You are not logged in.

#1 2012-01-25 22:27:31

foreveraloneguy
Member
Registered: 2012-01-25
Posts: 5

[SOLVED] Pacman broken, tried reinstalling

Hey all,

I just installed Arch on my system.
Tried to install new packages using pacman, but I got the errors that the 'extra' and 'community' databases don't exist.

I tried to check in the conf file, but couldn't see any errors. Where do I have to check?

I also tried to reinstall using the script form the sticky post:

#!/bin/bash

arch=`uname -m`

mirror=ftp://mirror.archlinux.no/


# link to cache (or download) and extract: openssl,libarchive,libfetch,pacman
cd /tmp
for pkg in openssl-1.0.0.e-1 libarchive-2.8.5-2 libfetch-2.33-3 pacman-3.5.4-4; do
    pkgname=${pkg}-${arch}.pkg.tar.gz
    if [[ -e /var/cache/pacman/pkg/${pkgname} ]]; then
        ln -sf /var/cache/pacman/pkg/${pkgname} .
    else
        wget -c ${mirror}/core/os/${arch}/${pkgname} || exit 1
    fi
    tar -xvpzf ${pkgname} -C / --exclude .PKGINFO --exclude .INSTALL || exit 1
done

# now reinstall using pacman to update the local pacman db 
pacman -Sf openssl libarchive libfetch pacman || exit 1

# now update your system
pacman -Syu

Of course i updated the package names to the recent updates. But duh(!!!) how can it work, when it's using pacman to install pacman...

So. I'm kinda lost here.

Thanks for any help!

Last edited by foreveraloneguy (2012-01-26 00:19:43)

Offline

#2 2012-01-25 22:37:37

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 11,873
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman broken, tried reinstalling

Are extra and community uncommented in /etc/pacman.conf?

[extra]
#SigLevel = PackageOptional
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

...

[community]
#SigLevel = PackageOptional
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

Have you uncommented some sources in /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist?

Have you -Sy'd

sudo pacman -Sy

Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Online

#3 2012-01-25 22:42:29

Raynman
Member
Registered: 2011-10-22
Posts: 1,539

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman broken, tried reinstalling

Showing us the exact errors might help, but it does remind me of a recent thread: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=134315

Offline

#4 2012-01-25 22:55:43

foreveraloneguy
Member
Registered: 2012-01-25
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman broken, tried reinstalling

Well. Next time I should refresh (-Sy) did the trick. I already uncommented sources.
Thanks guys!

Nice community!

Offline

#5 2012-01-25 23:22:50

fsckd
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 4,173

Re: [SOLVED] Pacman broken, tried reinstalling

I should point out it's not always wise to -Sy. Instead -Syu as it is safer.

Also, please mark this thread as solved (assuming it is solved) as described here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … ow_to_Post
Thanks! smile


aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB