You are not logged in.

#1 2011-11-17 08:20:15

Daedalus1

Which group of programming languages to master?

Which group of programming languages should I master to tackle a diverse set of problems? I would like for this list to be small as to not learn too many languages while not having a good grasp on them. The purpose of this is so I can approach any problem and pick the right tool for the job.

Right now I'm thinking about C and Fortran for computational problems requiring speed (fortran because I'm a science student), Python for quick scripting and when development time is the most crucial factor, and Haskell for a functional middle ground. I appreciate any feedback.

Last edited by Daedalus1 (2011-11-17 08:35:08)

#2 2011-11-17 08:27:00

addy

Re: Which group of programming languages to master?

Just learn 'C'. Almost everything can be done using this powerful language and gives you much more control than any other language. Once you learn it, learning other languages will be a piece of cake for you (learn just the syntax).

#3 2011-11-17 08:31:38

Daedalus1

addy wrote:

Just learn 'C'. Almost everything can be done using this powerful language and gives you much more control than any other language. Once you learn it, learning other languages will be a piece of cake for you (learn just the syntax).

I already know a bit of C and I can learn languages easily. The problem is that I often forget how to use them because I'm always jumping around languages thinking, "this one is better than that one". I want a coherent short list of languages that I can stick to and not be overwhelmed.

Last edited by Daedalus1 (2011-11-17 08:33:06)

#4 2011-11-17 08:37:10

ryuslash
Website

But that's all about you. There's no list of superior languages with which everything can be done elegantly and quickly. Find out which languages you like working with and stick to those.