You are not logged in.

#1 2005-06-12 21:35:38

nkw
Member
Registered: 2004-03-26
Posts: 80

VNC server on Arch?

I cannot start vncserver:

$ vncserver 
vncserver: couldn't find "Xvnc" on your PATH.

And I found that the VNC was built without Xvnc:

Extra      network      vnc      4.1.1-1      The original open-source cross-platform remote control solution (without xvnc)

How I can I set up a VNC server on ArchLinux?

Offline

#2 2005-06-12 21:48:20

Stinky
Member
From: The Colony, TX
Registered: 2004-05-28
Posts: 187

Re: VNC server on Arch?

pacman -S tightvnc

edit /usr/bin/vncserver and change the line that starts with $fontpath =
to this:

$fontPath = "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/,/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi";

Then in ~/.vnc/xstartup , change the line that says, start xwm &....(or whatever it is, can't remember right off hand.) to

startkde &

You'll need to change startkde & to whatever window manager you're using.  Use the same thing that's in your ~/.xinitrc
As user, run vncserver
It will ask you to set up a vnc password.
Then from your client, open your vnc viewer and enter 192.xxx.xxx.xxx:1
Enter password and it should connect you.

Offline

#3 2005-06-12 23:27:14

nkw
Member
Registered: 2004-03-26
Posts: 80

Re: VNC server on Arch?

Yes, I just pacman -S tightvnc and vncserver works. For some reason Real VNC (the most viable one?) is not implemented.

Offline

#4 2005-06-13 11:42:56

Cotton
Member
From: Cornwall, UK
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 548

Re: VNC server on Arch?

Note that vncserver will create a new X session, so the vnc client will see a clean desktop.

If you want to make your existing desktop remotely viewable (like the windows vncserver), x11vnc is what you need.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB