You are not logged in.

#1 2011-09-16 23:04:00

j0lly

file type permissions for shared folder? [SOLVED]

Hi all,
I can't find any answer about this question, maybe couse i'm making bad searches...
I got a samba server running on my machine sharing my music folder within my homemates when i'm at home.
I've set the permissions 1775 (to not have any surprise tongue) but i would like to improve the security and the cleaness of my folder allowing only music type file to be uploaded /as mp3 etc.).
Can someone puts me in the right direction?
Because i can't find a related discussion.
Thank you!!

Last edited by j0lly (2011-09-20 04:25:52)

...why not

#2 2011-09-16 23:44:26

dschrute

Re: file type permissions for shared folder? [SOLVED]

AFAIK there isn't a easy/practical way to allow only specific file types.  You can block access to specific file types using the "veto files" share parameter, but logically that does a "allow file types except those listed" rather than "only allow file types listed".

#3 2011-09-17 07:34:00

Proofrific

You can set up a bunch of hard symlinks to your mp3 files only, and then only share that folder of links.

#4 2011-09-17 14:37:28

j0lly

AFAIK there isn't a easy/practical way to allow only specific file types

that sounds bad!
the veto way is surely a good step ahead, but is terribly long to set at least the most commons file formats for system/video/images!!!
i'll start with this method, but i hope will come out a more flexible and simple way to allow only certain file formats.

p.s.
my shared folder would be a place to drop music and not only listen/copy it, so the hardlinks way is not feasible

...why not

#5 2011-09-17 17:53:13

rwd

you could run a script as a cron job every x minutes, or triggered by file changes with inotify-tools,  that deletes all files that are not of certain mime types.

#6 2011-09-20 04:25:07

j0lly

yeah this sould be the best way to achive the practice, if samba doesn't allow any better practices...