You are not logged in.

#1 2005-06-07 07:21:49

corky
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2004-12-17
Posts: 76

Blackbox Flickering

Using the latest version of blackbox (0.7) I've got this annoying flickering problem, basically any static item on a workspace flickers when switching desktops, its driving me postal. Gdesklets, adesklets, torsmo (with or without double buffering) even anything docked in the slit does this, has anyone else noticed this, or found a way to stop it?

It doesnt happen in 0.65, or any other of the *boxes, I've tried rebuilding it with different options, but still no joy sad


mov ah, 0
int 16h

Offline

#2 2005-06-07 08:20:20

ghostwalker
Member
From: Tacoma, WA
Registered: 2004-07-28
Posts: 140

Re: Blackbox Flickering

What video card are you using. Also what option do you have enabled in xorg.conf for the video driver?


P4 2.8Ghz @ 2.8Ghz SL6WT
Zalman CNPS7000-Cu
865PE Neo-2 LS BIOs 2.4
512mb Mushkin Level II
160GB Maxtor HD
Geforce 4 440MX
Antec 3700 1 exhaust and 1 intake fans
Linux 2.6.x
Linux user 314187
ArchLinux

Offline

#3 2005-06-07 09:22:27

corky
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2004-12-17
Posts: 76

Re: Blackbox Flickering

ghostwalker wrote:

What video card are you using. Also what option do you have enabled in xorg.conf for the video driver?

I'm using a nVidia GeforceFX 5700 with the following in my xorg.conf

Section "Device"
    Identifier    "Nvidia-FX5700"
    Driver        "nvidia"
    Option        "NvAGP" "2"
    VideoRam    256
    Option        "NoLogo"                    "true"
    Option        "RenderAccel"             "true"
    Option        "NoRenderExtension"   "off"
    Option        "DigitalVibrance"         "60"
    Option        "UseEDIDFreqs"         "on"
    Option        "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true" 
EndSection

I'm also using nvidia 1.0.7664-1, but it happened with previous versions.


mov ah, 0
int 16h

Offline

#4 2005-06-07 17:53:30

ghostwalker
Member
From: Tacoma, WA
Registered: 2004-07-28
Posts: 140

Re: Blackbox Flickering

Try turning renderaccel off. If that does not work try turning off the digitalvibrance. But I think it renderaccel that may be causing your problem?


P4 2.8Ghz @ 2.8Ghz SL6WT
Zalman CNPS7000-Cu
865PE Neo-2 LS BIOs 2.4
512mb Mushkin Level II
160GB Maxtor HD
Geforce 4 440MX
Antec 3700 1 exhaust and 1 intake fans
Linux 2.6.x
Linux user 314187
ArchLinux

Offline

#5 2005-06-07 17:56:31

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Blackbox Flickering

or possibly the NvAGP value - try using the kernel AGP driver (NvAGP=1, I think)

Offline

#6 2005-06-07 18:13:27

corky
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2004-12-17
Posts: 76

Re: Blackbox Flickering

I tried changing what you suggested in the xorg.conf (and a few other things I could think of, including the nvagp) but nothing seems to make any difference.

I've just gone back to blackbox 0.65 for the moment (before the flickering induces some kind of fit tongue).

The strange thing to me is, I can't find any mention of this problem by other blackbox users, this is what convinced me I must be doing something different,  but oh well thanks for the suggestions I'll go on looking.


mov ah, 0
int 16h

Offline

#7 2005-06-07 18:38:14

ozar
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 1,681

Re: Blackbox Flickering

I also run the GeForce 5700FX card and played around with blackbox 0.7 a few weeks (running fluxbox now) back but I didn't notice any flicker at all.

Sorry I can't be more helpful...   :?


oz

Offline

#8 2005-06-07 19:49:01

corky
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2004-12-17
Posts: 76

Re: Blackbox Flickering

ozar wrote:

I also run the GeForce 5700FX card and played around with blackbox 0.7 a few weeks (running fluxbox now) back but I didn't notice any flicker at all.

Sorry I can't be more helpful...   :?

Hmm, could you post the device section for you card please, to compare?


mov ah, 0
int 16h

Offline

#9 2005-06-08 01:52:04

ozar
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 1,681

Re: Blackbox Flickering

corky wrote:

Hmm, could you post the device section for you card please, to compare?

No problem Corky, but I don't think it will be of much help to you because I'm not running any of the nvidia options.  That's why I didn't bother to post it earlier.  smile 

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "nVidia GeForce 5700FX"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    #VideoRam    65536
EndSection

Have you tried commenting out the options, then enable them one at a time to see which one (if any) might be causing the problem?


oz

Offline

#10 2005-06-08 04:16:20

dust
Member
Registered: 2005-06-04
Posts: 152
Website

Re: Blackbox Flickering

Tried using just a standard vga driver just to test?


Writing stories for a machine.

Offline

#11 2005-06-08 07:35:13

ghostwalker
Member
From: Tacoma, WA
Registered: 2004-07-28
Posts: 140

Re: Blackbox Flickering

What color depth are you using 16, 24, 32?


P4 2.8Ghz @ 2.8Ghz SL6WT
Zalman CNPS7000-Cu
865PE Neo-2 LS BIOs 2.4
512mb Mushkin Level II
160GB Maxtor HD
Geforce 4 440MX
Antec 3700 1 exhaust and 1 intake fans
Linux 2.6.x
Linux user 314187
ArchLinux

Offline

#12 2005-06-08 11:47:26

corky
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2004-12-17
Posts: 76

Re: Blackbox Flickering

ghostwalker wrote:

What color depth are you using 16, 24, 32?

I use 24 normally, but I tried the different ones with no change, I also took out all the nvidia options and still nothing  sad

Bah, I'm about to give up on this now.


mov ah, 0
int 16h

Offline

#13 2005-06-08 15:37:02

ozar
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 1,681

Re: Blackbox Flickering

corky wrote:
ghostwalker wrote:

What color depth are you using 16, 24, 32?

Bah, I'm about to give up on this now.

Sorry it's not working out.  I am using an LCD monitor, so perhaps that's why I didn't notice any flicker in Blackbox.   :?


oz

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB