You are not logged in.

#1 2011-09-23 19:11:28

bronco21016

Openbox + cairo-compmgr

I've been using Arch with a super minimal install with XBMC for about a year now but have finally bought myself an AppleTV2 to run my XBMC on. With the hardware now free I finally setup the XBMC box as a desktop to use instead of my dieing laptop. I have a little familiarity with this stuff but I'm still learning. Anyways.... I could find any answers to this anywhere so I'm finally posting on the forum.

I have setup Openbox with a SLIM login screen. I've also installed cairo-compmgr to get some eye candy and have pypanel isntalled as well. When I leave the desktop I sometimes like to leave it running so things like NFS and what not can keep going for the ATV2 and XBMC but I want to logout so nobody can do anything on the desktop. What I was doing was simply right clicking on the desktop and clicking Logout that comes in the default menu.xml. At first it worked fine but last night it started hanging up. I found the only way to finally get it to sign out was to right click the compmgr icon on pypanel and choose exit. Once I do that it goes to the SLIM screen right away. Is there a way to clean up this logout process so I don't have to manually shutdown compmgr everytime? I'm sure it's simply a setting somewhere that I'm missing. If this has been answered before let me know and I'll keep digging. I just couldn't find it anywhere.

Thanks!

#2 2011-09-24 14:11:14

roygbiv

Re: Openbox + cairo-compmgr

Are you starting cairo-compmgr from ~/.config/openbox/autostart ? If not, try that. What's in your ~/.xinitrc and your menu.xml?

#3 2011-09-24 14:43:56

Unia
Website

In whatever script you're using to autostart applications (~/.config/openbox/autostart or ~/.xinitrc) do you have an & after the cairo-compmgr line? Like so

cairo-compmgr &

If not, try that.

If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres