You are not logged in.

#1 2011-11-08 22:22:20

aidaz
Member
Registered: 2011-10-28
Posts: 12

pacman error

hello,

i was trying to install firefox. got some error and now i cant install anything at all. i get error somethng like this :

[aidas@myhost ~]$ sudo pacman -Sy mc
Password: 
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 testing                  112.0 KiB   465K/s 00:00 [######################] 100%
 core                      93.3 KiB   432K/s 00:00 [######################] 100%
 extra                   1085.2 KiB   574K/s 00:02 [######################] 100%
 community-testing         68.8 KiB   191K/s 00:00 [######################] 100%
 community                797.5 KiB   555K/s 00:01 [######################] 100%
 multilib-testing is up to date
 multilib                  56.8 KiB   312K/s 00:00 [######################] 100%
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Targets (2): slang-2.2.4-1  mc-4.8.0-2

Total Download Size:    1.37 MiB
Total Installed Size:   10.77 MiB

Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
:: Retrieving packages from community...
 mc-4.8.0-2-x86_64       1400.2 KiB   433K/s 00:03 [######################] 100%
(2/2) checking package integrity                   [######################] 100%
error: slang: key "206CBC892D1493D2" is unknown
error: mc: key "456C7A9B91B842AE" is unknown
error: failed to commit transaction (invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature))
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

what should i do to fix it?

Offline

#2 2011-11-08 22:25:08

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 19,352
Website

Re: pacman error

Read the threads in Testing...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#3 2011-11-08 22:28:37

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: pacman error

Are you using [testing]?
Don't run 'pacman -Sy foo': https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=89328


Edit: Ah, now you're the first to respond, Mr Ryan :-)

Last edited by karol (2011-11-08 22:29:39)

Offline

#4 2011-11-08 22:43:26

aidaz
Member
Registered: 2011-10-28
Posts: 12

Re: pacman error

ok, well now its a bit too late for that. what can i do to fix it. im very new to linux.

Offline

#5 2011-11-08 22:45:45

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: pacman error

aidaz wrote:

ok, well now its a bit too late for that. what can i do to fix it. im very new to linux.

Arch Linux is for competent users, but it's enough if you can read and follow the guide.
Disable [testing] and downgrade to regular repos.

Last edited by karol (2011-11-08 22:46:03)

Offline

#6 2011-11-08 23:26:40

aidaz
Member
Registered: 2011-10-28
Posts: 12

Re: pacman error

is there any easy way to downgrade to regular repos?

Offline

#7 2011-11-08 23:29:46

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: pacman error

aidaz wrote:

is there any easy way to downgrade to regular repos?

You need to fix pacman first and then disable the testing repos and run the downgrade command.

Offline

#8 2011-11-09 02:29:21

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 6,854

Re: pacman error

Moved to [testing]. To the OP - read the wiki please.


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#9 2011-11-09 02:32:40

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: pacman error

As for the advice jasonwryan gave you, a good start may be to google the error message you're getting: https://www.google.com/search?q=site%3A … ignature)) - you get plenty of info just from this one query.

Offline

#10 2011-11-09 22:14:38

aidaz
Member
Registered: 2011-10-28
Posts: 12

Re: pacman error

tx, for all the help. i hope u really didnt know the solution by heart. cause it was very simple. made noob walk an extra mile.

Offline

#11 2011-11-09 23:53:38

falconindy
Developer
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 4,097
Website

Re: pacman error

aidaz wrote:

tx, for all the help. i hope u really didnt know the solution by heart. cause it was very simple. made noob walk an extra mile.

I hope you learned something in the process of solving it yourself. That was sort of the point of making you "walk an extra mile".

Offline

#12 2011-11-10 15:34:59

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: pacman error

Please remember to mark the thread as solved.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB