You are not logged in.

#1 2011-12-13 13:44:36

Boxes

[Solved] Openbox-Message: Failed to open the display from the ....

ArchLinuxForums_Suck wrote:

Hey, I'm new to Arch and I've been working on setting it up on my Laptop and so far I haven't had very many problems save one.  I can't get any of the available Window Managers.  Whenever I try running them I get a message like:

"wmii: fatal: Can't open display," or "Error: Couldn't connect to XServer" (Fluxbox), or "twm: unable to open display" or "dwm: cannot open display" or "Openbox-Message: Failed to open display from the DISPLAY environment variable,".  What am I supposed to do?  I've checked to see if it was a problem with my installation of Openbox by reinstalling that and installing several other window managers, and I've checked to see if it was a problem with me not having the right kernel modules loaded, but after I ran "hwdetect --load-modules," which is supposed to load all detectable modules, but even after that I still get the same messages.  Any ideas, I've tried just about everything that I know\have thought about, so yeah... any ideas?  neutral hmm

ngoonee wrote:

You'd need to provide us with details on your system. For example, what GPU are you using? hwdetect can be hit-and-miss sometimes.

karol wrote:

How exactly are you trying to run them? Are you trying to run them as root? Are you using .xinitrc? If so, post it.

Boxes wrote:

Uh... I try running them by typing: "openbox" or "twm" or "wmii" or "xinit openbox-session", and when I run "xinit" by itself, I get this:  ". . . (EE) Failed to load module 'glx' (module does not exist, 0), (EE) Failed to load module 'intel' (module dose not exist, 0), (EE) Failed to load module 'vesa' (module does not exist, 0), (EE) Failed to load module 'fbdev' (module does not exist, 0), (EE) No drives available."  hmm Oh, and nGone I'm running an Intel Mobile 4 Chipset.  I don't have a GPU.  I just have an Intel Graphics Controller.

Boxes wrote: