You are not logged in.

#1 2011-09-14 12:49:03

rocktale

Grub/grub2 reboot loop

Hello,

I have a Fujitsu Siemens Lifebook S761 with a SSD here and I wanted to install Arch in addition to the already installed Windows XP. I'm not a newbie. I have installed Arch on a couple of devices before and I've never had serious problems. Until now...

Everything went smoothly (using the current netinstall version) but after the final reboot, I can only read "Grub loading stage 1.5." and "Grub loading." and after that the system immediately reboots again. If i don't stop it seems to go on forever. After that I thought I'd give grub2 a try. I erased the new partitions and started from scratch. But oddly enough... the result is the same. I can again read "Grub loading." and a second later another reboot is on its way. Since I can't see any error message etc. I don't know where to start looking. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

Kind regards,
Karsten

#2 2011-09-16 23:42:32

masteryod

Re: Grub/grub2 reboot loop

Did you went through ssd wiki page? SSD's need some special care

look at: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Solid_State_Drives

#3 2011-09-17 12:09:26

rocktale

I tried to follow it as closely as possible. Since it is a work laptop and the Windows came already preinstalled, I had some issues with aligning the patitions right. However, I thought that anything related to the SSD should only result in performance loss and not a total failure to boot. I installed arch on a SSD before on my laptop at home and it worked like a charm. However, there's no Windows on it at all and I started with a fresh disk.

#4 2011-09-17 14:04:30

masteryod

What is your partition table type, MBR vs GPT? (assuming MBR cause you have XP right?)

For 32-bit Windows Vista and 7, and 32 and 64-bit Windows XP, you need to use MBR partitioning and boot in BIOS mode only.