You are not logged in.

#1 2011-11-06 06:20:28

ehabreda
Member
From: Qatar
Registered: 2011-07-22
Posts: 52
Website

Upgrading FM Grub-Legacy to Grub2 (win-7 issue)

Hello guys,

I just upgraded fm grub-legacy to grub2 as per the arch-wiki (https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Grub2)
I made the following: (From a running Arch Linux )

# pacman -S grub2-bios
# modprobe dm-mod

Install to 440-byte MBR boot code region:

# grub_bios-install --boot-directory=/boot --no-floppy --recheck /dev/sda

Generate GRUB2 BIOS Config file:

# grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

It's successfully generated my arch but no windows7

Multiboot in BIOS:

[ehab@arch ~]$ sudo grub-probe --target=fs_uuid /media/Win_7/bootmgr
Password: 
52059898-5e39-4fbc-9885-4548e07c2497

Then, add the below code to /boot/grub/grub.cfg to chainload Windows (Vista, 7 or 8) installed in BIOS-MBR mode :

menuentry "Microsoft Windows 7 BIOS-MBR" {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ntfs
    insmod search_fs_uuid
    insmod ntldr     
    search --fs-uuid --no-floppy --set=root 52059898-5e39-4fbc-9885-4548e07c2497
    ntldr (${root})/bootmgr
}

And...

grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

It returned with

[ehab@arch ~]$ sudo grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
Password: 
Generating grub.cfg ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-linux
Found initrd image: /boot/initramfs-linux.img
  No volume groups found
Found Windows 7 (loader) on /dev/sda1
done

Restart the computer but my windows line gave me [error:invalid signature]

The other way installed the os-prober (fm AUR) and removed the above entry from grub.cfg, then made:

grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

and it also gave me an error!!

Any Ideas.

Offline

#2 2011-11-06 15:19:07

the.ridikulus.rat
Member
From: Indiana, USA
Registered: 2011-10-04
Posts: 765

Re: Upgrading FM Grub-Legacy to Grub2 (win-7 issue)

ehabreda wrote:

Then, add the below code to /boot/grub/grub.cfg to chainload Windows (Vista, 7 or 8) installed in BIOS-MBR mode :

menuentry "Microsoft Windows 7 BIOS-MBR" {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ntfs
    insmod search_fs_uuid
    insmod ntldr     
    search --fs-uuid --no-floppy --set=root 52059898-5e39-4fbc-9885-4548e07c2497
    ntldr (${root})/bootmgr
}

Add it to /etc/grub.d/40_custom and re-run grub-mkconfig .

Offline

#3 2011-11-09 18:08:29

ehabreda
Member
From: Qatar
Registered: 2011-07-22
Posts: 52
Website

Re: Upgrading FM Grub-Legacy to Grub2 (win-7 issue)

I edited my /boot/grub/grub.cfg and removed the win_7 entry from the ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ### line

I added the entry to /etc/grub.d/40_custom and re-run grub-mkconfig .


$ sudo grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
Password: 
Generating grub.cfg ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-linux
Found initrd image: /boot/initramfs-linux.img
  No volume groups found
Found Windows 7 (loader) on /dev/sda1
done

Restart and found 2 win_7 entries

window 7 (loader) (on /dev/sda1)

when picked it returns with

bootmgr image is corrupt the system cannot boot

the other

 Microsoft windows 7 BiosMBR
error:file not found press any key

when I logged in arch and checked the  /boot/grub/grub.cfg I found that in the line of  ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ### it has made a windows entry.
and in the ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ### the entry that I entered myself

Any suggestions.

Offline

#4 2011-11-09 18:39:10

the.ridikulus.rat
Member
From: Indiana, USA
Registered: 2011-10-04
Posts: 765

Re: Upgrading FM Grub-Legacy to Grub2 (win-7 issue)

I didn't notice this before, but

52059898-5e39-4fbc-9885-4548e07c2497

is not the UUID of a NTFS filesystem. Recheck your UUID. And if you get "bootmgr is corrupt", then copy "C:\Windows\Boot\PCAT\bootmgr" to "C:\bootmgr" and try again.

Offline

#5 2011-11-09 18:49:09

ehabreda
Member
From: Qatar
Registered: 2011-07-22
Posts: 52
Website

Re: Upgrading FM Grub-Legacy to Grub2 (win-7 issue)

This is the only command that I know!?

[21:45:55] [ehab @arch] ~
$ sudo grub-probe --target=fs_uuid /media/Win_7/bootmgr
52059898-5e39-4fbc-9885-4548e07c2497

Offline

#6 2011-11-09 18:50:21

the.ridikulus.rat
Member
From: Indiana, USA
Registered: 2011-10-04
Posts: 765

Re: Upgrading FM Grub-Legacy to Grub2 (win-7 issue)

Post the output of

cat /etc/mtab

EDIT: A typical NTFS UUID is "A0F0582EF0580CC2".

Last edited by the.ridikulus.rat (2011-11-09 18:52:50)

Offline

#7 2011-11-09 18:56:54

ehabreda
Member
From: Qatar
Registered: 2011-07-22
Posts: 52
Website

Re: Upgrading FM Grub-Legacy to Grub2 (win-7 issue)

[21:55:03] [ehab @arch] ~
$ cat /etc/mtab
proc /proc proc rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime 0 0
sys /sys sysfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime 0 0
udev /dev devtmpfs rw,nosuid,relatime,size=10240k,nr_inodes=503089,mode=755 0 0
run /run tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,size=10240k,mode=755 0 0
/dev/sda9 / ext4 rw,commit=0 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000 0 0
shm /dev/shm tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime 0 0
tmpfs /tmp tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev 0 0
/dev/sda6 /boot ext4 rw,commit=0 0 0
/dev/sda7 /var ext4 rw,commit=0 0 0
/dev/sda8 /home ext4 rw,commit=0 0 0
gvfs-fuse-daemon /home/ehab/.gvfs fuse.gvfs-fuse-daemon rw,nosuid,nodev,user=ehab 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /media/Expansion\040Drive fuseblk rw,nosuid,nodev,allow_other,blksize=4096,default_permissions 0 0

Offline

#8 2011-11-09 19:24:04

perbh
Member
From: Republic of Texas
Registered: 2005-03-04
Posts: 765

Re: Upgrading FM Grub-Legacy to Grub2 (win-7 issue)

blkid ?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB