You are not logged in.

#976 2012-09-23 17:28:19

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

My .mplayer/config is empty (for everything else but yt I use smplayer gui).
There are no rules concerning mplayer in config.h
Here is xprop output:

_NET_WM_STATE(ATOM) = _NET_WM_STATE_FULLSCREEN
WM_NORMAL_HINTS(WM_SIZE_HINTS):
		program specified location: 641, 293
		program specified size: 640 by 480
		program specified minimum size: 4 by 4
		program specified minimum aspect ratio: 640/480
		program specified maximum aspect ratio: 640/480
		program specified base size: 0 by 0
		window gravity: Static
WM_ICON_NAME(STRING) = "MPlayer"
_NET_WM_PID(CARDINAL) = 13912
WM_CLASS(STRING) = "vdpau", "MPlayer"
_NET_WM_NAME(UTF8_STRING) = "MPlayer"
WM_NAME(STRING) = "MPlayer"
WM_PROTOCOLS(ATOM): protocols  WM_DELETE_WINDOW

You understood correctly, and after reading carefully, I realised that's how it's supposed to float. Follow mouse focus just doesn't make any
sense in my scenario and everything work fine when when click to focus is enabled.
I thought DWM handles it differently because of different focus behaviour.
Is it too messy to disable follow mouse focus just for floating windows?

Offline

#977 2012-09-23 17:57:35

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Šaran wrote:

Here is xprop output:

_NET_WM_STATE(ATOM) = _NET_WM_STATE_FULLSCREEN
[...]

well, obviously something sets mplayer to fullscreen
gtk-youtube-viewer has its own setting -- can pass options to mplayer.
check 'File -> Preferences' which will present a window with the preferences

[....]
          'fullscreen'                    => 0,
[....]
          'mplayer'                       => 'mplayer',
          'mplayer_arguments'             => '-prefer-ipv4 -really-quiet -cache %d -cache-min %d',
          'mplayer_srt_settings'          => '-unicode -utf8',
[....]
Šaran wrote:

Is it too messy to disable follow mouse focus just for floating windows?

what branch are you using?
If others want it, I can include it in the main branches. I dont use FOLLOW_MOUSE myself.

patch for master:

diff --git a/monsterwm.c b/monsterwm.c
index ab84710..dc402c7 100644
--- a/monsterwm.c
+++ b/monsterwm.c
@@ -441,7 +441,7 @@ void enternotify(XEvent *e) {
     Desktop *d = NULL; Client *c = NULL;
 
     if (FOLLOW_MOUSE && wintoclient(e->xcrossing.window, &c, &d) && e->xcrossing.mode == NotifyNormal
-        && e->xcrossing.detail != NotifyInferior && e->xcrossing.window != d->curr->win) focus(c, d);
+        && e->xcrossing.detail != NotifyInferior && e->xcrossing.window != d->curr->win && !ISFFT(c)) focus(c, d);
 }
 
 /**

patch for xinerama-master:

diff --git a/monsterwm.c b/monsterwm.c
index 2bfe12d..25fbfd0 100644
--- a/monsterwm.c
+++ b/monsterwm.c
@@ -517,7 +517,7 @@ void enternotify(XEvent *e) {
     Monitor *m = NULL; Desktop *d = NULL; Client *c = NULL;
 
     if (!FOLLOW_MOUSE || (e->xcrossing.mode != NotifyNormal && e->xcrossing.detail == NotifyInferior)
-                      || !wintoclient(e->xcrossing.window, &c, &d, &m)) return;
+                      || !wintoclient(e->xcrossing.window, &c, &d, &m) || ISFFT(c)) return;
 
     if (m != &monitors[currmonidx]) for (int cm = 0; cm < nmonitors; cm++)
         if (m == &monitors[cm]) change_monitor(&(Arg){.i = cm});

those will also exclude fullscreen clients but can be altered

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-09-23 17:58:43)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#978 2012-09-23 18:07:54

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Fullscreen was set to 1. My bad.

Thanks for the patch, will try it later.
I'm on master. I think this would make sane default.

Offline

#979 2012-09-23 22:10:26

kuraku
Member
From: planet Earth
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 202

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

@c00kiemon5ter
I Just recompiled and nothing. I got the same issue. I will try it with gcc 4.7 (i checked apt and i will have to get it anyway).

Offline

#980 2012-09-24 02:58:31

gholen
Member
From: Göteborg
Registered: 2011-07-26
Posts: 73
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

-- mod edit: read the rules and only post thumbnails https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=61754  [jwr] --

(Also, not a screenshot thread...)



As for the bar, I'm trying out some new configs for Dzen2, but no luck. But, this goes well too! I like it!
Original size (1280x800) http://imgur.com/8sWP2

Offline

#981 2012-09-24 13:21:28

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

It works just like I want it with patch.
Thanks  smile

Offline

#982 2012-09-24 13:33:07

TheLemonMan
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-09-04
Posts: 214
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

What was the problem with (thelemon)bar ? Does it need xinerama support or what ?

Offline

#983 2012-09-24 14:09:41

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

TheLemonMan wrote:

What was the problem with (thelemon)bar ? Does it need xinerama support or what ?

he wants to have a panel on each monitor and if I understood correctly,
he wants each panel to display information about its monitor only.

to display the panel on each monitor you
either need a panel that knows how many monitors there are (xinerama-aware panel)
and thus spawns and position's itself on each monitor (or the one specified with an arg),
or have two instances of the panel adjusted to fit each monitor's width,
or(!) use one instance and be clever on formatting -- have the info for each monitor in the respective corner
that is the left monitor on the left (ie "\l$leftmoninfo") and the right monitor on the right (ie '\r$rightmoninfo")

now, even if the panel is xinerama-aware and automatically spawns on each monitor
you'd still need a way to tell it on which panel-window it should draw what
except if all you want is to "mirror" the panel.
if that is not the case then I dont see a way of having one instance of a xinerama-aware panel
that can know where to place what info.

To say this better, there is really no point in having a xinerama-aware panel
that automatically sets up itself to be viewed on each monitor, if you do not
want to mirror the panel on each monitor.

If you want to have different info on each monitor, then:
1. use two instances and
1.a. either adjust them to fit on each monitor correctly (bar and dzen2 can do this)
1.b. or if the panel is xinerama-aware use the appropriate switch so that the panel is automatically placed on the wanted monitor (dzen2 does this).
2. use one instance and be clever on formatting
2.a. for 2 monitors: place each monitors info in the respective corner
2.b. for 2 or 3 monitors: place the info on the left, center adjusted with whitespace and right side

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-09-24 14:10:57)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#984 2012-09-24 22:34:33

bslackr
Member
Registered: 2012-01-27
Posts: 131

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

he wants to have a panel on each monitor and if I understood correctly,
he wants each panel to display information about its monitor only.

Correct.

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

If you want to have different info on each monitor, then:
1. use two instances and
1.a. either adjust them to fit on each monitor correctly (bar and dzen2 can do this)

I didn't realize bar was able to do this, but after looking at the config.h again I figured out how to do it.

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

1.b. or if the panel is xinerama-aware use the appropriate switch so that the panel is automatically placed on the wanted monitor (dzen2 does this).

This is the ideal case (for me at least), but offsets work just as well.

Offline

#985 2012-09-26 14:44:51

Shinryuu
Member
From: /dev/urandom
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 339

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Hey! I was just wondering about a systray. What would any of you recommend me to use? I don't have much need for it anyway but I do use dropbox sometimes. Currently I'm using stalonetray (well I've been used it for a long time) but sometimes I might accidentally tile it. Just asking for recommendations and other options and it doesn't matter if there's no better way around, I just felt curious about that cool

Offline

#986 2012-09-26 14:58:22

Cloudef
Member
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 636

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

@Shinryuu
Togglable stalonetray perhaps?
https://github.com/Cloudef/dotfiles-ng/ … alonetrayd
No modifications to monsterwm, and stays away from your way when you don't need it.

Offline

#987 2012-09-27 00:17:18

Shinryuu
Member
From: /dev/urandom
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 339

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Thanks a ton, it works as it should. I did some modifications and it indeed doesn't come in the way at all wink
tray.png

Offline

#988 2012-09-29 06:54:12

Shinryuu
Member
From: /dev/urandom
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 339

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

There's sometimes a weird problem I cannot find out. I open a video from ranger (file manager) and it opens it in mplayer but keys are not working for mplayer at all even it has focus on it. I have to do "killall mplayer" and launch it again in order to work yikes

I recommend to reboot your computer before trying to find this issue out, because this only happens during the first launch.

Last edited by Shinryuu (2012-09-29 07:10:59)

Offline

#989 2012-10-01 18:16:17

dnuux
Member
Registered: 2012-07-22
Posts: 17

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Noticed a bug today - if I open a dialog window in any app such as open file in Firefox or Libreoffice, then switch to another desktop and back, the dialog is moved to the top left corner of the leftmost screen. Using xinerama-init branch.

Last edited by dnuux (2012-10-01 18:18:18)

Offline

#990 2012-10-01 23:36:48

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

good catch wink fixed tongue

@Shinryuu not sure what that problem is,
I installed ranger and mplayer behaves normally


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#991 2012-10-02 03:27:17

bslackr
Member
Registered: 2012-01-27
Posts: 131

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I noticed that my clock only gets updated when I invoke an action on monsterwm, such as changing desktops. This makes since, as the script only loops when the fifo gets updated, but how would I make the clock update on its own? Here's my script:

#!/usr/bin/env bash

wm=monsterwm
ff="/tmp/monsterwm.fifo"

[[ -p $ff ]] || mkfifo -m 600 $ff

tags=('One' 'Two' 'Three' 'Four' 'Five')
layouts=("" "" "" "" "" "")


while read -t 1 -r wmout || true; do
    if [[ $wmout =~ ^(([[:digit:]]+:)+[[:digit:]]+ ?)+$ ]]; then
        read -ra desktops <<< "$wmout"

        for desktop in "${desktops[@]}"; do
            if (( ${desktop%%:*} == 0 )); then
                lmon+=( $desktop )
            elif (( ${desktop%%:*} == 1 )); then
                rmon+=( $desktop )
            fi
        done

        for ldesktop in "${lmon[@]}"; do
            IFS=':' read -r x y d w m c u <<< "$ldesktop"
            ((c)) && label="${tags[$d]}" layout="${layouts[$m]}" fg="\\f7"
        done

        echo "\\l\\f7 $label - $layout\\r\\f7$(date +"%a, %b %d %R")"

        unset lmon rmon 
    fi
done < "$ff" | ~/bin/lmonbar &

$wm > $ff

Last edited by bslackr (2012-10-02 04:53:30)

Offline

#992 2012-10-02 04:31:34

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,033

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

bslackr wrote:

I noticed that my clock only gets updated when I invoke an action on dwm,

Recently changed window managers have you? tongue
I'd recommend bipolarbar but I am biased.
If you look back through the thread I'm sure there's examples of how to do that with bar.
TheLemonMan posted a link to this one in the dminiwm thread you might be able to do something with that.
HTH


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#993 2012-10-02 05:40:53

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

place the echo statement outside the if/../fi block


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#994 2012-10-02 06:26:33

bslackr
Member
Registered: 2012-01-27
Posts: 131

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

moetunes wrote:
bslackr wrote:

I noticed that my clock only gets updated when I invoke an action on dwm,

Recently changed window managers have you? tongue

I've actually never used dwm, not sure what happened there ;p

c00kiemon5ster wrote:

place the echo statement outside the if/../fi block

I knew it would be something simple, thanks again.

Offline

#995 2012-10-02 12:57:36

Shinryuu
Member
From: /dev/urandom
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 339

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

good catch wink fixed tongue

@Shinryuu not sure what that problem is,
I installed ranger and mplayer behaves normally

Mhh, interesting... Well here's an animation about it: http://ompldr.org/vZnEyZg/test.gif
I'm using mplayer2,  with mplayer everything works just fine but it has some serious aspect ratio issues I can't fix.. also I noticed this happens with mplayer2 from the command line as well

EDIT1. MOTHER OF GOD
I just found the real culprit out, it was the mplayer2 itself + my gamepad plugged in. In the first run mplayer2 tried to read my key bindings from gamepad and totally ignored my keyboard input. After "killall mplayer" and restarting mplayer input changed from gamepad to keyboard, I wonder if this is a bug? At least it seems so. Also here's a gif animation (by now you should know what's going on), http://ompldr.org/vZnEzNA/ass.gif it complains I don't have keybindings when I smash my keyboard around.

Last edited by Shinryuu (2012-10-02 13:40:34)

Offline

#996 2012-10-02 12:57:41

kuraku
Member
From: planet Earth
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 202

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

kuraku wrote:

I Just recompiled and nothing. I got the same issue. I will try it with gcc 4.7 (i checked apt and i will have to get it anyway).

I still expirience same issue. Is there any way to trace it down and see what could be wrong?

Offline

#997 2012-10-02 18:52:36

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

@Shinryuu I cannot do much if mplayer stops looking for input devices after the first it finds.

@kuraku I will look into it again later - I got to go now.
I have your config from past posts, I'll use that one and see if I get any problems.


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#998 2012-10-02 19:17:30

Shinryuu
Member
From: /dev/urandom
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 339

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

@Shinryuu I cannot do much if mplayer stops looking for input devices after the first it finds.

@kuraku I will look into it again later - I got to go now.
I have your config from past posts, I'll use that one and see if I get any problems.

No, no. As I said I figured it out my boy. I should poke mplayer2 devs or check global input conf for mplayer2 cool

Shinryuu wrote:

EDIT1. MOTHER OF GOD
I just found the real culprit out, it was the mplayer2 itself + my gamepad plugged in. In the first run mplayer2 tried to read my key bindings from gamepad and totally ignored my keyboard input. After "killall mplayer" and restarting mplayer input changed from gamepad to keyboard, I wonder if this is a bug? At least it seems so. Also here's a gif animation (by now you should know what's going on), http://ompldr.org/vZnEzNA/ass.gif it complains I don't have keybindings when I smash my keyboard around.

Last edited by Shinryuu (2012-10-02 19:19:05)

Offline

#999 2012-10-03 18:47:51

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

kuraku wrote:
kuraku wrote:

I Just recompiled and nothing. I got the same issue. I will try it with gcc 4.7 (i checked apt and i will have to get it anyway).

I still expirience same issue. Is there any way to trace it down and see what could be wrong?

wop smile should be fixed now
thanks


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#1000 2012-10-03 21:12:28

kuraku
Member
From: planet Earth
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 202

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

wop smile should be fixed now
thanks

\o/

It is working now. Thank you for quick response. Can you explain, in plain language, what was the issue?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB