You are not logged in.

#1 2011-12-11 08:08:44

Dans564
Member
From: New Jersey, USA
Registered: 2011-02-04
Posts: 109

Blacklist ATI card

hey guys,

This is the first time I have installed arch on my HP dv6t.  One of the problems with this laptop is that is has hybrid graphics which has always been to wonky for me so I prefer to just disable the ATI card altogether, and solely rely on the intel integrated graphics.  Im just not sure about how to get this to work with Arch.  I previously had ubuntu installed and used this method to blacklist and disable the ATI card:

       To power off ATI Radeon HD card, as root, edit the file /etc/rc.local and append (before "exit 0") :

       echo OFF > /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch

       (taken from http://ubuntucomputing.blogspot.com/201 … n-hp.html)

This doesn't work in arch because of what seems to be the lack of vgaswitcharoo and rc.local support.
Anyone Know how to accomplish this in arch.

Last edited by Dans564 (2011-12-11 22:11:32)

Offline

#2 2011-12-11 15:38:54

matse
Member
Registered: 2011-04-27
Posts: 290

Re: Blacklist ATI card

You probably haven't mounted your debugfs, in order to do this:

# mount -t debugfs none /sys/kernel/debug

or to do this automatically edit your /etc/fstab:

debugfs   /sys/kernel/debug   debugfs   defaults   0   0

Afterwards the rc.local method should work.
Greetings
matse

Last edited by matse (2011-12-11 15:39:22)

Offline

#3 2011-12-11 19:01:59

Dans564
Member
From: New Jersey, USA
Registered: 2011-02-04
Posts: 109

Re: Blacklist ATI card

thanks matse big_smile
So I changed the line:

     none   /sys/kernel/debug   debugfs   defaults   0   0

to:

     debugfs   /sys/kernel/debug   debugfs   defaults   0   0

and reedited my rc.local to contain:

     echo OFF > /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch

Yet when I reboot and run:

    sudo cat /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch

I get:

    cat: /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch: No such file or directory

Does vgsswitcharoo need to be enabled from somewhere else as well??

anyway thanks for the help so far!

Offline

#4 2011-12-11 19:20:24

matse
Member
Registered: 2011-04-27
Posts: 290

Re: Blacklist ATI card

Have you blacklisted the radeon module as well, e.g. by creating "/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf" and writing this line to it:

blacklist radeon

//Edit:
In the wiki it is also explained how to achieve your goal, so blacklist radeon as mentioned above and write this to your rc.local:

modprobe radeon
echo OFF > /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch

happy hacking wink

Last edited by matse (2011-12-11 19:25:26)

Offline

#5 2011-12-11 20:07:56

Dans564
Member
From: New Jersey, USA
Registered: 2011-02-04
Posts: 109

Re: Blacklist ATI card

"sudo cat /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch" is still coming back with "cat: /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch: No such file or directory" even after adding modprobe radeon to rc.local.

Offline

#6 2011-12-11 20:12:46

matse
Member
Registered: 2011-04-27
Posts: 290

Re: Blacklist ATI card

Would you report the output of

lsmod |grep radeon

and

mount |grep debugfs

Last edited by matse (2011-12-11 20:13:01)

Offline

#7 2011-12-11 20:15:31

Dans564
Member
From: New Jersey, USA
Registered: 2011-02-04
Posts: 109

Re: Blacklist ATI card

Offline

#8 2011-12-11 20:19:19

matse
Member
Registered: 2011-04-27
Posts: 290

Re: Blacklist ATI card

looks good to me, I'm more or less out here hmm one thing you could check is whether you have the userspace ati and intel drivers installed, accoding to the wiki:

$ pacman -Q | grep -E "xf86-video-ati|xf86-video-intel"

if not install them.

Offline

#9 2011-12-11 20:26:31

Dans564
Member
From: New Jersey, USA
Registered: 2011-02-04
Posts: 109

Re: Blacklist ATI card

yup both installed hmm
hey thanks for the help anyways, arch has a great community!
still if anyone out there has any ideas it would be much appreciated!

Offline

#10 2011-12-11 22:01:52

Dans564
Member
From: New Jersey, USA
Registered: 2011-02-04
Posts: 109

Re: Blacklist ATI card

making new thread with more specific problem title.
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 8#p1027518

Offline

#11 2011-12-11 22:07:12

bernarcher
Forum Fellow
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-02-17
Posts: 2,281

Re: Blacklist ATI card

Please do not mark your thread as [CLOSED] because "closed" is used by the system for threads which cannot be written to anymore.
See https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … ow_to_Post.

Thank you,
-bernarcher


To know or not to know ...
... the questions remain forever.

Offline

#12 2011-12-11 22:12:33

Dans564
Member
From: New Jersey, USA
Registered: 2011-02-04
Posts: 109

Re: Blacklist ATI card

sorry bout that. 
Have a good one

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB