You are not logged in.

#26 2012-04-12 23:44:29

Toxcity
Member
From: Oxford
Registered: 2012-01-14
Posts: 40

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

Diito, running the latest CK kernel and it has been fine. smile

Offline

#27 2012-04-17 20:25:28

meako
Member
Registered: 2012-04-11
Posts: 6

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

My issue was: using official kernel driver with firmware from realtek's website, which was installed when I was using those drivers.

Completely uninstalled drivers from website via "make uninstall", reinstalled kernel and linux-firmware package. Everything seems to work fine. Thanks.

Last edited by meako (2012-04-17 23:04:25)

Offline

#28 2012-04-18 21:30:37

meako
Member
Registered: 2012-04-11
Posts: 6

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

Nope, it was only first impression. Still periodically losing packets even on pinging local network (total loss of packets get's up to 30%) with "Link Quality=63/70". It's quite distracting when suddennly everything goes offline.

Offline

#29 2012-04-19 13:12:15

nogoma
Member
From: Cranston, RI
Registered: 2006-03-01
Posts: 217

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

Not hugely useful, but just as a "me too" I was continuing to see issues on the stock kernel w/ the latest release as well (packet loss actually got substantially worse). Frustration won out and I swapped out the wireless card with a $30 intel one that works MUCH better.


-nogoma
---
Code Happy, Code Ruby!
http://www.last.fm/user/nogoma/

Offline

#30 2012-05-01 21:43:07

youarefunny
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2010-11-13
Posts: 40

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

Just would like to say that I updated my Arch today and my wireless wasn't working to well (nothing new, just didn't improve).  I was getting up to 25Mbps out and 1000kbps in.  I downloaded the latest drivers off of Realtek's site and with a make + make install everything works great.  I am now hitting 25Mbps each way.  I'm assuming that limit is my wireless router because another laptop gets the same cap.

Good luck to those of you who haven't got it working yet.

Offline

#31 2012-09-21 00:56:54

gardar
Member
From: Reykjavik, Iceland
Registered: 2012-03-23
Posts: 8

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

I've been experiencing some strange behaviour with this card on a hp probook using the 3.5.3 kernel driver.

I'm suffering random disconnects and sometimes the card seems to be connected to the AP/Router but no traffic can go through (ping timeouts etc).
I have been experiencing this on different connections where other machines work fine, so it is definately the card.

Anyone know of a solution? Might this be caused by a power saving option or something like that?

Offline

#32 2012-09-21 06:22:40

T.J.S.
Member
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 83

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

Try this.

# nano /etc/modprobe.d/rc8192ce.conf

options rtl8192ce fwlps=0 ips=0

And reboot.


There are other threads about this issue as well.
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=147573
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=134548

Offline

#33 2012-09-22 20:49:01

achaput
Member
Registered: 2012-09-22
Posts: 6

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

T.J.S. wrote:

Try this.

# nano /etc/modprobe.d/rc8192ce.conf

options rtl8192ce fwlps=0 ips=0

And reboot.


There are other threads about this issue as well.
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=147573
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=134548

I did this, and now I'm getting
No such interface: wlan0

Offline

#34 2012-09-23 06:54:22

T.J.S.
Member
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 83

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

Are you near the router?
If you're not, I have found that without these options the connection is better (kernel 3.5.4-1 + realtek drivers).

Offline

#35 2013-07-05 18:14:03

tzomatz
Member
Registered: 2013-07-05
Posts: 30

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

Sorry for necro bumping. However I do think that I have the same problems that these guys have. I have the same chpiset which is RTL8188CE

I have poor connection quality, random drop outs and package loss.

Anyone got any ideas?

Last edited by tzomatz (2013-07-05 18:14:20)

Offline

#36 2013-07-05 18:16:03

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

tzomatz, please open a new thread and post a link to this one instead of necrobumping.

Offline

#37 2013-07-05 18:24:57

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,688
Website

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

I unfortunately have a realtek card too. Setting ips=0 and fwlps=0 doesn't seam to change the quality. I generally have low transfer speeds despite the connection to different networks reporting higher bitrates.

I am using the stock kernel drivers and have basically learned to live with it (and the shame it brings to Linux when others blame it for poor connectivity because they have no problems in other OSes).


karol wrote:

tzomatz, please open a new thread and post a link to this one instead of necrobumping.

The issue is the same and opening a new thread will lead to people proposing the same solutions. I don't consider this a necrobump, but other mods are welcome to disagree and close.

Offline

#38 2013-07-05 18:35:42

tzomatz
Member
Registered: 2013-07-05
Posts: 30

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

Yes, excatly. That is what I see everywhere. Always the same suggestions. However, none of them seem to work at all.

It is really annoying that it works perfectly within Windows, and when I reebot it almost dosnt work at all.

Been reading alot in the Ubuntu forums about this, and they propose the same solutions over there. So nothing to add.

I have seen on realteks homepage that they offer their own drivers, but only for really old kernels.

Offline

#39 2013-07-05 19:37:54

drhill1
Member
Registered: 2013-03-27
Posts: 31

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

I too have had the same problems with the in-kernel driver, but found that dkms-8192cu from the AUR works perfectly.  Give that a try, not forgetting to blacklist the in-kernel module.

Offline

#40 2013-07-05 19:40:32

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

I know that this card has been included with many many computers of all different brands.  So I'm curious, tzomatz and xyne, what kind of machines do you guys have that included this horrible card?

BTW, this is the card that came with my machine too.  When I ordered it, I saw that is was a Thinkpad b/g/n which people on the interwebs seemed to indicate was a compatible broadcom.  So at first, I was somewhat pleased to see it wasn't a broadcom, thinking it would be more compatible.  Sweet Jesus was I wrong about that.

Offline

#41 2013-07-05 20:00:42

tzomatz
Member
Registered: 2013-07-05
Posts: 30

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

I have a ThinkPad L430. I am never buying one again smile

I will try out your suggestion and report back

EDIT:

I see now that your suggested driver is for the CU version of the chip. I have CE. Does that matter? The module did not autoload even if i blacklisted the in kernel drivers.
Is it suppose to autoload?

EDIT 2:

Anyone else tried udating their bios? I just did and I havent lost internet yet. Before the bios update I usually lost connection within ten minutes. Well, we will see how long this lasts.

EDIT 3: It is not perfect, still really slow, but the connection seem to hold. I actually think the bios update helped a little bit. However, I dont quite understand why.

Last edited by tzomatz (2013-07-05 20:54:04)

Offline

#42 2013-07-05 22:25:16

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

I get the feeling that drhill1 does not have the same card as the one being discussed here.  From what I have seen, a number of the rtl8192* have very similar issues.  So it is likely that he was having very similar issues, yet not quite the same.  I would not expect the cu module to work at all.


FWIW, if you have a pre-windows8 bios, you can probably figure out how to get your hands on a modified bios that doesn't have the wifi card whitelist.  Then you can install whatever card you want.

My computer originally had a pre-w8 bios, and I removed the whitelist and used an Intel 6235 for a while, which was wonderful.  But then I had to get the mobo replaced, and couldn't remove the whitelist.  So I researched what cards are actually compatible with my machine.  I found a pdf of all the FRU codes that are potentially shipped with the machine, figured out which the wireless cards were, and then went and found them on ebay.

For my machine (ThinkPad E430), I can use the Intel 2230 (FRU 04W3765), a Broadcom 1x1 + BT4.0 (04W3761 or 04W3762), or a Broadcom 2x2 + BT4.0 (04W3763 or 04W3764).  I *think* the even numbered FRUs above are actually LiteOn branded, though from what I can tell they are the same card.  Of course there are the Realtek cards as well.

Currently, I am using the Broadcom 2x2 (04W3763) which is a BCM943228.  It is actually a BCM43228 chipset and the 9 means that it is a BT combo card.  But I have also used the Intel 2230, which worked fine as well. Both of those cards I was able to find on ebay for ~$25-$30 when I got them.

Now keep in mind that what works on my machine will not necessarily work on your machine.  But I just checked, and if that broadcom card is compatible with your machine, it is still on ebay being sold by a vendor called wifi-china.  I have to use the broadcom-wl package/module for it, but it works great.

Offline

#43 2013-07-06 07:30:21

drhill1
Member
Registered: 2013-03-27
Posts: 31

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

You're right WonderWoofy, it's the 8188CU, not 8188CE that I've got, having rechecked.  Apologies for confusing matters.

Offline

#44 2013-07-06 15:51:43

tzomatz
Member
Registered: 2013-07-05
Posts: 30

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

I have ordered an intel card. Will see how it works when I get it in the mail.

I ordered one of the cards that are listed under drivers and software for my machine. I hope it is whitelisted.

Last edited by tzomatz (2013-07-06 15:51:59)

Offline

#45 2013-07-06 20:13:14

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

No no no!  Did you read my post? You have to get one that has the correct FRU!  I think it actually whitelists by that specific number.  So if your card does not have the FRU, the machine won't boot until you take it out.  It has to be a Lenovo specific card!!!


By "I ordered one of the cards that are listed under drivers and software for my machine. I hope it is whitelisted." I sure as shit hope that you mean that you looked at the cards listed, found the compatible FRU and then found that specific card (FRU and all) and ordered it.  But it sure doesn't sound like it.


Edit: BTW, I would email you to make sure that you did the right thing, or cancel your order... but you don't have an email address attached to your account.  I've always wondered why people wouldn't allow incoming emails from other forum members.  This would be one instance where it might have done you some real good.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2013-07-06 20:14:55)

Offline

#46 2013-07-07 03:54:34

tzomatz
Member
Registered: 2013-07-05
Posts: 30

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

Hey

I can still cancel my order, but under the drivers and software section on the lenovo webpage I ordered one of the card that was listed. Is that wrong?

Last edited by tzomatz (2013-07-07 09:30:57)

Offline

#47 2013-07-07 04:11:29

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

I'd remove your email address if I were you.  I was talking about including your email address in your forum account (or maybe just allowing others to email you).  That way you can receive emails from other users without ever giving out your address.  It will be sent through the forums, and if you choose not to respond, the other user will never know your address.

About the WiFi card: go back and (re)read this postYOU MUST FIND A CARD WITH A COMPATIBLE FRU!!!.  Google "Lenovo L430 FRU" and "Lenovo wireless whitelist" for more information.  I really, really, really tried to give you sufficient information to replace your card with soemthing that will work...

Offline

#48 2013-07-08 14:35:28

tzomatz
Member
Registered: 2013-07-05
Posts: 30

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

Thanks. I have now ordered one card from Ebay with the correct FRU number, so hopefully it works when I reciew it. Have to wait a week or two on shipping though.

Offline

#49 2013-07-08 14:38:43

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

What did you end up finding?  And I'm curious as to what was listed as compatible with your machine?  Were they the same options as what I had for my E430?

Offline

#50 2013-07-08 15:12:23

tzomatz
Member
Registered: 2013-07-05
Posts: 30

Re: RTL8188CE Issues

No, its not the same list of cards. You mentioned for example a Broadcom card. On my FRU list there is none from Broadcom. It was however a few from Intel, and the realtek ones,

Here is a link to the complete list:

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q … 5608,d.bGE

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB