You are not logged in.

#1 2011-09-19 14:11:19

Carlwill
Member
From: Orlando, FL
Registered: 2008-10-06
Posts: 560
Website

Can't Format Disks on Arch Install

So I burned the latest 8.19.2011 'netinst' ISO to disk. My system has two identical 1TB SATA drives (/dev/sda & /dev/sdb) & after the system loads, I try and format the 1st and 2nd disk using 'cfdisk' utility and I get the following error:

My Arch Install wrote:

Wrote partition table, but re-read table failed. Run partprobe(8), kpartx(8), or reboot to update table.

Then when I re-open or launch (not sure what the correct term is here) 'cfdisk' utility again on the same drive, the partitions don't look correct. I thought my disks were bad so I used two completely different identical 1TB drives and they too have the same issue. What is causing this and does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?


./

Offline

#2 2011-09-19 19:31:18

Carlwill
Member
From: Orlando, FL
Registered: 2008-10-06
Posts: 560
Website

Re: Can't Format Disks on Arch Install

Anyone?


./

Offline

#3 2011-09-19 19:41:25

cybertorture
Member
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 338

Re: Can't Format Disks on Arch Install

Can you give us some info

fdisk -l

and

parted -l

O' rly ? Ya rly Oo

Offline

#4 2011-09-20 14:46:56

Carlwill
Member
From: Orlando, FL
Registered: 2008-10-06
Posts: 560
Website

Re: Can't Format Disks on Arch Install

Well this is booting off the install / live CD so I can't SSH into the workstation and 'fdisk -l' has pages long data that I'm not able to eye ball from screen to keyboard. I've never had this problem before at all with the installer and I know it's not my hard drives since I assumed this 1st and changed them. I'm using the latest 8.2011 ISO and even burned a new copy in case this one was bad. I don't understand. The 'parted -l' command also dumps way too much info on the screen for my to copy over to this machine I'm posting from. I'm looking and nothing looks bad but then again I don't really know what it is I am looking for...

Last edited by Carlwill (2011-09-20 14:47:13)


./

Offline

#5 2011-09-20 16:02:52

thisoldman
Member
From: Pittsburgh
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 1,172

Re: Can't Format Disks on Arch Install

Try another distro's live CD?

Offline

#6 2011-09-20 17:45:39

cybertorture
Member
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 338

Re: Can't Format Disks on Arch Install

Well there are several ways to "copy-paste" this, but nvm them for moment and try diferent tool to partition your drives ... lets say parted ?


O' rly ? Ya rly Oo

Offline

#7 2011-09-21 11:43:55

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,934

Re: Can't Format Disks on Arch Install

Carlwill wrote:

So I burned the latest 8.19.2011 'netinst' ISO to disk. My system has two identical 1TB SATA drives (/dev/sda & /dev/sdb) & after the system loads, I try and format the 1st and 2nd disk using 'cfdisk' utility and I get the following error:

My Arch Install wrote:

Wrote partition table, but re-read table failed. Run partprobe(8), kpartx(8), or reboot to update table.

Then when I re-open or launch (not sure what the correct term is here) 'cfdisk' utility again on the same drive, the partitions don't look correct. I thought my disks were bad so I used two completely different identical 1TB drives and they too have the same issue. What is causing this and does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

Just do what it tells you?


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB