope-loader giving segmentation fault) but indicators work. Clearly indicator-datetime shows no calendar and brightness key buttons don't work. And lightdm is dead so I moved to slim (makes more arch smile)
Ciao

Offline

#2368 2013-10-29 05:14:45

horsemanoffaith
Member
Registered: 2013-05-10
Posts: 134

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Because of some of the issues I have had over the past few weeks with Unity, I have decided, for a temporary measure, to move to Cinnamon on my laptop. I also have Gnome 3.10 installed, but I cannot stand the Gnome 3 desktop... it's plain down aggravating and not very efficient. Cinnamon is better, but I still MUCH prefer Unity. Once Gnome 3.10 functionality in Unity is stable and reliable, I will move back to Unity. I already miss the launcher, but at least Cinnamon is clean and fairly efficient to use. I will still be checking back here to get updates on Unity. I still use Unity on my desktop... and will continue to do so un-updated.

Offline

#2369 2013-10-29 11:03:32

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Chen - you are being missed! Hopefully some updated packages soon? smile

Offline

#2370 2013-10-29 12:53:21

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 100

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

divansantana wrote:

Chen - you are being missed! Hopefully some updated packages soon? smile

Well, if he isn't available anymore we've got to do the work ourselves smile
I don't have much experience with packaging but I'll take a look at it as soon as I can, and I'll try to do a GNOME 3.8 repo for arch to keep this project up


"For with the passing of this hour
Even gods will be devoured"

Offline

#2371 2013-10-29 19:18:19

gianluca.pettinello
Member
Registered: 2013-04-16
Posts: 56

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

sollidsnake wrote:
divansantana wrote:

Chen - you are being missed! Hopefully some updated packages soon? smile

Well, if he isn't available anymore we've got to do the work ourselves smile
I don't have much experience with packaging but I'll take a look at it as soon as I can, and I'll try to do a GNOME 3.8 repo for arch to keep this project up

I have already started to update some packages. But I don't know how to create commits.
Anyway I think that Chen will come back soon.

Offline

#2372 2013-10-29 19:40:41

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 100

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

gianluca.pettinello wrote:
sollidsnake wrote:
divansantana wrote:

Chen - you are being missed! Hopefully some updated packages soon? smile

Well, if he isn't available anymore we've got to do the work ourselves smile
I don't have much experience with packaging but I'll take a look at it as soon as I can, and I'll try to do a GNOME 3.8 repo for arch to keep this project up

I have already started to update some packages. But I don't know how to create commits.
Anyway I think that Chen will come back soon.

You mean you don't know the commands to commit? Do you need any help? I don't have much free time, but I'm willing to help in this.


"For with the passing of this hour
Even gods will be devoured"

Offline

#2373 2013-10-30 06:21:22

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

divansantana wrote:

Chen - you are being missed! Hopefully some updated packages soon? smile

I'm not gone and definitely not giving up on Unity yet big_smile I just have other priorities right now, mainly practicing for the ACM programming competition.

Maybe I'll try to fix my build server tomorrow. A bug in the chroot tool (systemd-nspawn) stops me from building multiple packages at the same time, so I can't really merge pull requests yet. They'd all just fail to build. If I can merge pull requests, at least other people can help me update the packages.

I saw that GTK 3.10 in the Ubuntu GNOME PPA was updated to 3.10.2 recently. Unfortunately, the patch to make indicators work properly still isn't fixed sad


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#2374 2013-10-31 17:32:23

niel_50
Member
Registered: 2013-10-30
Posts: 15

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Oh noes the download is 404ing
==> ERROR: Failure while downloading gtk+3.0_3.10.0-0ubuntu1~saucy1.debian.tar.gz

Offline

#2375 2013-11-01 14:04:32

gianluca.pettinello
Member
Registered: 2013-04-16
Posts: 56

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
divansantana wrote:

Chen - you are being missed! Hopefully some updated packages soon? smile

I'm not gone and definitely not giving up on Unity yet big_smile I just have other priorities right now, mainly practicing for the ACM programming competition.

Maybe I'll try to fix my build server tomorrow. A bug in the chroot tool (systemd-nspawn) stops me from building multiple packages at the same time, so I can't really merge pull requests yet. They'd all just fail to build. If I can merge pull requests, at least other people can help me update the packages.

I saw that GTK 3.10 in the Ubuntu GNOME PPA was updated to 3.10.2 recently. Unfortunately, the patch to make indicators work properly still isn't fixed sad

Chen which patch are you referring to? I think there is trace in the patches from ubuntu package

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB