You are not logged in.

#1 2011-11-17 03:33:01

goll
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2007-10-29
Posts: 50

Gobi broadband modems

Heya,

Just to let you know, I created a new wiki entry on how I got my gobi 3000 modem working:

Gobi Broadband Modems

I have a HP EliteBook 8560p with a HP un2430 broadband modem.

Offline

#2 2011-11-17 03:45:46

cap_sensitive
Member
Registered: 2010-04-05
Posts: 35

Re: Gobi broadband modems

Great! I'll definitely check it out. I got a ThinkPad X220 with a gobi 3000 modem.

Offline

#3 2011-11-17 05:39:28

cap_sensitive
Member
Registered: 2010-04-05
Posts: 35

Re: Gobi broadband modems

Sadly, this method still doesn't work for me.

After install gobi-loader from AUR and re-modprobe "qcserial", wdial indeed can recognize my Gobi 3k device:

Bus 004 Device 003: ID 1199:9013 Sierra Wireless, Inc.

However, after the first unsuccessful trial for dialing, wvdial cannot communicate with that device anymore.
Wvdial prompt:

--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.61
--> Cannot get information for serial port.
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
--> Sending: ATQ0
--> Re-Sending: ATZ
--> Modem not responding.

Same error even *after rebooting.*

Also, I noticed that if install gobi-loader, then reboot, during "init", gobi-loader seems lead to Udev failed to load (other devices are still functional; remove gobi-loader can avoid this problem).

Last edited by cap_sensitive (2011-11-17 05:40:06)

Offline

#4 2011-11-17 16:46:40

goll
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2007-10-29
Posts: 50

Re: Gobi broadband modems

How did you obtain your firmware files, have you tried using different firmware files?

I also had simillar problems, sometimes the device would stop responding, but a reboot helped, and since configuring gobi_loader I haven't experienced those lock-ups. Can you show me your 60-gobi.rules file?

Offline

#5 2011-11-18 05:41:00

cap_sensitive
Member
Registered: 2010-04-05
Posts: 35

Re: Gobi broadband modems

goll wrote:

How did you obtain your firmware files

I obtain my firmware files directly from the same computer, since I have a dual-boot configuration in it. (Win 7 X64 and Archlinux X64)

goll wrote:

have you tried using different firmware files?

Yes, I have tried all firmwires. (from 1 to 9)

goll wrote:

I also had simillar problems, sometimes the device would stop responding, but a reboot helped, and since configuring gobi_loader I haven't experienced those lock-ups. Can you show me your 60-gobi.rules file?

Here's my 60-gobi.rules:

# udev rules for firmware loading on qualcomm gobi devices

ACTION=="add", SUBSYSTEM=="tty" KERNEL=="ttyUSB*" GOTO="gobi_rules"

GOTO="gobi_rules_end"

LABEL="gobi_rules"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="05c6", ATTRS{idProduct}=="9211", RUN+="gobi_loader $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="03f0", ATTRS{idProduct}=="201d", RUN+="gobi_loader $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="04da", ATTRS{idProduct}=="250c", RUN+="gobi_loader $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="413c", ATTRS{idProduct}=="8171", RUN+="gobi_loader $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="1410", ATTRS{idProduct}=="a008", RUN+="gobi_loader $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="0b05", ATTRS{idProduct}=="1774", RUN+="gobi_loader $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="19d2", ATTRS{idProduct}=="fff2", RUN+="gobi_loader $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="1557", ATTRS{idProduct}=="0a80", RUN+="gobi_loader $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="05c6", ATTRS{idProduct}=="9008", RUN+="gobi_loader $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="05c6", ATTRS{idProduct}=="9201", RUN+="gobi_loader $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="05c6", ATTRS{idProduct}=="9221", RUN+="gobi_loader $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="05c6", ATTRS{idProduct}=="9231", RUN+="gobi_loader $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="1f45", ATTRS{idProduct}=="0001", RUN+="gobi_loader $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="16d8", ATTRS{idProduct}=="8001", RUN+="gobi_loader -2000 $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="1199", ATTRS{idProduct}=="9000", RUN+="gobi_loader -2000 $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="03f0", ATTRS{idProduct}=="241d", RUN+="gobi_loader -2000 $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="05c6", ATTRS{idProduct}=="9204", RUN+="gobi_loader -2000 $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="05c6", ATTRS{idProduct}=="9214", RUN+="gobi_loader -2000 $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="05c6", ATTRS{idProduct}=="9224", RUN+="gobi_loader -2000 $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="05c6", ATTRS{idProduct}=="9234", RUN+="gobi_loader -2000 $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="05c6", ATTRS{idProduct}=="9244", RUN+="gobi_loader -2000 $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="05c6", ATTRS{idProduct}=="9264", RUN+="gobi_loader -2000 $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="05c6", ATTRS{idProduct}=="9274", RUN+="gobi_loader -2000 $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"
ATTRS{idVendor}=="413c", ATTRS{idProduct}=="8185", RUN+="gobi_loader -2000 $env{DEVNAME} /lib/firmware/gobi"

LABEL="gobi_rules_end"

Offline

#6 2011-12-08 14:22:16

goll
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2007-10-29
Posts: 50

Re: Gobi broadband modems

Sorry it took me so long to answer, work is overwhelming, but hey, at last I have a solution smile

Forget the wiki, I'm going to update it soon, in the meantime, grab GobiSerial from here:

GobiSerial

Before running make install, be sure to change the vendor id in GobiSerial.c, blacklist qcserial module and then just use /dev/ttyUSB0 in wvdial or whatever to connect.

That's it!

Offline

#7 2011-12-15 17:12:20

phunni
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 2003-08-13
Posts: 734

Re: Gobi broadband modems

make install results in:

[paul@moses GobiSerial]$ make install
rm -rf *.o *~ core .depend .*.cmd *.ko *.mod.c .tmp_versions Module.* modules.order
make -C /lib/modules/3.1.4-1-ARCH/build SUBDIRS=/tmp/GobiSerial modules
make: *** /lib/modules/3.1.4-1-ARCH/build: No such file or directory.  Stop.
make: *** [all] Error 2

Offline

#8 2011-12-19 15:11:05

vkrivokuca
Member
Registered: 2011-11-19
Posts: 2

Re: Gobi broadband modems

phunni wrote:

make install results in:

[paul@moses GobiSerial]$ make install
rm -rf *.o *~ core .depend .*.cmd *.ko *.mod.c .tmp_versions Module.* modules.order
make -C /lib/modules/3.1.4-1-ARCH/build SUBDIRS=/tmp/GobiSerial modules
make: *** /lib/modules/3.1.4-1-ARCH/build: No such file or directory.  Stop.
make: *** [all] Error 2

make && make install...

There is nothing to install before you compile... smile

Offline

#9 2011-12-20 18:51:55

phunni
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 2003-08-13
Posts: 734

Re: Gobi broadband modems

OK - make && make install results:

[paul@moses GobiSerial]$ make && make install
rm -rf *.o *~ core .depend .*.cmd *.ko *.mod.c .tmp_versions Module.* modules.order
make -C /lib/modules/3.1.4-1-ARCH/build SUBDIRS=/tmp/GobiSerial modules
make: *** /lib/modules/3.1.4-1-ARCH/build: No such file or directory.  Stop.
make: *** [all] Error 2

Offline

#10 2011-12-20 19:54:59

alphaniner
Member
From: Ancapistan
Registered: 2010-07-12
Posts: 2,810

Re: Gobi broadband modems

phunni wrote:

OK - make && make install results:

...
make: *** /lib/modules/3.1.4-1-ARCH/build: No such file or directory.  Stop.
...

/lib/modules/3.1.4-1-ARCH/build is defined by a line in the Makefile:

KDIR := /lib/modules/$(shell uname -r)/build

I assume it's just a build dir, in which case you could create it manually or change that line.


But whether the Constitution really be one thing, or another, this much is certain - that it has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it. In either case, it is unfit to exist.
-Lysander Spooner

Offline

#11 2011-12-20 21:36:28

phunni
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 2003-08-13
Posts: 734

Re: Gobi broadband modems

OK - apologies for being dense and I'm really not trying to be difficult here.  Now I have:

[root@moses GobiSerial]# make && make install
rm -rf *.o *~ core .depend .*.cmd *.ko *.mod.c .tmp_versions Module.* modules.order
make -C /lib/modules/3.1.5-1-ARCH/build SUBDIRS=/tmp/GobiSerial modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/lib/modules/3.1.5-1-ARCH/build'
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `modules'.  Stop.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/lib/modules/3.1.5-1-ARCH/build'
make: *** [all] Error 2

Offline

#12 2011-12-21 03:13:40

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,942

Re: Gobi broadband modems

phunni wrote:

OK - apologies for being dense and I'm really not trying to be difficult here.  Now I have:

[root@moses GobiSerial]# make && make install
rm -rf *.o *~ core .depend .*.cmd *.ko *.mod.c .tmp_versions Module.* modules.order
make -C /lib/modules/3.1.5-1-ARCH/build SUBDIRS=/tmp/GobiSerial modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/lib/modules/3.1.5-1-ARCH/build'
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `modules'.  Stop.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/lib/modules/3.1.5-1-ARCH/build'
make: *** [all] Error 2

You need linux-headers installed to build kernel modules.

Offline

#13 2011-12-21 19:40:39

phunni
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 2003-08-13
Posts: 734

Re: Gobi broadband modems

OK - it now compiles fine - thanks for the help.  I'm now going back to the step which says replace the vendor id in GobiSerial.c - first of all I can't see a vendor id anywhere in GobiSerial.c and secondly how do I know what to replace it with?

Having just compiled and loaded the module (after blacklisting qcserial and rebooting) I'm not seeing a /dev/ttyUSBX at all, which I'm guessing is down to this vendor id business?

Offline

#14 2011-12-22 02:03:03

goll
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2007-10-29
Posts: 50

Re: Gobi broadband modems

It's around the 150 line number, you should see 2 ID's defined, I deleted one and edited the remaining one to match my ID, you can get it by issuing the lsusb command, my device line is:

Bus 004 Device 004: ID 03f0:231d Hewlett-Packard

This is the line in GobiSerial.c:

{ USB_DEVICE( 0x03f0, 0x371d ) },

Offline

#15 2012-08-04 07:04:34

vkrivokuca
Member
Registered: 2011-11-19
Posts: 2

Re: Gobi broadband modems

Jumping into this old thread but for the good reason.

We've (colleague goll, other colleagues in the company and myself) found out that GobiSerial is a problematic piece of software, because it's completely unmaintained and kernel is going through major rewrites for USB support lately in versions 3.4 and 3.5.

All that rendered GobiSerial unusable in new kernels. So here you are, an attempt to maintain GobiSerial updated for new kernel versions. :-)

https://github.com/casastorta/gobiserial/

DKMS install method is described here:

https://github.com/casastorta/gobiseria … GobiSerial

Wiki documents for contributors will follow soon (I hope today). This is completely public project, so we accept any kind of improvements to it - no matter if it's only new devices added to device ID lists or some bigger improvement. In code, wiki documents, or anything else really.

I hope you'll find this project useful.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB