You are not logged in.

#1 2011-10-13 23:14:43

Vena
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2011-04-23
Posts: 14

PowerTop - no ACPI power usage estimate available

Hi,

I installed powertop package to find out what my power usage is. But when I start powertop and wait (hours..), it gives me no information about my power usage, of course I'm on battery:

PowerTOP version 1.13      (C) 2007 Intel Corporation

Cn                Avg residency       P-states (frequencies)
C0 (cpu running)        ( 0.0%)         2.27 Ghz     1.6%
polling          31.8ms ( 0.3%)         2.14 Ghz     0.0%
C1 mwait          0.1ms ( 0.0%)         1466 Mhz     0.1%
C2 mwait          1.1ms ( 1.4%)         1333 Mhz     0.3%
C3 mwait          6.0ms (108.6%)         933 Mhz    98.0%

Wakeups-from-idle per second : 193.9    interval: 5.0s
no ACPI power usage estimate available

Top causes for wakeups:
  34.7% ( 62.4)   [i915] <interrupt>
  12.8% ( 23.0)   kworker/0:1
  11.9% ( 21.4)   kworker/0:0
  10.9% ( 19.6)   [ath9k] <interrupt>
   6.2% ( 11.2)   [kernel core] hrtimer_start (tick_sched_timer)
   5.6% ( 10.0)   kworker/u:1

btw. What about my wakeups, is it OK ?

My laptop is Asus A52f.

Thanks in advance.

Offline

#2 2011-10-13 23:22:57

schlumpfimsumpf
Member
Registered: 2011-08-13
Posts: 29

Re: PowerTop - no ACPI power usage estimate available

maybe its due to the recent removal of config ACPI_PROCFS_POWER in standart kernel config. Try reinstall kernel 3.0.4 or compiling custom kernel with ACPI_PROCFS_POWER on.

Offline

#3 2011-10-13 23:26:56

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,433

Re: PowerTop - no ACPI power usage estimate available

It has already been reported https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/26416 for powertop 2 - you can add a comment that powertop 1 is also affected.

Last edited by karol (2011-10-13 23:27:51)

Offline

#4 2011-10-14 00:03:02

Vena
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2011-04-23
Posts: 14

Re: PowerTop - no ACPI power usage estimate available

Thanks, I'll wait until a new version of powertop with support of 3.0.6 is released. No need to downgrade/recompile kernel to find out this not much relevant piece of information.

Last edited by Vena (2011-10-14 00:03:34)

Offline

#5 2011-10-14 04:16:13

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: PowerTop - no ACPI power usage estimate available

Looks like other random things have broken too.  Yacpi and osdbattery here.  (And my brightness buttons, but that might be something else entirely.)

"acpi -V" still gives plenty of useful information at least.

Offline

#6 2011-10-14 11:38:52

dobedo
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2008-10-04
Posts: 113

Re: PowerTop - no ACPI power usage estimate available

yacpi and libacpi were both created by the same guy. Both tools use only the deprecated /proc/acpi.
acpi tool is the only one I've found so far that is fully compatible with any kernel version.

Remark: all those changes in from /proc/acpi to sysfs not only cover the battery stuffs but also fans, thermal zones info, etc... so other tools might be "broken" as well.

Offline

#7 2011-10-20 01:38:29

EiyuuZack
Member
Registered: 2011-04-11
Posts: 17

Re: PowerTop - no ACPI power usage estimate available

I've been affected too and the proc -> sysfs 'reaffirmation' of sorts was my first thought.

Still my issue lies somewhere in between. Powertop simply displays wrong output, now saying my old laptop lasts around 47 hours @ 1 Watt when fully charged -- either that, or my laptop did found the key to ultimate power consumption efficiency while I was sleeping. Damn Transformer.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB