You are not logged in.

#1 2005-06-22 18:16:21

Riklaunim
Member
Registered: 2005-04-09
Posts: 106
Website

Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

emerge in portage can build binary packages of what it compiles.

emerge -b konqueror konq-plugins nsplugins

and we get splik KDE pkg of konqueror with all it dependencies smile

arch pkg vs gentoo pkg
gentoo pkg doesn't have 2 files: .FILELIST and .PKGINFO + it makes tar.bz2 not tar.gz packages

how to convert a gentoo package
- unpack
- add .FILELIST (list all files >> .FILELIST)
- create .PKGINFO smile data from package Ebuild can be used
- tar.gz it and done

Someone good in bash/sh scripts could write something so it would convert those packages more automaticly. To make gentoo packages you need gentoo but you don't have to install it like a normal distro:


1. get i686 stage from here 85MB
- untar it to /home/user/gentoo smile
tar -xvjpf file.tar.bz2
- cp /etc/resolv.conf to gentoo/etc/
- modify /etc/make.conf (in gentoo)  add:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86"

- add USE flags smile
and you can set CFLAGS and CXXFLAGS... jackass (unofficial stages) uses someting like:

CFLAGS="-march=i686"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -pipe"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -O2"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fweb"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -frename-registers"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fforce-addr"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -momit-leaf-frame-pointer"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fomit-frame-pointer"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fvisibility-inlines-hidden"

as root in console chroot to gentoo:
- go to folder with gentoo
chroot ./ bin/bash
env-update
source /etc/profile

then if net works:
emerge sync

after updating portage tree you can emerge packages smile

Offline

#2 2005-06-22 18:20:33

Riklaunim
Member
Registered: 2005-04-09
Posts: 106
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

tested on nano 1.3.7 smile and it works

Offline

#3 2005-06-22 19:50:59

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

Riklaunim wrote:

CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fweb"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -frename-registers"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fforce-addr"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -momit-leaf-frame-pointer"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fomit-frame-pointer"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fvisibility-inlines-hidden"

You sure those are a good idea? -fomit-frame-pointer especially... Messes up debugging on x86.

Offline

#4 2005-06-22 21:58:18

Cam
Member
From: Brisbane, Aus
Registered: 2004-12-21
Posts: 658
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

Gullible Jones wrote:
Riklaunim wrote:

CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fweb"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -frename-registers"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fforce-addr"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -momit-leaf-frame-pointer"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fomit-frame-pointer"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fvisibility-inlines-hidden"

You sure those are a good idea? -fomit-frame-pointer especially... Messes up debugging on x86.

It's the Gentoo way, if we cut the ability to accurately debug our apps out we may gain a little more speed! tongue just kidding

Offline

#5 2005-06-22 22:07:39

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

Huh? Though this thread was locked? Hit undo and continue someone?

Offline

#6 2005-06-22 22:27:40

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

i unlocked after an appeal and a review - i think i was a bit hasty - for which i apologise!

Offline

#7 2005-06-23 03:55:34

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

Riklaunim wrote:

emerge in portage can build binary packages of what it compiles.

emerge -b konqueror konq-plugins nsplugins

and we get splik KDE pkg of konqueror with all it dependencies smile

For my information, does this means we can extract konqueror from kdebase and run it alone with kdelibs?

Offline

#8 2005-06-23 07:50:13

Legout
Member
From: Wuerburg/germany
Registered: 2004-01-19
Posts: 292

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

I think this isn´t one of the normal "cool i can use portage in arch", because,the packages are build only and not installed with emerge.

So you can wrote a simple PKGBUILD for the Package like that

pkgname=NAME
pkgver=VERSION
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc=""
url=""
license=""
depends=()
makedepends=()
conflicts=()
replaces=()
backup=()
install=
source=($pkgname-$pkgver.tar.gz)
md5sums=()

build() {
  cd $startdir/src/$pkgname-$pkgver
  install -m xxx * $startdir/pkg
}

This would be very cool especially for the kde apps. Because writing seperate PKGBUILDS for all the apps in kdebase, kdenetwork,.... is much much much work. So tpowa won´t do it.

Offline

#9 2005-06-23 07:56:45

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

untarring and retarring will not restrip binaries, and if is not done as root user, could modify permissions on files and hose your system (see known issues with pacman overwriting directory permissions).

As for using the binary and simply wrapping a pkgbuild around it, then every time you want to update the binary, you have to reuse the gentoo build (ie rebuild with gentoo, and monkey around with use flags).

This is basically a bad idea. If you want an arch package, then make one. If you want to use gentoo, then use it. No harm, no foul. But trying to stick a square peg in a round hole..generally doesnt turn out well..


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#10 2005-06-23 14:38:14

Riklaunim
Member
Registered: 2005-04-09
Posts: 106
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

rasat wrote:
Riklaunim wrote:

emerge in portage can build binary packages of what it compiles.

emerge -b konqueror konq-plugins nsplugins

and we get splik KDE pkg of konqueror with all it dependencies smile

For my information, does this means we can extract konqueror from kdebase and run it alone with kdelibs?

Gentoo has splitted KDE packages and it installs only needed KDE elements for selected kde package smile emerge konqueror won't install normal working KDE... and the gentoo binary -> arch pkg is "quick" way to make splitted KDE packages and other hard-to-make pkgbuild packages

Offline

#11 2005-06-24 05:49:12

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

I am using Fluxbox and have wanted to get rid of KDE but held because of Konqueror.

How to do?

Offline

#12 2005-06-24 07:08:58

Riklaunim
Member
Registered: 2005-04-09
Posts: 106
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

get that stage3 i686 gentoo and see what emerge -pv konqueror konq-plugins nsplugins kdebase-startkde will show as dependencies smile then the same emerge with -b to compile/build packages and then arch those packages (only those which you will use, xorg etc. you already have) or if you are in a hurry - extract gentoo binary packages to arch / smile + for konqueror you can also emerge ark and kate smile if you use them

Offline

#13 2005-06-24 09:09:19

Legout
Member
From: Wuerburg/germany
Registered: 2004-01-19
Posts: 292

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

Rasat, you can also have a look at this wiki entry and forum topic

Offline

#14 2005-06-24 15:13:05

Riklaunim
Member
Registered: 2005-04-09
Posts: 106
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

I can make konqueror+dependencies package tommorow but I'll need a FTP or something to put those files for download smile

edit: gentoo pkgs are ready - I can publish them but I don't have any place to put them for download  wink

Offline

#15 2005-06-25 05:17:06

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

Riklaunim wrote:

....I'll need a FTP or something to put those files for download smile

Send me a private message (pm) and I will give you access in User-cb's /users/incoming repo.
http://user-contributions.org/users/incoming/

PM:
http://bbs.archlinux.org/profile.php?mo … file&u=118

EDIT:
If not too much trouble, I would appreciate also to have kwrite, does a good job when editing web pages both locally and remote (with kbear using konqueror).

Offline

#16 2005-06-25 11:28:32

kth5
Member
Registered: 2004-04-29
Posts: 655
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

don't expect any support for installed packages like these. none of the devs can possibly know what you've done to your system. actually that is one of the reasons why i personally agree with not splitting up big packages like kde. one other is that the devs do have a significantly higher amount of work to do to catch problems before they appear.
basicly it's like patching the kernel with nitro and ask about your mmap problems on kernel.org's mailinglist.  lol


I recognize that while theory and practice are, in theory, the same, they are, in practice, different. -Mark Mitchell

Offline

#17 2005-06-25 13:04:49

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

kth5 wrote:

don't expect any support for installed packages like these. none of the devs can possibly know what you've done to your system.

This is why this thread/packages is in User Contributions forum not to complain. smile Here users can experiment and find new means of usage. If these packages work, then there is no longer a KDE dependency whenever there is an upgrade. E.g same Konqueror package can be used for a long time. To become dependency free, I consider is part of Arch Way. wink

Offline

#18 2005-06-27 09:38:34

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

Thanks Riklaunim for uploading the KDE binaries (see ~/kde-sta).
http://user-contributions.org/users/incoming/

I renamed all tarballs with extension "-sta" (standalone) to not cause conflict with existing packages.

I did a test by installing konqueror and works fine. What I really like with this standalone, its fast. Usually to load first time takes about 20 seconds, now 5 sec. Also less space, saved about 90 MB.
http://user-contributions.org/users/incoming/kde-gentoo

In PKGBUILD of konqueror-sta still is missing few minor dependency packages. To "Create New" folder or text file, what package is required?

Offline

#19 2005-06-27 10:39:47

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

Why dont you, if you're going to package something like konqueror seperately, do it properly, and write a full pkgbuild, instead of leeching off another distro's binaries?

also, these packages install to /usr/kde (ick)..... arch generally doesnt do that.....

Offline

#20 2005-06-27 11:05:12

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

Currently this is an experiment from my side, easy and fast. Once I see it works same as Arch's kde packages, then we go for proper PKGBUILDs.

About /usr/kde, I first also felt "ick" smile but for practical reasons,  to avoid any conflict with Arch's pkgs, not a bad idea.

Offline

#21 2005-06-27 12:11:50

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

rasat wrote:

Currently this is an experiment from my side, easy and fast. Once I see it works same as Arch's kde packages, then we go for proper PKGBUILDs.

About /usr/kde, I first also felt "ick" smile but for practical reasons,  to avoid any conflict with Arch's pkgs, not a bad idea.

well... if a person is using the split packages in the first place, then they wont be using the full package that would conflict. so there wouldnt be a conflict. although with these gentoo ones I guess we dont know what they did to them.

Offline

#22 2005-06-27 18:44:28

Riklaunim
Member
Registered: 2005-04-09
Posts: 106
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

Separate KDE packages are bit hard to make via pkgbuild because you have to:
- make spited source packages
- set dependencies for them
And it isn't easy smile Gentoo has splitted KDE sources, but ebuilds aren't to friendly for pkgbuilds smile But running gentoo binaries on arch will help find all required dependencies for those splitted source packages and based on that – make pkgbuilds smile

Currently I'm using Gentoo with splitted KDE packages and they do work faster – less dependencies etc. + they are easy to update (1MB K*something instead whole kdebase*or*something). My vacations starts next week and I'll try to make some gentoo -> arch work smile in the next months ;]
(and I switched to Gentoo to get all the soft I wanted "on-demand" – I have only modem at home hmm and now I have some exams so I can't play with arch to get them.)

Offline

#23 2005-06-29 09:46:32

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: Making Arch packages out off Gentoo Binary packages

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB