You are not logged in.

#1 2012-01-11 14:35:54

jeremy33
Member
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 10

[SOLVED] Are manual interventions requiered with netinstall ?

I installed Arch from netinstall and I deleted locale.sh like asked. So locale.sh doesn't exist anymore and this cause this problem...
I have to reinstall initscript ($sudo pacman -S initscripts -f) to recreate locale.sh.

So, are manual intervention requiered with netinstall ?

Last edited by jeremy33 (2012-01-11 16:41:59)

Offline

#2 2012-01-11 14:52:10

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,992
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Are manual interventions requiered with netinstall ?

It seems the answer is no.

That intervention was required as the new version of initscripts included locale.sh as part of the installation package while older versions did not include it in the package but created it after installation.

Pacman will not overwrite files that do not belong to the package it is upgrading, so this caused a file conflict: the new version couldn't overwrite the old file.

Anyone with an old version of initscripts would have to delete that file manually so the new version would be able to complete it's install.  Pacman also doesn't do 'half-installs'.  If something fails in a package, the whole package is aborted.

If the netinstall gave you the most up-to-date initscripts package, then this included locale.sh as part of the package.  You then manually deleted it, and if you attempt another upgrade pacman now "thinks" initscripts is up-to-date so it doesn't do anything with it.

The solution is just what you did: force update/reinstall and move on.

So it would seem *this* manual intervention is not required with net install.  Future bulletins on the front page will apply to your updates though.  (I'm unsure about the mtab one ... but if it ain't broke ...)


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#3 2012-01-11 15:22:07

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: [SOLVED] Are manual interventions requiered with netinstall ?

jeremy33 wrote:

I installed Arch from netinstall and I deleted locale.sh like asked.

The thing is, you weren't asked. smile

The news item clearly refers to an initscripts update. As yours is a fresh netinstall, there is no updating going on - you are simply installing the most recent initscripts package, not updating an existing install with it.

Offline

#4 2012-01-11 15:22:59

hadrons123
Member
From: chennai
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 1,249

Re: [SOLVED] Are manual interventions requiered with netinstall ?

I did a netinstall 3 days ago.everything went fine.no interventions required.

Last edited by hadrons123 (2012-01-11 15:23:22)


LENOVO Y 580 IVYBRIDGE 660M NVIDIA
Unix is user-friendly. It just isn't promiscuous about which users it's friendly with. - Steven King

Offline

#5 2012-01-11 16:40:26

jeremy33
Member
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Are manual interventions requiered with netinstall ?

Thank you guys I understand wink

tomk wrote:

The thing is, you weren't asked. smile

I mean asked in the news http://www.archlinux.org/news/initscrip … -required/ wink

Last edited by jeremy33 (2012-01-11 16:40:41)

Offline

#6 2012-01-11 17:05:14

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: [SOLVED] Are manual interventions requiered with netinstall ?

Exactly my point - please read my post again.

Offline

#7 2012-01-11 21:16:29

jeremy33
Member
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Are manual interventions requiered with netinstall ?

Ok I get it.
My english is not very good wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB